We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay, not so ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel King George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel King George
Ranked #63 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Second stay, not so ok”
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Stayed 4 nights at the King George at Easter 2008 and the overall impression was quite ok, but with a few starting problems. This was our second stay at this hotel and a few things had changed.

Booking through Internet and checkin was ok, but this time we got room 3, with windows facing the backyard. The room was not bad at all, the bathroom was nice. But the first night was a nightmare as a guitarplayer and some singing girls spent all night in the backyard with a terrible noise. There is a bar and a club with entrance through the backyard of the hotel, and they are open all night. Finally we got a few hours sleep in the morning.

The next day we went straight to the frontdesk asking to change rooms and fortunately we got a new room at the attic. You have to force three steep stairs and finally an even steeper attic stair to get there, but this was nice and quiet. But we really struggled with the heating, it was not possible to close and the heat got on whenever we opened the windows.

The bed was quite nice and also the bathroom/shower. The television was small and old. You have to get the receptionist to climb all the stairs to open the minibar (little fridge).

The breakfast is served in a former reataurant with entrance from the backyard. You get the basic, bread (terrible), rolls, fried eggs, sausages, sliced cheese, ham, tomatoes, cucumber, foie gras, small cheeses, marmalade, cereals, yoghurt, milk, cake, apples, juice and of course tea and coffee.

The location if perfect though, you are just a few steps from Karlova and Charles Bridge and walking distance to all parts of the city. This was our fourth stay in Prague and if there will be a future visit I will probably think twice.....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    58
    34
    24
    14
See reviews for
17
71
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2008

I stayed here with a group of friends in Jan. I really enjoyed the free breakfast and our room was a loft type room which I really liked the layout. This would not be a good place to stay if someone is disabled, most of the rooms have many stairs and many of the stairs were very steep. Ours had stairs to get to the room and additional stairs once you were in the room. My friend and I looked at the fire safety plan and the only way to exit our room was to go down the same set of stairs that led us up to to room. Not exactly comforting when you are staying in an old building and you are on the top floor. They definately have adapted an old structure into different rooms which gives the place lots of character. The beds in all of our rooms were basic simple twin beds. Not that comfortable and the decor definately dated. The front desk and friendly and the check in was easy.

  • Liked — Location, Unique place
  • Disliked — Steep stairs, no real fire escape plan for the top floors
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wondertraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Stayed here for four nights in late December 2006 upon recommendation by Rick Steves. We stayed in the attic room which is an ensuite, with the small bathroom at the entrance level of the room and a short flight of stairs leading up to the actual bedroom. We paid 4,250 CZK per night for the room and got a 20% discount by paying in advance by wiring our money to a special account online.

No decoration whatsoever, but very new and clean and well-heated. Small windows look out to the roofs around us and you can see the Tyn Church.

The elevator does not go all the way up to the attic level so there is another steep flight of stairs to climb before you get to the room.

We really liked the location as it is literally 5-minute from Charles Bridge and 10-minute to the Old Town Square. Breakfast is served downstairs in a spacious dining room; nothing special, the usual stuff.

Receptionists were polite and helpful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex. England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Hi.

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on 27 & 28 October this year. Not the best hotel in the world but perfectly acceptable for the price of about £50/night. We booked two single rooms but were given two large double rooms for the same price. I would recommend booking direct with the hotels web site as they give a special room rate.
Very good location. Helpful friendly staff. Clean room, breakfast OK. Would book again if in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

Great location, (five minute walk to the Square & Charles Bridge)
Staff friendly and helpful, room (8) spacious, clean and comfortable and not overly priced for a Capital city.
Didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was spot on !!

First visit to the Czech Rep & would definitely book here again.

  • Liked — Location, no frills no fuss, just a good place to stay
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

Stayed at the King George on December 2006. Had room 15 which is the attic room with 2 single beds shown on the website. It was a clean, cosy room and we loved it. The hotel is small and quite basic and there are no tea & coffee facilities in the room which was a shame, but I knew this when i booked so wansn't disappointed. The breakfast was a good continental buffet with not a huge choice but enough to satisfy both myself and my friends appetites (we LOVE food!). However, the woman who was running the buffet room was incredibly rude. We happend to still be there at 10am one morning, along with a few others, just finishing off and she came hurtling out of the kitchen,banged on the door and shouted 'IT'S FINSHED! 10 O'CLOCK! NO MORE!! OUT OUT!'. It was like something out of Fawlty Towers. We just found it amusing, but she was incredibly rude and I can imagine a lot of people finding her behaviour unnaccepatable and quite rightly so, so BE WARNED ! That said, overall our experience at this hotel was great. The Reception staff were helpful for booking excursions and we are planning to return in December 2007. Overall verdict: Clean, comfortable, cosy and in a perfect position for all the main sights (Charles Bridge 2mins, Old Town Square 3mins) good value for money.

  • Liked — The location. So close to everything yet in a quiet street so no noise interruption. Very cosy room.
  • Disliked — The woman who ran the breakfast room. She was scary!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delrhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We read the few negative reviews below after we'd reserved a week at the hotel so were really anxious and almost booked somewhere else. Once we were shown to our room we were so glad we stayed! The room was enormous (aside from the low beams), clean and well-decorated (please remember it's a 14th Century building!) We were on the top floor and from the windows could see the spires of Old Town...

Breakfast was plentiful, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location could not be beaten.

Another huge plus is the Blues Sklep downstairs, an awesome blues bar with cheap vino and friendly locals.

  • Liked — Blues Sklep
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathonwallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#268 of 670 in Prague
230 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#338 of 670 in Prague
1,212 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#179 of 670 in Prague
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#279 of 670 in Prague
228 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#191 of 670 in Prague
511 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#245 of 670 in Prague
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King George

Property: Hotel King George
Address: Liliova 247/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King George 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Jiriho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing