We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Boathouse

Boathouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boathouse
Ranked #281 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We picked this hostel because of it's reviews and the parking available.
The spot is fine, next to a golfcourse and near the water. You can rent kayaks there.
The staff is great. They are very helpful and friendly. The prices are inclusive of breakfast. You can have dinner there each night. You put your name on a list and the same evening you can eat whatever they cook. We ate there 3 times, it was nice!

The only drawback is the fact that it is nog near the centre. You need to get onto the tram for about 20 minutes. This makes you not go back and forth often on a day.
Do a biking trip, it is great fun!

Our room was fine, it was large and clean. The bathrooms were spotless at all times.!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2009

SUPER! friendly family-like atmosphere. Helena and her staff do everything to make life simple and your trip great. The place is spotless, beds comfortable and dorm-like bathing facilities totally private and extremely clean. The food is plentiful and tasty. Dinners are offered but must be reserved in the morning. They are plain, local cooking but plentiful. The common/dining room does not have easy chairs but audio equipment, tv, books and games are plentiful. The walls are adorned with items of gratitude sent to these ladies from visitors in appreciation of their hospitality.

Tram N17 to stop Nadrazi Holesovice gets you there - about a 7 min walk to the hostel along a sportspath or a 2 min drive. At night the walk can be scary but it is perfectly safe. A tree-lined sports path adjacent to a golf course. There are many steps up to the hostel proper and a snackbar below the building where the locals come to eat. This can be a means of a pleasant evening alongside the river meeting the locals.

Only positive things to say here by 2 lifetime yh members in their 60's; highly recommend the place to anyone. If you are lucky; and a couple; they might give you a room to yourself. We had a 4-bed room but only charged for 2. The place filled up but they let us be alone.

Should you go there, say hello to Helena and her ladies from Sandra and Joe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank trvllnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

The Boathouse is run by the most fantastic group of ladies! They are so nice and make you feel at home. They have a little kitchen where they cook breakfast extras (eggs, etc) and dinner for an extremely reasonable price. The only downside is its a 15 min tram ride into town, but it goes by quickly and its really not too far. I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this one is by far one of my favorites. See for yourself why the walls are covered in pictures, letters, flags, and t-shirts of people who have stayed there...its unforgettable!

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank CaliforniaBlairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The only downside to this hostel is the distance to the old centre which is about a 15 minute tram ride. Now if you prefer something a bit away from the city centre, I absolutely recommend this little gem. It's located along a river bank where you can kayak, bike, row, etc. I've stayed in enough hostels and could say that this is by far the cleanest and most hospitable hostel I've ever stayed. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels are freshly cleaned. I was bummed that I had to check out early in the morning 'cause breakfast was amazing. When I told them that I would have to check out early, they left breakfast on my bed! Overall, I felt like I was staying at a B&B rather than a hostel, which is nice after being away from home for 2 months!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank faerytati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

This is all you need to know about the place:

My friend and I were 5 hours late for check-in (we missed our flight and had to catch a later one) and when we finally arrived at the hostel after walking through the cold and dark, we opened the front door, walked in, and one of the ladies peeked out and said "Hi, Brian. Welcome!!"

Unbelievable. :)

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

We stayed at the Boathouse in May 2007 for 4 nights. I cannot recommend it highly enough. The Boathouse was the best hostel we stayed in during our entire European trip. I heard that the hostel was a ways outside the center of Prague. In fact, its a 20 minute tram ride from the St. Charles bridge. I wouldn't have had it any other way. The hostel is overwhelmingly relaxing, right on the river. They cook homemade dinner each night for hostelers. Please stay here! Its worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank globalized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

When I was there, there were at least 2 Americans who had stayed at the hostel for MONTHS. That was a good first sign.

The place is fantastic. The ladies who work there treat you like their grandchild. The homemade food they cook for dinner is awesome and ridiculously cheap. Beer is super cheap. You can pay them pennies and they will do your laundry for you - wash, iron, fold - everything.

And when it comes to fun, meeting other people from everywhere, this hostel takes a back seat to almost no one. It was very easy to meet people. Huge groups went out every night. No one was left behind. We went to some great places, and had some awesome times. And the best part was that when you came back home, it actually felt like home.

The location is the only thing that hurt a bit. It is about a 15 minute tram right to the main square, though the tram stop is very close to the hostel. Make sure that you get your directions down pat before you go - I got a bit lost, and no one knows where this place is. Probably because it looks more like a big cottage than a business. Go! Great times that you will not soon forget.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rappy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
905 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 646 in Prague
3,309 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#140 of 646 in Prague
5,090 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#186 of 646 in Prague
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse

Address: Lodnicka 445/1A | Braník, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £32 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing