We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Petr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petr
Ranked #249 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April. It's a very charming building with tall doors and windows- very nice to feel like you're actually in Prague instead of a modern room that could be anywhere. The rooms are a little dated, but surprisingly we had the best sleep of our entire trip there! Everything was clean enough- we are not very picky people. No pest of any kind and no mold. The location was great- close to restaurants and just two blocks from a main bus stop that took you to the city center in about 10 mins. The wifi was excellent- although they may be based on where our room was from reading the other comments. The staff was friendly enough. Breakfast was a bit below average so we didn't eat too much of it. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Prague!

Room Tip: Lower floor facing the street had great wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    124
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
52
123
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

* the breakfast didnt have a lot of items, but it is good anyway :)
* Be sure to read the "hotel rules and regulations" manual, you'll find this in your room. It's not all RULES. We didn't care to read this at first, but turned out, they had a write up here of the places to see which is very helpful for tourists, it had directions, which trains/trams to take, etc.,

Don't forget to bring slippers, I'm not sure if this goes for all their rooms, but the carpet in my room is not ok, it felt dirty, bed didn't feel clean either. When I booked, noted that there's wifi and airconditioning. Though the room did have AC, you'll have to pay extra if you will use this. So we just opened the windows, good thing it was still cold then. Quiet neighborhood, so opening the windows seemed ok? :)

Overall, didn't like the room, makes me wonder how they got the tripadvisor 2012 sticker :) Redeeming quality of this hotel, the breakfast. Would I recommend friends to stay here? Maybe not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a great place to stay in Prague, the staff are friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is homely. The location is just about right as well, far enough out of the tourist spots to be a quiet retreat, close enough for a 10 minute stroll or a quick tram ride (a must for Prague, ensure you pick up a day pass at £3 and let the number 9 take the strain!).

I'll definitely be looking at the Hotel Petr again for future trips to Prague.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rconyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was the home-base for the Architecture and Art Road Scholar program (24 participants). For one week in April, this was home. It certainly felt like that as all the staff was welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate our requests by providing maps and excursion information and tram instructions. The self-serve buffet breakfast was delicious and having a coffee/cappuccino machine made service prompt and delicious. Tomas Brychotova was a superb guide. As with most places in Prague, wheelchairs won't work here. It's convenient to exchange money as well as purchase show tickets at the front desk. The hotel is 2 blocks, down the hill, to the tram which will get you almost anywhere in the city. Going 4 blocks the other direction puts you right at a large 3 level mall with fast-food and nice restaurants on the 3rd floor. The subway is just on the other-side of the mall. A small grocery store is just a couple blocks away and at least 3-4 small restaurants. it's nice to have a small refrigerator in the room. The hotel sells individual bottles of local wine and beer with a quiet spot to relax. It is a quiet neighborhood. I hope to return.

Room Tip: It is best to select a room on the street-side because you can at least see across the street. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in March. The hotel was easy to find and in a great location with easy access to restaurants, tourist sights, and grocery stores. The check-in process was smooth and quick. The room we had was facing the street and on the top floor. We had a great view up and down the street. The internet was very slow which is quite an inconvenience in 2014. The breakfast was great and there was a pretty large selection compared to what other hotels provide. While the room was a bit small it was comfortable and cosy with an updated bathroom. Great for solo travellers or couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. The wifi is much better on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in late March and had a great experience.

My room was on the top floor, which offered a lovely view of the buildings on the street and a nice breeze. The room, although somewhat small and outdated, was the perfect size for two people. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was extremely clean and modern. My only complaint was the WiFi, it was very spotty and not always working.

The breakfast was included and very much enjoyed! There were sliced meats, breads, yogurts fruits, vegetables, hard boiled eggs, sausages and a selection of water and tea. Really great way to start off the day.

The receptionist who checked us in was not very welcoming but perhaps she was having a bad day. There are many maps and excursion information available in the lobby.

The location of the hotel is amazing! It is at the foothill of Petrin Hill, easy walking distance to the castle, old town, Vysehrad and all of Prague's attractions! Down the street is the Andel shopping area which included many stores, restaurants, fast food and a large Tesco.

I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the street have nice views and a cool breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreWithMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I describe this as a "tourist hotel" because it fits a variety of visitors, not just those seeking luxury or cheap prices. It's something in-between, which it fits perfectly. You can walk, take the tram or the metro from nearby. If needed there's a grocery and a big shopping center also nearby. It is remarkably affordable. The desk service is helpful and courteous and the owners are extremely personable. As others have said, the rooms a very large, clean and bright (until the shades are drawn.) The only negative to our room was that it was right above the sidewalk where everyone went to smoke and the room has accumulated some odor of tobacco smoke. But we are over-sensitive--and all of Prague afforded too much opportunity for second-hand smoke.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms in front because of smokers and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Arbes
Arbes
#286 of 649 in Prague
209 reviews
Praha 5
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#274 of 649 in Prague
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#155 of 649 in Prague
492 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#225 of 649 in Prague
589 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#215 of 649 in Prague
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petr

Property: Petr
Address: Drtinova 385/17, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#180 Family Hotel in Prague
#205 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petr 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Petr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petr Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing