We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #77 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Pitea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with fantastic location”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Hotel Neruda is a very nice hotel located in Mala Strana in Prague. Almost everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Nice, clean rooms and very helpful staff. They helped us with everything we wanted to know. The breakfast was also very good. We are two couples from Sweden and we had a great time in an amazing city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnCharlotte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Charlotte,

We were pleased to read your nice and detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Design Hotel Neruda - thank you for taking the time to write and post it on our TripAdvisor page.
It was great to hear that you found so many aspects of the hotel to your liking, and we also appreciate your positive comments about our staff.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    338
    113
    34
    20
See reviews for
87
647
56
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
widnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed at Hotel Neruda with some friends last weekend. A lovely, traditional looking hotel with individually styled and well appointed contemporary rooms in a perfect location (if you don't mind a stroll up a hill) close to Prague Castle. Great breakfast, comfy room, friendly and helpful staff.

This hotel is in one of the best areas of Prague, close enough to the attractions and nightlife yet in a select and classy location, surrounded by Embassy's and Diplomatic Residences

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinw-widnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful feedback regarding your stay at Design Hotel Neruda and we very much appreciate the time of sharing your impressions of the hotel and our city. It was a real pleasure and honor to share your comments with all my team and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please contact me personally if I can be of any assistance.

Kindest regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had four nights at this very nice hotel in September. The position is great-handy for sight seeing around the castle, away from the crowds on the other side of the river and a good choice of restaurants. Our stay was enhanced by the unexpected upgrade to a "honeymoon suite" a beautiful room with a free standing bath as well as separate shower. The staff we are all incredibly helpful. The breakfast was fine-not the best-but perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sejonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Sir and Madam.

Thank you for your feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that the Design Hotel Neruda fulfilled all your expectations.
I'm very sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast. We have already added a whole range of breakfast improved.

I look forward to welcoming you soon, during your next visit to Prague.

Warm regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

hotel Neruda was okay, if you don't like hills this is not place for you, it is up by the castle and has some lovely views but very very steep. the staff are okay, one was lovely, the other was very miserable and spent a lot of time on a mobile phone obviously arguing with someone (awkward). the room was nice, however, couldn't have a shower as it was attached to taps in a bath in the center of the only room next to the bed with no shower screen or curtain so water goes everywhere and i mean everywhere. okay if you like to have a bath, bad if you're in a rush. breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice from egg and beans to cheese, toast, meats, cereals. on checking out we had to be out for 12pm which is great, only i left my mobile phone charger and adapter plugged in, as we weren't being picked up until 6pm we were still in the lobby, i asked the miserable receptionist if the cleaner had handed them in, she went and checked, they weren't in the room and the cleaner denied all knowledge of it. the rooms are locked so no-one else can get in, they obviously stole them so make sure you don't leave anything and use the free safe in the room as they are thieves. it hasn't put me off as Prague is the most beautiful city in hte world, we are going back next year, but staying elsewhere. also what was upsetting was that on looking on hotel website, their are pics of tables on a roof terrace so you can stay in the hotel and sit out on the terrace, well no you can't their is nothing on there and the door was sometimes locked so we couldn't even go out on it. very bad advertising. we thought we could on an evening sit out on the terrace and have some drinks but alas. you have to go out when it is hot as the air con doesn't blow out cold air, it is stifling on a night and you can't jump in shower to cool down either. anyway i'll leave it there for now.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic center of Prague, and I thank you for your feedback.
Sorry that hotel has not meet your expectations. We are new management company and invest a lot for the hotel. We have new luxury pillows, new sheets and towels, new flat screen TV in all rooms ... and we will continue in this effort
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The full name of this hotel is Design and Style Hotel Neruda. The room in which we spent our three night stay reflected one of my pet peeves about "design": the emphasis seems to be on how things look and not at all on how they function.

The room looks great, mostly. Stylish round sink, nice wooden headboard, wood and tile floors. But the functional design was sorely lacking. To start with, to get to the room, we took an elevator (very small) one flight up. So far, so good. But then we had to wend our way down passages (all very stylish looking) up one half-flight of concrete stairs, down another hall and then up an incredibly steep and narrow spiral staircase in order to reach the room. All this while carrying our luggage. I realize that this is the old world (although this was called the new part of the hotel) but I can't imagine any U.S. attorney would let a facility open with a staircase as hazardous as that.

Although the room was billed as a "spacious superior double room" the bed and bathtub took up most of the space. More on that tub, which sits right in the middle of the room. There was no shower, so this was the only bathing facility in the room. It had a hand-held shower, but this was difficult to use. Plus, it was extremely challenging to attempt to use the hand-held without getting water all over the rest of the room. The was also placed in front of the only window in the room, so that in order to open or close the window, or the curtains, or even just look out the window to check on the weather, you need to stand in the tub.

I think the next time I see a picture of hotel room with a stylish round sink, I will keep looking. This sink looks great, but it's small and the stylish faucet shoots out water at such velocity that it oversprays and splashes out into the room. The lighting was interesting looking, every fixture had some kind of multi-colored Murano glass. But again, style won out over function. It did not light well, especially over the sink; it was difficult not to have part of your face in shadow. Also, for reading in bed, the light was good for glare but not for illumination.

It so happened that Prague was experiencing a heat wave during our visit. Although the room had air conditioning, it really wasn't very effective. Most evenings we found that opening the window (see above about the tub) helped cool the room a bit better. When we mentioned this to the front desk, we were told that the air conditioning didn't work well in hot weather. Hmm.

Were there pros? Yes. The location was great, just under the Prague Castle. The woman at the front desk was pleasant and as helpful as she could be. (She promised to talk to the engineer about the air conditioning. Apparently she did, as the setting was different when we returned, but it made no difference in the temperature.) At times when we could close the window, the room was fairly quiet and free of street noise.

I appreciate nice looking things, but for me the bottom line is whether they work well. This room didn't pass that test.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzcat_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear you have noticed our special design in our rooms and around the hotel. We will try to work on improvements you have suggested. Our guest satisfaction is of vital importance for us. ¨
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
You are always welcome

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel Neruda!

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

we stayed in the hotel neruda in prague in july.this hotel was in a fantastic location less then a
few minutes from the prague castle.
the service was what really made our vacation special.
the manager,front desk staff and restaurant and kitchen staff all contributed in their own way
to show that they cared.

they also have a great breakfast that is part of the package price.it is far more then your
basic continental breakfast.we will definitely recommend to friends and family and we will
stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Dear mike o
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us and that the staff were nice and efficient to you.

Thank you very much for your warm words. It is always nice to hear such a positive review.
We are glad that you are going to recommend our hotel to your friends. Looking forward to meeting them.

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

With pleasure,
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We visited Prague at the end of June for 3 nights as part of my 40th birthday celebrations.As it was a special occasion we wanted to stay in lovely accommodation in a great location, and we were not disappointed!! Great building,staff ,street and views.As there were four of us travelling we booked 2 double rooms, on arrival the the very pleasant receptionist gave my brother and his wife a key for a room in the older side of the building (room14) we were then given a room in the newer side (room 208), both rooms were worth every penny we paid although rooms in the newer side seem larger and very airy/modern whilst my brother seemed quite small/dark and a window looking into the corridor!This would not put us off returning as next time we would just request 2 rooms in the newer side and the location and all the positives (including a lovely breakfast) far out weigh any negative. The man behind reception was helpful on our last day as we left our luggage with him as we had a late flight home.Overall this hotel is a little gem in the beautiful city of Prague .Be back soon :) .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSL2892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Daer Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
I and my team we will do our best to make hotel services even better and better for you to enjoy even more your next stay in Prague.
Thank you for sharing your experience here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#148 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Property: Design Hotel Neruda
Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#70 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing