We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Ranked #56 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September. It was a nightmare! The front desk staff was anything but pleasant - one word to describe them is irritated. They constantly looked and sounded irritated to deal with guests.

The hotel rooms are not to the caliber of a 4 star hotel. It is a standard motel room. The bathroom is very nice, but that level of update is not reflected in the rest of the guest room.

The worst thing that happened to us is coming back to the hotel the first night and pulling back the sheets to get into bed and finding PUBIC HAIR in the sheets. We immediately went down to the front desk to request another room and again, the irritated staffer took his time finding us another room (at 11pm - exhausted). While we were down there waiting, the staffer received another complaint on the phone from another guest that was requesting a room transfer, so we were not the only ones.

The next room he tried to give us had a woman's menstral stains on the mattress. We again requested another room. Finally, we ended up with the 3rd room, of which at that point we were exhausted from shuffling our luggage around and settled into it - although it wasn't much better.

There was no apology or room upgrade for this disaster. We booked this hotel through World Hotels - we used the same website to book our hotel in Amsterdam - and that one was spectacular. So I wouldn't say all World Hotels are terrible - just out of the two, this one was really terrible.

There are plenty of other options in Prague and I would really suggest to travelers to go with another.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lc1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
I am very sorry to read your comments, especially with such a delay in your feedback posted to us. Sometimes we are not perfect, but the cleaning issues described are unacceptable and should not happen and this is a first time I hear about something like this. It is a shame that my staff failed to recognize you were not happy, apologize and fix this. We pride ourselves in providing good customer service and this is definitely something that should happen and please accept my apology. I encourage any guest to come forward if there is anything that is not right. Without constant feedback, we can never improve. We have just started room renovations in part of our building and will continue with them throughout the Year to update our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,508
    670
    104
    21
    16
See reviews for
445
1,159
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed for four nights at the end of December, and celebrated New Year at the hotel's restaurant. Overall we were very pleased with the location, the facilities and the service of the staff. This is a firm 4-star hotel, and offers good value. THe restaurant is cosy, the menu is contemporary with Italian twist, and well executed. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visitng Prague. The minor flaw we noticed was the heating in our suite. The nights were cold and it seemed that the air-con based system just couldn't cope with making the room truly warm.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlado24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Thank you for your great comments and I am so glad to hear you did enjoy our stay at Hotel Leonardo in Prague. We have double checked the heating system, but in general we do not have any issues with it, we also provide extra heaters if any guests feels not warm enough. Sorry for that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I stayed at the Leonardo for 7 nights in December. To advertise that this as a "world class" hotel is deceptive. Although, the Leonardo does have some charming aspects ( the restaruant evokes a very warm atmospere) and a great location, there are just too many flaws to justify a "first class" rating. For exampl, there were no English language newspapers available, the room was just short of being "shabby", the bed was too soft and lumpy, the public rooms were cold ( both literally and figuratively), and there were no amenities that one would expect from a "world class" hotel such as guest umbrellas, robes and slippers, etc...
The breakfast buffet is top notch but the service is poor. On Christmas morning, when one would expect the music to be more seasonal (be it classical or just basic Christmas music) we were "entertained" by the sounds of 60's and 70's rock ( "I see a red door and I want it to turn black...The Rolling Stones). Hey, I like rock but on Christmas morning???? Besides, not one of the staff even acknowledged it was Christmas.
At the restaurant, Platina, the food is good and the bartender was friendly (wish I could remember his name.)
On the their website the look is very classy and looks very inviting, it just goes to show you what good lighting effects can do.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chef707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and please accept my apology. Our hotel is part of Worldhotels chain and categorized literary into first class collection. I am sorry to read you did not feel welcome, especially by our breakfast staff and your comments were discussed with them in detail as well regarding the ambiance. We are starting a renovation of the part of the building you were in this January. As per other amenities, we do receive Herald Tribune, offer umbrellas at the Front Desk and Bathrobes and slippers are available normally in our suites but are also available upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My family and I had such a delightful stay. The variety of foods for breakfast satisfied all including fussy eaters. Property was lovely and clean and quiet. Hotel close to most points for tourism and 5minutes away from the Charles Bridge. Staff was quite helpful with where to go, where to eat and accomodating all needs. Great value for money.

Sherry S.
Texas

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrs98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 7 January 2011
Thank you for your great comments about your stay at Hotel Leonardo Prague! I am so glad to hear you had so much fun during your stay in Prague with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredriksund
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Super location of the hotel. The service from the hotel staff is so so good. The breakfast was very good and with a lot of choises. This hotel is also good for handicap that can walk. We will 100 % be back again!!!!!! The porter is the best !!!!! love this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiFredriksund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 25 December 2010
I am so glad to hear you had such a great time in Prague with us at Hotel Leonardo. It is great to see we could take care of your needs and make even a handicapped guest welcome at Leonardo! Thank you for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Have recently returned from our second trip to Prague and chose to return to stay at Hotel Leonardo for a second time. We were impressed with the quality when we first visited four years ago so decided to opt for what we knew was good, rather than taking a chance on an unknown hotel.

We got a cheap deal via the internet - around £300 for four nights, although this was a huge discount on the normal rate, which was supposed to be around £650 for four nights. It IS a four star hotel though, and we just got lucky - whilst it is excellent quality, I doubt we'd pay full price for it, and thats just because we dont have that kind of money to spend on a hotel rather than begrudging paying it - its worth it if you have the money, but why turn down a cheap deal!?

However, regardless of the money you pay, the rooms are a decent size (we ended up with an upgrade to a suite this time - nice one!), and modestly/sensibly decorated and furnished. The beds are comfy, and they are suitably equipment with necessities e.g. tea, coffee, hairdryer, tv, safe and free WiFi. The staff are all pleasant and happy to help. The buffet breakfast is fantastic - with a choice of bacon & eggs, cereals and toast, to pastries, hams & cheeses and fruit salad, theres always something you fancy. Room service is available 24 hours also. We have never tried the Restaurant, but the prices seemed reasonable and the menu was varied but classic Bohemian.

The Hotel overlooks the Charles Bridge, and is less than 10 mins brisk walk to Old Town Square and Wesceslas Square (where the Christmas markets are, and the reason for our visits). There are an abundance of cafes, coffee houses, bars, restaurants and more all within a 15 min walk, and if you fancy hopping on the tram, there are stops literally 2 mins from the Hotel, and theres there's plenty more to see, do and eat just outside the centre (as well as the fantastic ice hockey rink!!)

Despite its location close to the main road and busy centre, its on a quiet street and we experienced absolutely no disturbed nights due to traffic or person noise this, or last, time.

Really can't fault Hotel Leonardo in any way, and if we ever plan to return to Prague, we'll definitely be staying there for the right price. Why risk a dodgy hotel, when Hotel Leonardo can meet all your needs?

Taxi price from the airport to the Hotel is approx 650-700 crowns (£20-25 depending on rate of exchange) and is about a 25 min drive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatkinsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 25 December 2010
Thank you for your great feedback. As you describe, our pricing policy is very flexible and there are various rate available at different periods. The best deal you can get as described is always through our website. If you book direct, we can also pay very close attention to your reservation and though provide you with best service! I am sorry to see you did not try our Platina Restaurant as we constantly try to bring something new to our guests. The next time you coming to Prague, please make sure you let us know so we can take a great care of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We chose the hotel for the great location, just 5 minutes walk to Charles bridge and for its romantic touch. The hotel looks indeed very nice, with old style furniture and decorations. We had a very quiet room situated towards the inner court, there are nice kitchen facilities in the room to make your own tea and coffee. Breakfast was a real joy every morning, with everything you could wish for. On the downside - we did expect 4 stars ammenities and were a bit dissapointed, no bath robes and slipperies in the room (as we have actually seen on the hotel website), the pillows were very thin and uncomfortable, wallpaper was a bit run down..But all in all, it is a friendly hotel with great location and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineValmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelleonardo, General Manager at Hotel Leonardo Prague, responded to this review, 19 December 2010
Thank you for your valuable comments. I am sorry to hear you did not feel we are a full service 4 stars hotel. Bathrobes and slippers are available on request and standard amenities in our suites and castle view rooms. We are also planning a renovation starting January 2011 where we will address some of the rooms wear & tear and will re-do first 30 rooms with new carpets, paint and upgrade some furniture. I am glad to see overall you did enjoy your stay with us in Prague!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 649 in Prague
2,269 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leonardo Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leonardo Prague

Property: Hotel Leonardo Prague
Address: Karoliny Svetle 323/27, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#22 Family Hotel in Prague
#40 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#51 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leonardo Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Hotel Leonardo is an oasis of elegance and sophisticated hospitality located directly in the Old Town, only 300m from the famous Charles Bridge. Hotel Leonardo enjoys a very unique central and quiet location and offers 82 richly and tastefully furnished rooms, magical outside fountain courtyard, Platina Restaurant & Garden, intimate meeting rooms and complimentary rich buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Leonardo Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing