We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #73 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buyer beware”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel on October 9, 10, and 11 of this year. The hotel was very beautiful, and the location was perfect. When we booked on booking.com, the price was $1249 USD for 3 nights. No info was given breaking down nightly costs. In reading the reviews on this sight, we felt that perhaps it was a very luxurious hotel as we had never paid this much before. In the end, if the hotel were $250 or even $275 per night, we would only have positive memories. The breakfast was mediocre, our room was just above a busy sidewalk when we asked for a quiet room, but these were minor details. When we checked out, my husband was talking with Veronika at reception, and giving feedback that the hotel was not worth what we were paying. If she had politely accepted the feedback, we would have left feeling that we need to do better research in the future when we book. But instead she became defensive and angry, raising her voice and telling my husband that, in her vast travel experience at 24 years old, the prices are fair. I was finishing breakfast as my husband was having this conversation about 10 feet away in reception. I could hear him say, "I don't want to have a fight. I just want to give feedback." His voice was quiet. She was shouting. Then she worsened the situation by saying that the first night was 1853 CZK ($92), the second 3310 CZK ($164), and the third night was 18,737 CZK ($930!). This of course left us feeling completely robbed. Had we know of this outrageous cost differential, we would not have stayed here. It was our last day in Prague, and unfortunately, we left on a sour note. I would never return to a hotel with such questionable pricing, and I feel that Veronika has some serious problems with being in the hospitality business.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HowieJodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest,

at first I would like to thank you that you visit our Design Hotel Neruda and thank you for your review.

Hereby I apologize for your trouble with our a former employee. I'm very ashamed for Miss Veronica. This girl worked for us only a short time. We are the new operators of Design Hotel Neruda. Immediately after your departure she was released. Please accept once again my apologies on behalf of the hotel.

I would like to offer free stay in the Design Hotel Neruda for you or for your family if you visit Prague again.

Thank you very much if accept our apologize.

With best regards.

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    351
    113
    34
    21
See reviews for
93
676
59
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com as I thought the photos of the hotel looked really good and I certainly was not disappointed!

The hotel was clean and tidy and the hotel looks exactly like the pictures. We stayed in room 108 which had a lovely big bath and very comfortable bed. Considering we were right under the castle I thought the room might be very small but there certainly was lots of room for us.

Breakfast offered plenty of choice with a hot option, cold meats, cheeses, cereals and plenty to drink. I was very impressed with the selection.

The hotel is up a hill under the castle so might prove difficult for people with walking difficulities but for me it was perfect as I could walk all around Prague each day and not have to get a tram/metro.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Natz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for another possitive feedback. This is exactly why we enjoy our work - satisfied customers. We will welcome you back at Design Hotel Neruda anytime.

Best regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Dear administrators
I would like to thank the Hotel Neruda Prague for the wonderful stay we spent the days 25 to October 30.
The hotel is beautiful, the service impeccable and the breakfast delicious!
Congratulations!
We especially thank Mrs. Monica who was a guardian angel fallen from heaven!
His attention and care with our problem of a lack of flight from Prague to Madrid and his prompt action and solution over the internet in transferring to another flight on the same day with a connection in Paris allowed us to meet our commitments the next day!
Thank Mrs. Monica!
Congratulations to Hotel Prague Nerudova for having this fantastic person on your staff!

very grateful
Rene and Karla Ugalde

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneU232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear guest,

We were pleased to read your nice and detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at the Design Hotel Neruda - thank you for taking the time to write and post it on our TripAdvisor page.
It was great to hear that you found so many aspects of the hotel to your liking, and we also appreciate your positive comments about our staff.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the room # 28, pretty nice and very clean. Free and fast WiFi. Breakfasts were really excellent! Staff was very friendly and helpful, the castle is just around the corner, however a little bit far from the Charles Bridge, but it was a pleasure to walk 15 minutes along the beatiful streets of this really fairy-tale city :) Praha - I am in love with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for another possitive feedback. This is exactly why we enjoy our work - satisfied customers. We will welcome you back at Design Hotel Neruda anytime.

Best regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here in june....brilliant hotel in an absolutely beautiful location (Lesser quarter, just behind the castle)...Staff amazing, room amazing, once we were home, couldn't wait to book again.....to our dismay, ....price had gone up 100%....£160 for three nights had gone up to £305 for the same time of year!!!!! Now,....this hotel was worth the £160 we paid....add on 10, 20, even 25% and it would still be great value......but nearly a 100% increase is a massive disappointment!!! Was so looking forward to staying here again but....at that price, will have too look elsewhere....massive shame, because it is such a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mallambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay at Design Hotel Neruda and thank you for your review.

With best Regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just had a visit to this nice but quirky hotel. The rooms were very different but we could see that from the website. My wife got lost a few times to our room as its a labyrinth or maze in the hotel. The rooms should have tea and coffee making facilities to improve the stay. Must say thanks to the staff who were very helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay at Design Hotel Neruda and thank you for your review.

With best Regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Staff were helpful before my trip and on arrival - really friendly - though no mention was made of the spa on offer (I'd booked ages ago and forgot about it). My room was top of the house with low angled ceilings and lights (ouch) with bath (with only a daft handheld shower head) and sink in bedroom, everything in weird places really. Bit of a trek to get to room, beautiful staircases but tricky specially with bags. Breakfast was okay - little changes each day but was enough to set me up for the day - tho the coffee was dreadful. The aircon unit was a complete waste of time and it was quite hot when I went. Had issues getting the free wifi in room so on last night, I was offered a new room [101] much preferred it, completely separate bathroom, but no windows/aspect only onto staff staircase. However, concerns about housekeeping as the bin had not been emptied, yet there was a saniband on the toilet; the sheets weren't big enough for the bed - little things but annoying!
Oh - look out for the iron - I borrowed it first day and it almost ruined my linen dress by spitting out all manner of crap! Reverted to my own travel iron after that ...
Located on a hill (Nerodova) up to castle so a bit far from everything else but I got by on foot and managed without any public transport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your stay at Design Hotel Neruda and thank you for your review.

With best Regards,

Michael Pazout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#46 of 649 in Prague
778 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
638 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
260 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#42 of 649 in Prague
311 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Property: Design Hotel Neruda
Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#67 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing