We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break from big city touring. Convenient tram ride to tourist sites.”
Review of Boathouse

Boathouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boathouse
Ranked #247 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely break from big city touring. Convenient tram ride to tourist sites.”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

If you're rushing through Prague you'll want to be closer to the town center. This is an excellent hostel for those with time to enjoy the beautiful river setting, next to a golf course and a very popular roller blading pathway. The rooms and bathroom are immaculate, breakfast was good and the ladies are happy to make you meals (which you pay for), if you tell them in advance. They also offer a laundry service.
The advantage to this hostel is if you're from a green city with lots of parks and you've been hopping from big city to big city, you'll be missing nature. This place is the antidote. Also, it's a direct tram ride into the city, right to the Charles Bridge and a quick walk to anywhere. To get to the train station it's one easy transfer. If you're with a group and travelling to/from the airport, it'll be worth taking a cab. The bus connector between the airport and the metro was hot , over-crowded and smelly the day we came in.
If you're an adament non-smoker it's important to be aware that Vera is a chain smoker and the hallways smell of cigarette smoke which doesn't seem to infiltrate the bedrooms, thankfully. I was travellying with a pre-teen and a teen who at first had a real problem with the smell, but because it was just in the hallway and we were out most of the day, they got used to it.
Safe hostel which looks to be especially fun for groups.
The rooms were wonderfully quiet at night, without traffic noise however at 6:00am on all three morning we stayed, the green behind our room (remember, it's beside a golf course) got mowed. It was a LOUD mower. They finished by around 6:45, just in time for me to get up:-(

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOnVacationABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The Boathouse is great; we were there with high school students. Everybody was suprised about the cleanliness of the bathrooms, really great. Breakfast was good and Vera and Helena are the best, they took great care of one of our students who was ill during the week. Thanks a lot, and I'm hoping to stay there next year!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missmusic84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We picked this hostel because of it's reviews and the parking available.
The spot is fine, next to a golfcourse and near the water. You can rent kayaks there.
The staff is great. They are very helpful and friendly. The prices are inclusive of breakfast. You can have dinner there each night. You put your name on a list and the same evening you can eat whatever they cook. We ate there 3 times, it was nice!

The only drawback is the fact that it is nog near the centre. You need to get onto the tram for about 20 minutes. This makes you not go back and forth often on a day.
Do a biking trip, it is great fun!

Our room was fine, it was large and clean. The bathrooms were spotless at all times.!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

SUPER! friendly family-like atmosphere. Helena and her staff do everything to make life simple and your trip great. The place is spotless, beds comfortable and dorm-like bathing facilities totally private and extremely clean. The food is plentiful and tasty. Dinners are offered but must be reserved in the morning. They are plain, local cooking but plentiful. The common/dining room does not have easy chairs but audio equipment, tv, books and games are plentiful. The walls are adorned with items of gratitude sent to these ladies from visitors in appreciation of their hospitality.

Tram N17 to stop Nadrazi Holesovice gets you there - about a 7 min walk to the hostel along a sportspath or a 2 min drive. At night the walk can be scary but it is perfectly safe. A tree-lined sports path adjacent to a golf course. There are many steps up to the hostel proper and a snackbar below the building where the locals come to eat. This can be a means of a pleasant evening alongside the river meeting the locals.

Only positive things to say here by 2 lifetime yh members in their 60's; highly recommend the place to anyone. If you are lucky; and a couple; they might give you a room to yourself. We had a 4-bed room but only charged for 2. The place filled up but they let us be alone.

Should you go there, say hello to Helena and her ladies from Sandra and Joe.

  • Liked — friendly home-like attitude
  • Disliked — steps and lack of easy chair in common room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trvllnlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

The Boathouse is run by the most fantastic group of ladies! They are so nice and make you feel at home. They have a little kitchen where they cook breakfast extras (eggs, etc) and dinner for an extremely reasonable price. The only downside is its a 15 min tram ride into town, but it goes by quickly and its really not too far. I have stayed in a lot of hostels, and this one is by far one of my favorites. See for yourself why the walls are covered in pictures, letters, flags, and t-shirts of people who have stayed there...its unforgettable!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBlairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The only downside to this hostel is the distance to the old centre which is about a 15 minute tram ride. Now if you prefer something a bit away from the city centre, I absolutely recommend this little gem. It's located along a river bank where you can kayak, bike, row, etc. I've stayed in enough hostels and could say that this is by far the cleanest and most hospitable hostel I've ever stayed. The rooms are cleaned daily and the towels are freshly cleaned. I was bummed that I had to check out early in the morning 'cause breakfast was amazing. When I told them that I would have to check out early, they left breakfast on my bed! Overall, I felt like I was staying at a B&B rather than a hostel, which is nice after being away from home for 2 months!

  • Liked — Breakfast & clean bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank faerytati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

This is all you need to know about the place:

My friend and I were 5 hours late for check-in (we missed our flight and had to catch a later one) and when we finally arrived at the hostel after walking through the cold and dark, we opened the front door, walked in, and one of the ladies peeked out and said "Hi, Brian. Welcome!!"

Unbelievable. :)

  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank texastrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#12 of 644 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#131 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#20 of 644 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#120 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#132 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse

Property: Boathouse
Address: Lodnicka 445/1A | Braník, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 644 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing