We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ritchie's Hostel
Ranked #131 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed there for three nights and loved it!
(1) Excellent location!! in between Charles bridge and old town. It is on the main shopping street.
(2) Friendly staff - offering directions
(3) Affordable rates
Stayed in a private room for 3pax. Room was small but all basic amenities were met. Clean and neat. Hostel breakfast cost 90 Koruna and there is a communal kitchen. Free wifi
The downside is that hotel allows people to smoke in the dining area. Rooms were smoke free and still ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    92
    52
    21
    21
See reviews for
7
48
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

So, Ritchie's Hostel location is the best it has got to offer, it is right in the towncenter, yet not in the most busy street. The rooms are nice, carpet floor, enough heating and with nice confortable beds. The toilet was inside the shared room and it was also ok. Hygiene could be better inside the room and also the toilet. The staff was friendly and the payed breakfast was worth it for the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielbensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbino, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The location is awesome and the hostel nice, prices are low and you' ll find yourselves in the middle of the oldtown so that visiting is really easy 'n quick. I had a good experience also because I forgot my glasses there, and they sent them back at their charge in less than a week! Really good behaviour.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroGhisleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar City, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were at this hostel with some students during a study abroad program. The two good things about this hostel were the location and the breakfast which was adequate.
Our students, 3 girls and 4 boys all stayed in the same 'dorm' room which was dirty, cramped, dark and on the street side of the hostel so was incredibly noisy til all hours of the nights. The common bathrooms were smelly and didn't look very clean. My wife, sister in law and I stayed in two private rooms with private baths. My wife and I had a small room with a teeny bathroom. My sister in law had a very large room with a very large bathroom. I would have thought they would put a couple in a larger room, but that was not the case. Our room could have been much cleaner and our only window and source of fresh air opened on to another apartment's patio. The stair wells were very steep, narrow and dark. All in all, it was a real disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Im a spanish guy and stayed in a 9 bed room. For people who care lightnes for sleeping its no good cause the ceiling was made from crystal, this was painted with white colour but anyway i would care, but its no my case, i even took some naps. The best thing is the staff there, the two girls one with some tatoos in her arms and the other one, were very nice and helpful with everythin, they tried to help you and if they didnt know the answer, they just tried to find on internet... And its a good place in the center. For people who like or dont mind staying in hostels i would strongly recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NestorEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I was robbed of $3,500 (USD) worth of camera equipment from this hotel/hostel. I had a private room and the only entrances were a window that had bars on it and the door which was operated by an electronic key. That means that someone working for the hotel robbed my room or they gave another key to someone to do it for them. After discovering the robbery, I went to the front desk asking them to call the poilice. They refused to do so. I asked where the nearest police station was and they drew me a phony map that didn't lead to a police station. I received no help at all because in my opinion the entire staff was involved in this robbery.

I feel sure I am not the only one that has been robbed at this hotel, but I am warning everyone who reads this that if they decided stay there beware they could and most likely do this to you as well

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank Photo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Pros: great location and the staff is great. Cheap.
Cons: the beds have springs coming out of them. Worst beds I have ever slept in. The bathrooms don't close and are outside. There is 1 shower for 6 rooms full of people. You can smoke in the hostel so the moment you walk in there is a cloud of smoke.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0LL0RIC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#110 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#81 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#101 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#105 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#27 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Property: Ritchie's Hostel
Address: Karlova 165/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing