We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Sir Toby's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sir Toby's Hostel
Ranked #9 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Sir Toby's was pleasant from the start. I visited here with my boyfriend and we stayed in Bueno (private room with en suite). It had a mini fridge as well as coffee and tea making facilities. However, the room was on the 5th floor, and the elevator only went to the 3rd floor.

The reception staff were pleasant and spoke English fluently, although one reception staff (Richard) was telling people that he did not recommend the attractions but did recommend his tour (highly unprofessional). Otherwise the maps and guidance provided were helpful in identifying popular local spots.

The bar downstairs was fairly calm, opening at 7 pm each night. It was secluded so the kitchen (fairly average) was not noisy, nor the area for hanging out.

Overall, Sir Toby's is a hostel that is excellent for a young traveler.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    130
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
77
150
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The staff at Sir Toby's are very friendly and always happy to give directions. The hostel is in a lovely old building with lots of charm. There were only two individual bathrooms on our level so it got busy in the morning and the hostel is also a fair distance from the old town so you have to get a tram in. Overall I liked this hostel and would happily stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What I loved most about Sir Toby's is the social atmosphere. There is a bar in the basement, which is great for getting to know other travelers. When I stayed they had a free BBQ dinner, which was great!!

I stayed in a private room at Sir Toby's. They are not as big as other private rooms I've stayed in, but decent. It is not in the greatest area of Prague, and a little far from the touristy area, but close to public transportation and the 24 Tram will take you into the city center.

We were very pleased with how friendly and helpful the staff are. Upon check-in, the front desk guy told us everything we needed to know about the city, transportation, the hostel, and things to do. We felt like the staff really genuinely cares about their visitors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagosummer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in kind of the "ghetto" part of Prague. I stepped off the bus and was very underwhelmed by how old everything looked (and not the good kind of old you expect Europe to be). However, the hostel itself is pretty amazing. The rooms have wood flooring and bed curtains and are very spacious. It felt like an actual room, not just a hostel room. Overall cleanliness was great. Breakfast is not included and is 120 CZK but the breakfast was pretty awesome - station for making eggs, pancakes, ham, cheese, various kinds of bread, and it was a buffet. They don't charge for internet use on computers which is great. I was even able to borrow a hair dryer from the front, free of charge. The only other downside to the hostel itself was the laundry - even if you follow the directions to a tee, it does not dry your clothes. Four attempts at drying and still somewhat damp. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jachukwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went inter railing and this was the best hostel I stayed in. Staff are very very helpful, friendly, chatty and sociable. They went out of their way to make your stay at Sir Tobys the best it could be. We were allowed to sit in the bar until the early hours to drink, chat and play music. They provide everything you need for a good time, even free BBQs. I highly recommend this hostel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njmcc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 days during my East Europe Solo Trip and i love it very much. I love their room, they have elevator as well so i didn't have to carry my heavy backpack through the stairs. They have a comfortable beds, good wifi connection and lovely breakfast at the basement. You just have to 5 Euro and you can have food as much as you can, you can make your own egg with cheese or else. There are lots of variety food to eat for breakfast, also coffee/milk/tea/etc. I never had a big breakfast before, only at this hostel.

They also have washing machine and dryer for few Euros, so you can wash your clothes while cooking something at the kitchen in the basement.

The staff also very nice and helpful. They arrange my tram ticket for a week. There are several restaurant nearby this hostel, nice Italian Restaurant just 5 min walking, several supermarket, ATM and tram station very nearby. This hostel is in a strategic place, not in a noisy area so you can sleep well at night. I like to stay at this hostel because i think it's safe here, they have CCTV everywhere.

Overall i had a wonderful time staying at this Hostel, i'm surely will go back to Prague again one day and stay here again as well.

Mona from Indonesia

Room Tip: Angels Room - Female Dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hostel is inexpensive but has better facilities than some of the most expensive hostels I've been in. Friendly staff, great bar/lounge area, comfortable beds, large rooms, clean, great kitchenette... I actually can't think of a negative. Even the bathrooms were quite nice. If you get the chance to visit Prague stay here! The commute into downtown is short and easy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Melodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#189 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#20 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Toby's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Toby's Hostel

Property: Sir Toby's Hostel
Address: Delnicka 1155/24, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Toby's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine hostel experience with unrivaled guest service! We love Prague and want you to love it too. With almost two whole floors of common space (including a full guest kitchen, garden with guest grill, basement Pub with drinks and board games, and a cozy reading room), you're sure to make new friends at Sir Toby's. Plus, we offer a wide variety of accommodation options to fit your budget and your preference. Sir Toby's offers the kind of personal attention and service that only come with experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sir Toby's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Toby`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing