We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel full of thieves” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ritchie's Hostel
Ranked #130 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Ft Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel full of thieves”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I was robbed of $3,500 (USD) worth of camera equipment from this hotel/hostel. I had a private room and the only entrances were a window that had bars on it and the door which was operated by an electronic key. That means that someone working for the hotel robbed my room or they gave another key to someone to do it for them. After discovering the robbery, I went to the front desk asking them to call the poilice. They refused to do so. I asked where the nearest police station was and they drew me a phony map that didn't lead to a police station. I received no help at all because in my opinion the entire staff was involved in this robbery.

I feel sure I am not the only one that has been robbed at this hotel, but I am warning everyone who reads this that if they decided stay there beware they could and most likely do this to you as well

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Photo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    88
    51
    20
    20
See reviews for
7
47
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Pros: great location and the staff is great. Cheap.
Cons: the beds have springs coming out of them. Worst beds I have ever slept in. The bathrooms don't close and are outside. There is 1 shower for 6 rooms full of people. You can smoke in the hostel so the moment you walk in there is a cloud of smoke.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P0LL0RIC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I'm not used to hostel life so my review may be a bit negative. But let's start with the postitive. Location is KEY for me and this was in a great location! Close to everything. The breakfast (which costs extra) was also pretty good. If you like to sleep in late don't count on it because at least on the floor I stayed the ceiling is made of glass and the sun shines right in. Also, there was only 1 bathroom for 8 people so expect to wait or get up early. Lockers are sparse and lots of stairs to climb but it's good exercise! I would also say that they could pull out the vacum every once in a while! Also know that there is only wi-fi in the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

These scores look exaggerated, but this really is a great hostel. Service was great before, during and after our stay. The rooms are lovely, especially the ones with a private bathroom, which is just so much more comfortable. Regarding the location, you just can't get any better than this, assuming you want to stay near the Old Town Square. Literally everything is within walking distance, and still the noise from the crowded street in front is negligible. The only point deduction is for two of our five rooms, which were a little small and therefore crowded. So try not to end up in room B1 or B2, but apart from that this hostel is just perfect!

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom, much more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelvanDorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Ritchie's hostel is located 200 metres from Charle's Bridge and 300 metres from the Old Town Square, which is perfect for walking trough the town (for most of the sights you don't need a ticket for public transport because you can walk if your fit enough) and in the evening it is a good starting point for nightlife (there are a lot of bars, jazz clubs and discos).
The hostel itself is nice: You've got a kitchen which cooker, micro wave, fridge etc. At the reception you can phone into foreign countries, internet using is possible on computers/ per w-lan, there is a little bar and you can buy water bottles, candies, cigarettes etc. and change your money (really good exchange rate!!!)
The staff was interested in facebook ;) but if you want to know something, they were friendly.
The room (we had a twin room with shared bathroom, but we don't know if anybody shared it with us) was okay (simple, dirty walls, but nice bed sheets), but no cleaning in the room or the bathroom all the time (3 nights). And I really hated the spring mattress!!! ( I felt every morning like being knocked out)
Breakfast was okay (different cornflakes, cheap cheese and salami, toast horrible instant coffee, milk, chemically-tasting orange juice, yogurt, fruits) One day they had scrambled eggs and pancakes, the next day we came later and asked for these and the answer was "no, there isn't anymore" Hm... :(
All in all the hostel could be better than it is now. The location is wonderful, but it was to expensive to to recommend it to young people like we are and it was to inconvenient for older people.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enitsuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

What a fantastic location. The whole time we were in Prague (3 nights) we walked everywhere with ease.
I booked a room with a low ceiling and was a bit concerned as I was given no confirmation without asking for one, and even then it was just 'I confirm your room'.
Room had 3 beds and the bathroom (shared with one other room) was down stairs and out a door! No lockers in the room which disappointed me, though we did have a (dodgy) key to the room. No blinds on the window, making it very hot.
Street noise was unbelieveable. It must echo through the streets from the main square... wow. Every night until about 2am. So this is a good hostel if you plan to party all the time, but a bad one if you spend all day sight seeing and need a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

I reserved a double room with a low ceiling in advance, for one night during the week. We arrived late in the evening, and while the staff was always very nice and helpful, the room and location were awful. To wit: noisy street with shops open until the wee hours; no shade for the window; terrible mattress; Dirty floor; dark and treacherous stairwell.

While the hostel is very close to old town square, which is nice, the street noise kept us up despite the use of earplugs. We fashioned a window shade out of a white bedsheet (not that helpful but better than nothing), and were first able to find the stairwell lights the next morning. The low ceiling was never an issue, and the bathroom was clean though only had one dim lightbulb working that made it hard to see in the shower. Overall a bad experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#93 of 656 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#97 of 656 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Karlova 25 Apartments
Karlova 25 Apartments
#48 of 656 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Karlova
Pension Karlova
#70 of 369 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Tara
Pension Tara
#154 of 656 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#89 of 656 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Property: Ritchie's Hostel
Address: Karlova 165/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing