We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ritchie's Hostel
Ranked #134 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for everything! Nice and close to Charles bridge, close to the pub crawl and other nightlife attractions! Fun and clean environment with great window views! A fun place to stay, but lots of stairs if youre at the top like we were!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jmaths76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    90
    52
    21
    21
See reviews for
7
48
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've spent a couple of nights there in May and it was a very pleasant experience. I stayed in a 10-person dorm yet it was very convenient, quiet and comfortable, plus, I met some nice people from all over the world which added some value to the stay. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and the location - just perfect. Right next to Karlovy Most and a nice walking distance away from the Market Square. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Krakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On the positive side, everything was nice and clean. The staff is nice. The location couldn't be better. They leave clean towels and candy on each bed which is nice. On the other side, they don't have wifi in the rooms, only at the reception. The building is not modern, so on sunny days the rooms get a little too hot and the acoustic isolation is also not so good, but it was tolerable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, good value for money and the facilities were as they needed to be.

The only downsides I thought were the large staircase to get in the hostel, that the breakfast was not up to much considering the additional cost and i really had to close the room door hard in order to make sure it locked.

Beyond that considering how inexpensive this place was i cant fault it at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Alright, here's my beef. They nickel and dime you for everything (like tea bags and 10CZK for 7 min of computer time), their washing and drying machines are impossible to understand and they don't know how to use them either, the towels are more like shammies, their WiFi is absolutely horrible (which makes planning difficult) hostel staff helpfulness varies widely by person, and they all act a little irritated when you talk to them. On the other hand, awesome location. The only reason I didn't give them one star is that the only useful staff member went out of his way to help me. Use Ritchie's if you want a good location, that is just about it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The ground was made with wood chipboard and we haven't even where unpack!

There was a big hole on the roof, unbelievable !

The bathroom and restroom were in the same place, so cold and not practical at all.

Room Tip: D9 is a horrible room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the center of Praha 1.

The emplacement is perfect near everything bars/clubs/shops/museum.
However, we were at horrible room, with big hole on the rouf.

The ground was made with wood chipboard and we haven't even where unpack!

The bathroom and restroom were in the same place, so cold and not praticical at all.

Conclusion, I don't know about other rooms, but never accept to go to room D9. For, 106 euro/4 nights, is not worth it at all.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 670 in Prague
436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#84 of 662 in Prague
170 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Franz Kafka
Hostel Franz Kafka
#96 of 662 in Prague
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#98 of 662 in Prague
155 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 662 in Prague
166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Karlova
Pension Karlova
#50 of 370 in Prague
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Property: Ritchie's Hostel
Address: Karlova 165/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 662 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing