We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Hotel U Suteru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel U Suteru
Ranked #36 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

What a great spot, close to everything. Easy walk from the Train Station. We walked all over Prague from here. Room good size, with big bed, albeit a little creaky if you moved around too much. Opening windows were a bonus for fresh air. Breakfast was great, hot & cold selection. Restaurant next door good value & good local fare. Staff friendly, with good English. Good Security.

Room Tip: Lower floors would be better if you have heavy luggage, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Okay, maybe not the best location but at this price we couldn't argue. Good restaurants in the area are in short supply but you are in easy walking distance to Wenceslas Square and the Metro.
They do keep the place clean but the furniture is cheap and it was showing some wear and tear.
No Wifi in the room, only in the lobby. Our room was off the courtyard which was noisy in the mornings. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed over Christmas 2013 and was quite pleased overall. Single room was small, but not cramped at all. Bathroom WAS quite small and had only a shower stall, but that was okay because I prefer a shower over a bath. Heated towel racks were a nice touch.I thought the beds were a bit hard, but thats just me. Room was a bit stuffy at times, but the windows opened easily. Mini bar in the room included bottles of coca cola and water with no extra charge. Breakfast was good with choices of both hot and cold food, and the vaulted ceilings of the breakfast room with the black and white photos of old Prague on the walls gave it a nice ambience. No elevators so be warned if thats a problem (it wasnt for me). Street is quiet with a nice pub frequented by locals a couple doors down (U Kruhu). Mini mart nearby too, and the hotel restaurant is a great value with great food and service. Computer in the lobby you could use 24/7 (and it seems many guests have left quite a number of books to read there too---both tour guide books and novels in English! I know I left a couple there myself just to "pay it forward", haha). Front desk is only staffed from 8am-8pm, but they are quite helpful; giving directions, loaning umbrellas, etc. Laundry service is available, but the man at the front desk gave me directions to a laundry that was much cheaper. Great location--short walk to Wenceslas Square and a main tram stop. Ive stayed here twice and would stay again for the vaule, location, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklin962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in the U Suteru for 3 nights over Xmas 2013. Our family consisted of 2 adults and 2 teens. We were given 2 adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor for which we paid a total of just €297 including breakfast each morning. This was great value as the hotel is very clean, cosy and comfortable within easy walking distance of shops, old town (Xmas markets), metro, trams and the train station. The lack of lift really wasn't much of an issue as the stairs are easy to climb. Each of our 2 rooms had a separate entrance, was ensuite and had a TV - though the second room was quite tight to move around with 2 single beds. Breakfast we found to be substantial enough to set you up for the day with a good selection of foods and good coffee. On one morning we missed breakfast and went to a coffee shop near the hotel - to the left as you come out of the hotel and on the right hand corner at the end of the road - called Colours? and had a great breakfast.
We had no problems with noise from outside even though our rooms looked onto the street. We did however find the rooms to be really warm at night despite the low temperatures outside. A niggle was the lack of internet in the bedrooms. We had to go downstairs to the small lobby where there were other guests huddled on the stairs as there wasn't enough seating for more than 4/5 people. All in all, we had a great stay in this small hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank MaryTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

overall a good hotel. The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was huge and had a god comfortable bed. The breakfast was great with nice hot food and the adjoining restaurant had great service and food. we ate there twice. some minor inconvenience: no bar soap just gel and no face cloth so bring your own cloth or soap, hair dryer worked but not the best, room was very noisy with street noise including the of trash and recycling in the wee hours - we were on floor 1 so maybe higher up would have been better, restaurant like most in Prague allowed smoking and low ceilings made it smokey. We would stay again.

Room Tip: don't stay on the first floor and in the front of the hotel if street noise would keep you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel has a good location, very closer to Wenceslas Square. Also it is 5 minutes away from Old Town Square by walking. Price is good when compared to location. Breakfast is not good, not enough choices. Wi-fi connection is only at the lobby and lobby is very small, only 3-4 chairs. The beds are not good and the room was not hot enough for sleeping. One of the heaters was not working. The staff was so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We booked this hotel online. I would have been disappointed if we had paid the published rate of 200 euros, but we paid a special offer with breakfast of around 72 euros. This was for the deluxe rooms. The rooms were spacious, nicely and consistently furnished, the beds had good quality mattresses and the sofa was also comfortable - not that we used it much (too busy sightseeing). Although the hotel was in the "new" town, Prague is small enough for that not to matter - although we did use some public transport (efficient and not expensive). So the rooms were comfortable, and very clean, but I would not describe them as 4*. The bathroom lighting was not great, and the only toiletries provided were a few sachets of gels and a dispenser of liquid soap. The bathtowel (1 per person) was fairly small. The bathrobes described on the website were not present - when I asked they said they would look into it but nothing more was said and they did not appear. The breakfast was simple. We did pop into the restaurant one evening just for drinks after dinner, and the service was friendly and it was a pleasant place to spend some time.
So, overall, the accomodation was fairly simple, but given the prices in general in Prague, I thought it was a fairly good deal. There was no air-con but given the weather when we were there (dry but not overly warm) this was not a problem. And you could open the windows.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Family Hotel Okor
#35 of 365 in Prague
62 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Dolce Vita Suites
Dolce Vita Suites
#5 of 365 in Prague
434 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Residence Spalena
Hotel Residence Spalena
#11 of 365 in Prague
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavanda Hotel Prague
#42 of 365 in Prague
96 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Wenceslas Square Hotel
Wenceslas Square Hotel
#10 of 365 in Prague
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Suteru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Suteru

Address: Palackeho 722/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: £54 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Suteru 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague Hotel U Suteru is a small and cosy hotel situated in the historical centre of the city, about 100 metres from the Wenceslas Square. It is a perfect starting point for walking through the magnificent Prague. The first reference of the building dates back to 1383 and we can find there a beautiful example of gothic architecture in the restaurant, vaults and in most rooms. The building underwent a baroque reconstruction in the 18th century that can be observed from the outside view of the building. Accommodation The Hotel U Suteru offers comfortable accomodation in double, triple and four bed rooms. The rooms were reconstructed in December 2015 and are equipped with stylish furniture which is sensitively composed into the gothic interior of the building. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms with hair dryer and are furnished with cable TV, mini and safety deposit box. Restaurant U Suteru A reception desk and a information center are located in the basement and there is also a well-known restaurant U Suteru that is regulary visited by politicians and celebrities. You can choose from a wide variety of traditional Czech cuisine as well as of the international one. The Hotel U Suteru Services Reception, free internet access in the hotel hall, wifi on the room. Loaning irons, ironing boards, umbrellas. Providing informations, flight confirmations, providing tickets for cultural events. Sales alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, toiletries, tickets. Hotel transport service. Option to use fax, luggage safekeeping, loaning toys. Desk for wrap up and bath-tub, loaning adapter, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel U Suteru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing