We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Design Hotel Neruda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Design Hotel Neruda
Ranked #89 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
dresden
1 review
“Romance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

We have really enjoyed our stay at hotel Neruda. The location was suitable
for us because it is walking distance to the Prague Castle. Hotel is
very romantic and suitable for all who like this style of accommodation.
We were informed by staff that the hotel was designed by famous Czech
architect Borek Sipek. We have never seen this design before.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    328
    109
    34
    20
See reviews for
82
610
56
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I agree with many of the other past reviewers...this hotel is actually very nice and we enjoyed our stay but there were some issues...we received a superior room that had the sink and tub in the main room with the toilet behind a shower door in a separate area. Because there was no shower, you had to make sure to plan extra time (or the night before) to use the bath...you also had to be very careful not to get the floor (and your bags) wet while trying to wash your hair in the bath since there is no curtain...it worked ok for my husband and I, but this room is definitely not for anyone that needs privacy. It is also up a very steep flight of about 40 steps that would be difficult for anyone that is elderly or has any issues with their knees...luckily my husband was able to haul our bags up these stairs, but it could pose a problem for some...we had a mini bar but it was not working...we asked the front desk but the problem was never resolved.

The breakfast was good - not much variety day to day, but there we had similar issues as the others with the slow replenishment of food...we found the earlier you get up, the better it is...the staff was helpful and the area is very nice and you can walk to everything. The area does close down at night though and it is very quiet and dark...if I were to go again, I'd probably stay closer to town just for the convenience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

We booked this hotel because of its location in Mala Stana, which I feel is the most charming and quaint area in Prague. We booked through charming-prague-hotels.com where we paid for two night and got the third night free which averaged out to 49 Euros per night. A great deal! However, we were not sure why this hotel is rated as 4-stars.
The pros: great breakfast, free wi-fi, nice location, clean, comfortable rooms with fantastic bathrooms
The cons: parking is 25 Euros per night and offsite, wi-fi is only available in the lobby, the lobby consists of only one loveseat, contemporary and somewhat cold decor is not what I would call a "charming hotel".
I'd recommend this hotel if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank applecat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

I love the Neruda, its a great boutique hotel in a very nice part of Prague. The hotel is clean, fresh and inviting and the staff are wonderful, I would highly recommend this hotel to any other traveller. if you want a great boutique hotel in the true sense of the word then stay at the Neruda

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bim66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Stayed while the Pope was in town so it was busy. Didn't get to see castle and security was tight around hotel. I asked for 3 superior rooms which was confirmed. When I arrived only one was available.The older rooms do not have flat scrren, DVD or internet connection.
The first room I was put in was a room that had 34 stairs to navigate. This is not good for
anyone who has knee problems. I fell one morning at breakfast due to low light levels in the hotel and dark gray floors make it hard to recongnise steps. Our first room was had to find and when Iasked about locked fire exits they told me that if a fire would happen they would unlock them. I didn't like that answer and asked to be moved to another room the next day
that had a window that I could at least jump out of. Both rooms had no lights next to the beds
even though they had 3 plugs on each side of the bed. The only light was the over head fixture which required you to get out of the bed in the dark and turn on the wall switch.
I also agree with the other comments as to A.C. not being like western standards.
They spent alot of money on bathroom fixtures. It's a shame they didn't take safety into
mind as myhusband fell and brused both hips badly in the shower/tub due to bad design.
Some of the things they did at this hotel misses the mark.
Alice a the front desk was most helpfull and apprciated her trying to resolve some of the issues but not all things can be changed.If you are going for a romantic week end then this
would be a great hotel for you .If you are over 40 find another one.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkobsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

My boyfriend & I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Neruda in June 2009. After spending a bit of time researching hotels that were within our budget, we came to the conclusion that the Hotel Neruda was the best we could get for our money & I don't think we were wrong. The hotel is in the beautiful Mala Strana district, which is across the river from the busier parts of Prague & the whole area really gives to a feeling of relaxation & romance. The hotel even has a spa if you really want to unwind (although we didn't use it). It's not too far to walk across the river into the main city, but it's easy to catch a tram or the metro & the location is great if you want to get the most out of exploring Prague.

Our room was lovely - it was clean, spacious & as stylish as the rest of the hotel. We booked a superior room & were given one overlooking the quaint cobbled Nerudova. I have to say through it was perfect for couples who are aren’t prudish - we were intrigued by reading some of the reviews below about the bathroom being in the bedroom! Our room had a glass wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom, which we didn't mind but it might not be to everyone's taste.

I think the only minus was that the shower & bath leaked quite a lot when turned on. However, the modern design of the bathroom made up for it. All the staff we met were friendly & helpful. & the breakfast was good.

I'm so glad we chose the Hotel Neruda, as it was in the perfect location for us, it was incredibly luxurious but was reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattyoo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

I recently spent 4 nights at the Neruda in a Superior Room overlooking the Nerodova. It was great if you wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Old Town. The street was only really busy during the day.

The staff were warm and welcoming and very helpful e.g. arranging tickets etc.

My only quibble was that breakfast was a bit hit or miss. Two mornings everything ran smoothly and there were notes on each table giving weather reports and any thing of interest that was happening in the city that day. The other mornings part of the breakfast was missing - no fruit juice, no bacon etc etc.

Apart from that it was a lovely place to stay and yes, it is probably the best hot chocolate in the world and their fruit smoothies are not to be sneezed at either.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#131 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#69 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#47 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Property: Design Hotel Neruda
Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Prague
#57 Business Hotel in Prague
#78 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#212 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda Prague - Hotel next to Prague CastleThe luxurious Prague Design Hotel Neruda settled in a 14th-century building is located in the Nerudova street in the Lesser Town (Malá Strana) next to Prague Castle and near by Charles bridge which are one of the most popular tourist attractions which you must see when you visit Prague. Once it used to be a part of the King’s Road leading from the Powder Tower up to the Prague Castle. The hotel features a modern Baroque interior designed by Bořek Šípek and a spa area with jacuzzi and sauna.The stylish rooms in the Design Hotel Neruda have warm-colored walls and designed carpeted floors. Some rooms have high-quality parquet flooring, oriental carpets and bathrooms with standalone bathtubs, painted tiles on the floor and glass walls.Other rooms have thoughtful touches, such as extracts of Jan Neruda’s most famous poems written on the walls. Every room is equipped with satellite TV, air conditioning, minibars and safety deposit boxes. All rooms have Free Wi-FiThe Design Neruda restaurant, located in the hotel’s atrium, serves a combination of international and Czech cuisine under glass ceiling. There is a summer terrace and a smoking room.As there is a lot of thing what to do in Prague our 24-hour reception staff is pleased to help you with anything – tell you and show you on the map which places you should visit, ensure a transport for you, book a tour, a recommend you the best Prague restaurants, give advice how to spend your nightlife atc.If you are looking for where to stay in Prague during your holidays Design Hotel Neruda is a perfect place for city breaks as well as for romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing