We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service”
Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritchie's Hostel
Ranked #131 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Ritchie's hostel. Thanks to it's location (in the center, near the Carl's bridge) we didn't have to use the public transport at all. We did all our sightseeing by foot although we stayed for only 2 days in Prague. We stayed in a 10 bed mixed room which was very big and had a private bathroom. The employees were very nice, they were glad to provide us any information we asked about. For that price it was really worth it to stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare7622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    92
    52
    21
    21
See reviews for
7
48
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I chose Ritchie's on recommendation of a friend who stayed a few years ago and wasn't disappointed. I was a solo female traveller in a female only dorm that was spacious and had a private bathroom. The location is perfect - in the middle of the Old Town and close to Charles Bridge - and the service was second to none. The breakfast offering was good, too. Yes, you will have to climb some stairs but it didn't bother me as I had a pack (not a suitcase).

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wellygirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here at Ritchie's Hostel. The location is about as good as it gets, and makes it so much easier to do your sight seeing when your within walking distance. The staff was very accommodating and Lenka's service was superb. She scanned important documents for me, helped me with my washing, and answered any questions I had. The rooms were very spacious, and the bathrooms were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We arrived in the mid afternoon and was told our room on the top floor (10 bed mix dorm) which was so hot and so stuffy with just a small fan blowing warm air and just two small windows. We really wanted to check out immediately but considering just one night we took the challenge. Mind you we came from a hot and humid country means we are used to hot weather all the time but that room was so suffocated we nearly drowned in our sweat. No wonder all the other roommates were sleeping in their undies. Luckily strong wind and a short shower late at night was there to provide some comfort that enable us to sleep.
My advice is don't take the top room in the summer time or prepare to sleep in your undies.
Bathroom with wide open windows to see you changing!!

Room Tip: Try not to book the top room during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I chose to stay here since this was right next to the Charles bridge and the Old Town square... where all the activity is! The hotel is neat and comfortable. However, it was a bit noisy since we had people on the streets all night long. The staff was courteous and breakfast spread was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bish_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was a little of a laberynth to get our room. We stayed in the 2nd floor (no elevator) with views of the street. Yes, its a lot noise if you open the windows, but if you close it,there's absolutely silence. The room was fine. Ok beds, and the bathroom was big enough( we stayed in the 5 beds room off the hotel part). The decoration its rustic, but again, its a hostel. The towels were way too small, it seemed more like hand towels. The location its perfect, 2-3 blocks from the charles bridge and 4 from the old town square. The daily cleanliness was poor. They only changed the garbage and nothing else more. But when we arrived, the room and the bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I travel a lot and always stay at hostels but I do not recommend this one for many reasons: if you stay in a room to the front, you will have too much noise from the street and if you stay in a room to the back, you will have machinery noise and also a terrible hot room. The hostel is dirty, there was a used band aid on the floor. There are many stairs and the key never works so you always have to go up and down the stairs to make it works.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelinaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#110 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#81 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#101 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#105 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#27 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Property: Ritchie's Hostel
Address: Karlova 165/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing