We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not worth four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #71 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We liked our stay and the hospitality, but there were to many issues with the room to be 4-stared; no tea/coffee, uncontrolable shower, extremely soft bed, noise from a turned-off lamp, you were charged extra to use the safe deposit etc etc...
The breakfast was good!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank cornelia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Cornelia H,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs and sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,089)
There are newer reviews for Design Hotel Neruda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a boutique hotel and lives up to its name. Quirky and delightful come to mind.The staff are very friendly and alwsys have a smilenonothing is too much trouble. The Neruda is situated right underneath Prague Castle and only a 5 minuite walk from Charles Bridge so is ideally situated for exploring the City. Our bedroom was reached by climbing a lovely quirky wooden staircase and was clean and tidy.I will however state that whoever you are travelling with you need to know them very well as the bath was in the middle of the room with no privacy and the toilet was in a very small "cupboard" and not soundproofed. The breakfast was more than adequate with a lovely selection of meats fruit cerals fresh baked pastries and bread tea coffee fruit juices. Overall I would throughly recommend the Neruda but if you do suffer with any medical problems it is up a rather steep hill and the stairs are very steep.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Mrs. Lynda G,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts with us and that the staff was friendly to you.
Location is really central. The Prague Castle is just behind the hotel wall and the Charles Bridge is just 10 min relax walk.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights from 21-24 June 2014 and overall we were pleased with our stay here. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke very good English. We arrived early and our rooms were ready. Our room was nice - it had obviously been redecorated fairly recently as the bathroom in particular was spotless. The décor will not be to everyone's taste though - the bare concrete walls made the room seem dark, not helped by only having a very small window that opened onto a small courtyard. However our room was quiet although the air conditioning did not appear to work.

The breakfast was excellent - a good choice of juices, breads, pastries, hot food, fresh fruit, cereals and cold meats. Even though it was not busy, it was regularly topped up by staff.

Location is right below the castle and was relatively convenient for getting to trams/metro (which are excellent and cheap) for going across the river to the Old Town. It is a nice area with shops, bars and restaurants right outside and the lovely Petrin park not far away. In the evening it is quiet though - if you are looking for a big choice of restaurants, bars and want to stay out late then I would look for a hotel on the other side of the river near the Old Town. The hotel is also up quite a steep hill and featured a lot of stairs (and a tiny lift) so it's probably not that accessible for anyone with mobility problems.

But all that said, we enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Mrs. Liz S,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts with us and that the staff was friendly to you.
Location is really central. The Prague Castle is just behind the hotel wall and the Charles Bridge is just 10 min relax walk.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cannot say enough on how much I enjoy this hotel. The perfect location at charming Neruda street right under the magical Prague Castle is unbeatable. Very modern and minimalistic hotel, with amazing parts of design, yet extremely comfortable. Martin the Reception Manager and the rest of Restaurant and Housekeeping staff are extremely friendly and attentive & always very helpful, very often making you smile, even when you are feeling down. Thank you ALL! Victor

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear V S,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts with us and that the staff was friendly to you.
Location is really central. The Prague Castle is just behind the hotel wall and the Charles Bridge is just 10 min relax walk.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you
Best regards from Prague
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days and had a mixed feeling about the hotel. The main thing to bear in mind is that it is near the top of a long steep, cobbled hill. It is very small from the outside but opens up to be a warren inside. The reception is quite small and then you go up a few steps to the breakfast / café area where you find a lift. The lift is small & starts your quest for your room. We stayed in room 001(deluxe) and counted 44 steps from reception to the room. This involved going up steps as well as going down steps. The room itself was large with a very comfortable kingsize bed that had 2 single quilts. The bathroom is a bath with a shower attachment behind a glass wall with the toilet being behind frosted glass. The room itself was a little tired, (pink lipstick on one of the window blinds?) but this didn't detract from the overall effect - designer chic. This room was directly over the street and was still very quiet.
The staff were very efficient, kind and helpful with regards the reception and breakfast areas, but the room service staff let the hotel down. We had no gowns of slippers on arrival and then each day we failed to have the toiletries or tea bags or milk replenished. The cleaning also left a bit to be desired with regards dusting.
We would have given the hotel a rating of 5 but for the room staff. Yes we would go back again if we revisit Prauge as we enjoyed our time overall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vstarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear vestrKent,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the historic centre of Prague and thank you for your feedback.
I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us and that the staff was friendly to you. Sorry for that the fotel didn´t fulfill all your expectations. We are a new managing company and we invest a lot to the hotel.
We are always pleased to assist you with your needs.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here with other travellers.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to help with anything in Prague
We are here for you and we are looking forward to your next visit
Best regards from Prague
Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay in Design Hotel Neruda in Prague for 2 weeks was a very beautiful home-feeling experience for us and we will definitely repeat it again!
The room was perfectly designed - a mix between modern design with antique touch and special effect achieved with the room highlight - the unique Borek Shipek lamps. It offered us a great comfort, romantic and very pleasant atmosphere.
The location is also very convenient - in the old city of Prague directly by the castle and just a few minutes walk from the Charles bridge and the beautiful river Vltava, but jet in a very quiet side street.
And all these rounded with the absolutely likable, kind and helpful staff.
We can highly recommend a stay in this hotel!

Gabriela and Dominique Forster from Basel, Switzerland

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gabriela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignHotelNeruda, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear guests,
thank you for your nice possitive feedback. It was a pleasure to make your stay in Prague more comfortable. Whenever you would like to return to our hotel - you will be welcomed.
With kind regards,
Michael Pazout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Booked honeymoon suite for special occasion. First impressions lovely big room at top of winding staircase. Problem was that the heating was not working in the room. Electric heater in corner inadequate. Told reception but nothing happened. After shivering in the room for an hour trying to make to most of it, we went to reception to ask for another room. Were handed keys to 2 rooms and chose one, but it was without all the facilities of the original room. No-one offered to help us move room despite us having a small child and 2 flights of steps to negotiate.
New room nice and warm, but hot tap faulty on bath, no bath robes, no sparkling water etc. We felt the hotel did not care! As a consequence we were late for our restaurant the hotel had booked us for our special meal and it proved to be a longer walk (in heels) than anticipated so abandoned special restaurant in favour of pizza restaurant opposite (which was FANTASTIC very helpful and great food). Breakfast at hotel very good. Checkout...had to ask manager for a discount (got 10 Euro off) and no apology. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your stay at Design Hotel Neruda and thank you for your review.

With best Regards,

Michael Pazout

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#43 of 648 in Prague
799 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 648 in Prague
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#38 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#63 of 648 in Prague
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#63 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £61 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda is located right below Prague Castle, in a charming area of Mala Strana, in the house where once lived the famous Czech writer Jan Neruda. Modern interior with classical elements was designed by famous architect Borek Sipek. After long strolls through Prague recharges your batteries in the hotel's private spa, which features two saunas and a hot tub. Also be sure to try homemade cakes and delicious hot chocolate in a pleasant atmosphere of Prague Chocolate Cafe & Bistro, which is part of the hotel. High quality services, personal approach and unique atmosphere - all you can expect when staying at this design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing