We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow Prague on this hotel was great”
Review of Hotel King George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel King George
Ranked #51 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow Prague on this hotel was great”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel front looks like abandoned, the employs on the hotel don't speak english only the basic, the rooms was on the 4th floor by stairs, the breakfast is simple but the location is perfect, the restaurant is good and the pub on the basement is a great place to heard jazz&blues and drink so good beer draft and bottles. The room and wc are large and clean. For young couple, it is okay and the cost/benefits perfect.

Room Tip: The room 11 is good for young couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guizeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    59
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
18
75
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

the hotel is well hidden in the heart of the old town, which makes it easy to wander around the romantic and historical areas of Prague. An old hotel, with a long flight of stairs, which you have to use as the lift does not work. this could be quite a task if your a heavy packer! Very caring hotel staff. The rooms are extremely spacious and a value for money. Be careful with taxis, make sure they take you right upto the hotel entrance, otherwise its tough to walk through the cobble stoned roads.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DushyantPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The location is the best thing in this hotel. The beds were not good, but I liked the rustic style of the room. The staff is well prepared and ready to help you with tips and also booking different kinds of tours. We had a problem with the reservation, beacause they charged my creditr card before the agreement, but they were really honest and offered a better room or the money back (we get the room upgrade).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was recently renovated, warm, spacious and comfortable. The location was perfect, a few minutes’ walk from the Old Town Square and Charles bridge and just a few steps away from Wenceslas Boulevard. After reading some of the reviews we were prepared for the worse, but we have absolutely no complaints regarding the room.
The room was cleaned up daily and the bathroom was also very clean. I rate the room 9/10
The breakfast was quite basic, but good enough. 7.5/10

This ‘hotel’ has no lobby and there was only one person who speaks English, a very friendly and helpful young girl.
However, there was a problem on the New Year’s Eve, when we asked her to call us a taxi. She apparently called a limousine service, and we were astonished when a large black Mercedes with grey windows and a dressed-up driver appeared (together with a corresponding price). Maybe it was impossible to find a normal taxi at that hour, maybe they have an arrangement with that limo service, but in any case they should have told us in advance.

As a conclusion, it is a place I would return to, in spite of some minor problems. Why? First for the great location and then, for the recently renovated rooms (I hope all the rooms are now renovated and arranged, in order not to be disappointed next time…). Moreover, if they put a light downstairs, at the entrance to the staircase, it would be awesome. :)

Room Tip: Room 20 is renovated, clean and quiet (being at the second store, is farther from the street).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ideamatei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our room was awful. Not even basic. Ceiling was stained and paint peeling. Furniture very old and I don't mean antique. Bathroom very very small, we could not move without knocking loo roll onto the floor. Safe did not work, a member of staff could not open it, so it was not just us. Looking at photos of the rooms, these did not bear any resemblance to ours. We were very disappointed with the standard, we had been led to believe it was at least 2 star. Most of the staff do not speak any English, so that made it difficult for us to air our concerns when we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth23068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a good stay at the King George hotel. After reading a few reviews I was surprised how good my room looked. We had a spacious recently renovated bathroom with bad tube. The only thing, their wasn't a a shower curtain, so the floor was getting wet when we're taking a shower. I mentioned this on the day we arrived at the reception, they told me they didn't couldn't fix it while I was staying their. The ladies at the reception we're really friendly and the location of this hotel is awesome! If I'm going for another partyweek in Prague I would definitely stay in King George again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maurijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

OK, being honest: we did not want to pay too much. And the location in the middle of the city center is fine. But if you have a room on the street side the nights are too noisy to sleep (if it's not the sounds your neighbours make). Asking for another, more quitely positioned room results in a 'self guided tour' along the four other rooms available (because the young lady present at the bar (not reception) hardly speaks any foreign language. As a result we did find a smaller but more quite room. And.. the elevator doesn't function anymore (obviously for a longer period already).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DickGaasbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Betlem Club
Betlem Club
#268 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#335 of 650 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#184 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#273 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#221 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#190 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King George

Property: Hotel King George
Address: Liliova 247/10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel King George 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Krale Jiriho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing