We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel U Suteru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel U Suteru
Ranked #34 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

If you are looking for a large hotel with all mod-cons then he U Suteru is not for you. It is an old building part of which is supposedly from the 14th century with a re-furb in the 18th century. The owners have maintained the interior with this in mind with "distressed" decoration and old style furniture. Our room was on the second floor, it was large with high vaulted ceilings and shuttered windows. I loved it my partner wasn't sure. The restaurant next door (part of the hotel) is great value, very large portions and a great price. The drinks are cheap too, around a £1 for a large beer or a glass of wine. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, its quite good with a good choice of the usual cold meat and cheese with a hot alternative of "hot dog" sausages, scrambled egg and bacon.
The biggest plus point of the Suteru is its location, just 5 mins walk from Wenslaslas Square and 15 mins walk from the Old Town Square, its on the main tram route for all the best sights in the city
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel in a great location with really helpful staff then look no further . One point,there is no lift at the Hotel and dragging heavy suitcases up a narrow staircase to the 2nd floor could be a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

My girlfriend and I went to Prague for 4 nights and stayed at the U Suteru during our stay. I recommend this hotel as the staff, the location, the room and the service was all good. Of course, being much of a shoe-string traveller, this place was very nice.

The breakfast buffé was big and tasty. We ate of it all but one morning - we then wanted to try something else and went to a nearby café for some change.

The location is perfect! We love walking, and did so every day. We took the subway only back and forth to the airport and one way to the castle. Everything is within walking distance!

The staff was helpful and friendly - we were very late for breakfast one day, but they were very nice to let us eat even though it was time to take it away. They also helped explain all our queries about transport etc.

We had a beautiful room on the third floor, with old windows that one open and spend a whole day in, reading a good book :)

In other words - yes, this is a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovgrenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel spotlessly clean, staff excellent. Decor a little drab and the furnishings were a bit tired. TV etc. very dated. Restaurant good value. Good location. Transfer from airport by public transport is quick, easy and cheap.

Room Tip: Avoid the front for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Budget priced small hotel originating from 13th century with vaulted ceilings in restaurant/bar and in rooms. Ideally located in quiet street close to trams/metro/Wenceslas Square. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent buffet breakfast and bar/restaurant reasonably priced with good service. If you want to escape from the soul-less predictability of the typical large modern hotel, this place will appeal. We would definitely come back here next time we visit beautiful Prague.

Room Tip: The deluxe double room is spacious with settee, table and chairs, as well as high standard en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This traditional Czech hotel is well located a few minutes walk from Wenceslas Square. We used their private taxi transfer service from and to Prague airport and were very happy with it. There is free tea and coffee in the lobby at all hours but no milk available. Breakfast is fine, nothing too amazing but you won't go hungry. Staff are very friendly. Our room was more like a suite and was very warm even though it was freezing outside. Free internet PC for guests in lobby, any time we wanted to use it, it was free.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank angieruane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Hotel U Suteru is in a very convenient position, all the main tourist sights are within walking distance and it has many good eating places close by. We had a standard room which was very clean and had everything we needed. There was a huge choice for breakfast and it was well presented. Anyone with walking difficulties should choose a room on a lower level as there is no lift. Overall a really good value hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We booked here because of its location and value and I want expecting it to be that great....but it was. Real authentic czech feel to it, helpful staff...well other then one person who was useless, no help with directions or assistance....but everyone else was great. Hotel is great location and had everything we needed but it was all the small touches that made it perfect..bathrobes, fridge, heated towel rack....we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomeoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#42 of 646 in Prague
483 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#40 of 646 in Prague
1,398 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Salvator
Hotel Salvator
#94 of 646 in Prague
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#143 of 646 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel Residence Spalena
Hotel Residence Spalena
#11 of 370 in Prague
204 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel & Spa Carolline
Hotel & Spa Carolline
#31 of 370 in Prague
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Suteru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Suteru

Address: Palackeho 722/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Suteru 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Hotel U Suteru is a small and cosy hotel situated in the historical centre of the city, about 100 metres from the Wenceslas Square. It is a perfect starting point for walking through the magnificent Prague. The first reference of the building dates back to 1383 and we can find there a beautiful example of gothic architecture in the restaurant, vaults and in most rooms. The building underwent a baroque reconstruction in the 18th century that can be observed from the outside view of the building. Accommodation The Hotel U Suteru offers comfortable accomodation in double, triple and four bed rooms. The rooms were reconstructed in December 2015 and are equipped with stylish furniture which is sensitively composed into the gothic interior of the building. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms with hair dryer and are furnished with cable TV, mini and safety deposit box. Restaurant U Suteru A reception desk and a information center are located in the basement and there is also a well-known restaurant U Suteru that is regulary visited by politicians and celebrities. You can choose from a wide variety of traditional Czech cuisine as well as of the international one. The Hotel U Suteru Services Reception, free internet access in the hotel hall, wifi on the room. Loaning irons, ironing boards, umbrellas. Providing informations, flight confirmations, providing tickets for cultural events. Sales alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, toiletries, tickets. Hotel transport service. Option to use fax, luggage safekeeping, loaning toys. Desk for wrap up and bath-tub, loaning adapter, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel U Suteru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing