We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, but no shower or A/C ....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension 44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension 44
Ranked #524 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location, but no shower or A/C ....”
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Very convenient to streetcar & metro lines. Reasonable rates.
24 hour front desk; most staff spoke English fairly well. Staff were courteous and helpful in our efforts to recover my wife's lost luggage from the airport. They also willingly converted cash for us.
Neighborhood can be a bit noisy at night from late revelers returning home.
No bug screens in windows, & it was hot sometimes so we had to leave windows open. The bathroom had no shower, only a tub with no curtain and a hand sprayer. Bring your own towels. WC room stank; poor ventilation.
Biggest problem: Room doors can be locked from the outside, and a key is needed to unlock, inside or out. This can prevent someone inside from getting out unless they also have a key.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Door locks; no shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your own towels
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2006

Stayed here March 2006. It was a true pension--spartan but very clean, roomy, and comfortable. The breakfast was a nice assortment of sliced meats, cheese, bread, cereals, coffee/tea, juice. I met Czechs, Scandinavians, Brits, and Germans all in one breakfast room.

The room had 2 twin beds (push together if you want). The curtains were thin--bring a sleeping mask if early morning light bothers you. It's an easy 10 min walk to Wenceslas Square. I rarely took the trams or metro because it's such a great walking city. No shower curtain, but did have a nice deep bathtub with endless hot water and a handheld sprayer.

Try the excellent nearby restaurants in this neighbohood (much cheaper than the touristy areas). I especially liked Pizzeria Grossetto, 2 blocks away on the main circle across from the church. Huge dance club called Valentino's is a blast, 3 blocks away on Vinohradska (mixed gay/straight).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Bricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2006

We stayed at the Pension 44 for 4 days in January 2006, and it cost us the princely sum of £32 per double room including breakfast per night, which was extremely cheap. Due to the cost, we didn't quite know what to expect, but we turned out to be pleasantly surprised.

First things first: Ignore the grim exterior (think ugly communist tower block), and the uninspiring lobby (think dingy student flat). The rooms are far nicer than either!

The reception is manned 24 hours a day by English speaking staff who we found to be very nice and helpful. You can buy beers, water, snacks, postcards and stamps from reception at any hour of the day or night.

Our room was large, clean, simply but tidily furnished, and in a good state of repair. There were 2 beds, a table, bedside cabinets, a fridge and built in wardrobe in the room. The room was cold on the first day until we figured out that the radiator needed to be turned on!!! We overlooked the main street but didn't find noise to be a problem.

The bathroom and toilet were newly refurbished, nicely tiled, with a heated towel rail etc.and very clean. Overall, we have certainly stayed in far more basic rooms in Greece and Turkey than those offered by Pension 44.

Location wise, the hotel was about 3 mins walk from Namesti Miru metrol station, and only 1 stop from Muzeum for Wenceslas Square, which was ideal. There was a bar opposite (bizarrely called the "Dog's B*ll*cks!) and a number of restaurants in the local area.

Breakfast was basic but ok, although it is served in one small room reminiscent of a student flat, and it was rather packed with people trying to grapple with the same toaster etc. There was definitely a DIY air to the whole affair, but if you just want a slice of toast and a cuppa before heading out into the city, then it would suffice. There was no fried breakfast, just cereal, toast, cold meats, cheese etc.

All in all, the hotel was great value for money, and ideal if you are just looking for a cheap and convenient place from which to explore Prague. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PinkSparklyBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 September 2005

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Pension 44. We did find it basic, but essentially clean, friendly and convenient. Here are the main points:

- Pension 44 has a good location - within 2-4 tube stops from all the main sights, and the nearest tube is literally around the corner. The centre of Prague is not too far to walk, and there are some nice parts of town to see on the way, but some routes are not easily passible for padestirans (due to some closed pavements on main roads), so check a map for alternatives incase you get stuck. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the airport is only 30 mins away and is easy to get to and from. There are some bars and places to eat near by, including a 24hr bar - we chose to go out in other parts of prague, which isn't a hassle because of location.
The surrounding area was quiet in the evening, with few people around, but there was some noise in the mornings due to some renovations on the houses accross the road - this probably would not bother you if you had a room facing a different direction.

- Pension 44 is clean and spacious with good basic facilities - The twin bedded room we had was large, simply furnished and decorated and had a mini-fridge. there was no TV, clock or radio so you might want to bring something to listen to the world service on 101FM on or some of the local radio stations. there are no tea or coffee facilities, but the hotel stocks some soft drinks and snacks to purchase at reception and the tap water is drinkable (and if you have bottles you can put them in the fridge! - great after a night on the old pivo!)
The bathroom (showerhead but no hook or shower curtain, seperate toilet room) was clean and obviously recently decorated in a simple but elegant style. Don't expect toiletries - we each got a small bar of basic soap and a towel most would consider the size of a hand towel - perfectly adequate, but you might prefer to bring your own. There is also no hairdryer in the room, and i had not brought the correct adaptor with me - so check that out if you need it (two pin with a hole for protruding earth pin - i didn't know there were different types of two pin plugs, anyway...I'm sure reception could help, but i didn't ask).
There is no daily housekeeping, but you can ask if you want anything cleaned or replaced at no extra charge.

- Breakfast was simple, continental but very adequate . there was a range of bread, cheese, meats, cereal, yogurt and boiled eggs and of course juice, tea and coffee (i would recommend you mostly avoid coffee in prague unless it is a brand you trust, i found it to be quite rank in most places i tried!).

- The staff speak good English and are knowledgeable and helpful from asking about taxis to places to go. the reception is 24hour and you have to be buzzed in, but you can take your key with you, so its not a hassle to come and go.

We were plesently surprised, having had thoughts of previous nightmare budget hotels we had stayed in. All in all a very good place to get washed and rested, but not a luxurious hotel by any standards. given its basic nature, i think it is an incredibly good place to stay, and i would stay there again if on a budget (as we were this time). in the grand scheme of things though, i couldn't give it more than an average rating as it lacks a certain je ne sais quoi (well i do know, but you have to pay more money to get it!)

Recommended for budget travellers.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2005

I booked 3 rooms for 8 people for my brother's stag do. This place was humble and a 25min walk to town but it was fantastic! Why? Because you get to see walk along all the streets of the town centre (if you stay in the centre you tend miss things). There was a bar just around the corner from this hotel which was open 24hrs a day and the drink was cheap, there was a pool table and jukebox - it made the holiday. So any guys out there thinking of partying in Prague or having a stag do - book this place!!

To find that bar - take right out of the hotel front door, follow the path round up to the main road, cross it and continue left til you see the pub with a door on the corner (2mins away!) - you've just struck gold. There's even a wicked cheap restaurant opposite that will let you order your food and come and get you from the bar when it's ready to be server :-)

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2005

Stayed here on 7th July 2005 after booking on Expedia for 36GBP for 2 people including breakfast.
The hotel is at the very top of Wensleslas Square, a few streets behind the Museum. There are plenty of nice restaurants and bars nearby.
The rooms are all named after drinks, such as Brandy, Martini etc. We were on the 4th floor in Pastis, which seemed to perhaps just have been refurbished.
The toilet and bathroom were two separate tiled rooms and very clean.
The rooms are simply furnished with two beds and two bedside cabinets, an armchair and small sofa.
We were woken by someone using a still-saw or drill outside, but stayed in bed until 10am before getting up (mainly due to lots of cheap alcohol consumed the night before).
We checked out just before 11am and didn't bother with breakfast.
The staff speak very good English and told us how to buy a tram ticket and which tram to take to the castle (no 22 by the way).
All in all clean, good value and with helpful English-speaking staff.
I would certainly stay here again.
Tip: The towels which were supplied were very small, so perhaps take your own.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2004

If you are looking to save $$, this is it. I stayed here for 5 nights in Oct 04. The price was really low during what other places called "high season"-I paid US$50 a night. Got a double room on the 1st floor. The room is quite spacious. As you walk in, there is a short hallway that houses the bathroom and a small refrig. The bedroom has 2 twin beds, a half round table, 1 metal chair, 1 dresser with small space for hanging and shelfs, and 1 little wall shelf. There is also a bedside table next to each bed. Furnishings are quite simple, but enough if you only need a clean place to sleep after a long day of sightseeing.

The location is perfect, only 1 block from the Nam Miru subway, which lets you get into the tourist sites easily. Also, going to the airport is a breeze: Take subway to the end station, then connecting with bus 119. Total time to airport was 30 min and costed 50 cents US. The pension is located near 2 theatres, so the only people I see when returning at night are theatre-goers, never felt unsafe in the neighborhood.

Maid service was not included, but that wasn't a big problem. In fact, I prefer not to have anyone go into the room and risk having things taken. The breakfast was sufficient, not bad considered it is included with the price of the room.

There are a few downsides: 1) noises from outside can wake you up in the morning. 2) The bathroom, though sufficient, is not too spacious--there is no room to hang your towels or counter space to put stuff on. Also, the bathtub has no curtains.

If you do stay here, come prepared and you'll actually enjoy this cheap little efficient pension. I recommend bringing the following-at least I wished I did:
Alarm clock, clothes hangers (we only had 2), radio (room has no TV), and earplugs unless you plan on waking early.

Helpful?
29 Thank mmyk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#177 of 670 in Prague
538 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#352 of 670 in Prague
319 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Balbin Hotel
Balbin Hotel
#385 of 670 in Prague
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Arkada Hotel Praha
Arkada Hotel Praha
#280 of 670 in Prague
165 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#89 of 670 in Prague
768 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#239 of 670 in Prague
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension 44

Property: Pension 44
Address: Rimska 2312/44 | Praha 2 Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension 44 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pension 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
44 Hotel Prague
Pension 44 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing