We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real find”
Review of City Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Crown Hotel
Ranked #408 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a real find”
Reviewed 28 February 2007

Having booked some flights to go to Prague, we were a little late in finding accomodation. Touring some websites, we found out about the City Crown Hotel. How lucky we were!
The hotel itself is not far from the city centre, a short tram ride away (which costs nothing and works very well!) We were greeted by some very friendly faces, had a clean and tidy room and the breakfast was superb too. You could also help yourself during the day to tea and coffee if you wanted to-although we didn't it was nice to know that it was there.
A very very pleasant stay, would highly recommend this hotel as a budget option with the feeling of somewhere being a whole lot more expensive. First class!

  • Liked — Friendly, cheap and excellent value for money
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank stockportman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

We stumbled across this hotel on our way to another. The staff were so friendly and helpful that we came back and stayed the rest of the week. Every morning they would help us with train schedules, brewery reservations, bus schedules, etc and ask us about our day later. The rooms we had (11 and 21) were small enough that only one person could walk around the bed at a time. But the beds are very comfortable and it was nice to have a small couch as well. The heated floor in the bathroom is wonderful after stepping out of a decadent bath.

We considered going to more luxurious hotels in different areas of the city but we were so charmed with the lovely staff that we stayed. They even did a small load of laundry for us. The location is a bit more business/industrial than other parts of the city but it's easy to get to by walking or tram. At the top of the hill near the park is the most fantastic Italian restaurant where we ate 3 times.

  • Liked — charming hotel with wonderful staff
  • Disliked — bed corners are shin smackers
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank cmcginnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2007

Great little hotel and reasonable priced. Very clean and staff very friendly. Tea, coffee and biscuits available all day. Breakfast typically continental (cold meats and cheese) but also fruit, yoghurts and czech cakes available. Surprise of a jacuzzi bath in room. Handier to take tram to town than metro. Lovely (cheap) food and drink in "Amsterdam" pub around corner and many other treats in area. Check out the black babies on the TV transmitter tower ! Enjoy. Great experience. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — YOu could come and go as you pleased. Staff extremely helpful even though English not perfect.
  • Disliked — The walk up the big hill from tram.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DublinDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2006

We had a great stay at City Crown hotel.
I actually booked it, after reading the reviews here.
At first i was a littel dissapointed by the location, since i understood that it was located in the city center, well, its not really in the center, its about 10-15 min' walk. if you are a good walker, than you should have no problem. i found it a fun walking, and when we were tired we used the Trams.
All members of the stuff were very nice and helpfull, breakfast was very good, there is free internet access at the front desk; free coffie, tea and cookies at the dining room on the ufter noon (youll need it when its winter) and i can not point a fault really...

it is not the fancyiest but is nice and cozy, and beeng so, you would probably get personal treatment.
i recommend it.

when u get to Prague be sure not to miss a restaurant nan\med "Ambiente" its one of the best Italian restaurants i have ever been to. its on 11 Celetna street, go down the stairs all the way, adnd you will find it)
they also have a Brazilian restaurant but i had not have the chance to try it...

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank noab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2006

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.
Very friendly staff indeed. Nice hotel in general, clean , rather comfortable (appart from the sewer smell in the bathroom) and quite a nice and charming place in general.
We liked the small backyard where you can have breakfast at the rear of the hotel. Great breakfast by the way!
But...we could hardly sleep the first night : it was warm so we had to leave the windows open and there was so much noise in the street...people getting out of the pubs we suppose... The second night was much better as it was cooler and we could sleep with the windows closed...
If going there by summer, maybe you should ask for a room facing the back of the building...
But it was nice to visit this part of Prague too and the hotel is really convenient for metro and tram.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank steromawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2006

staff friendly, rooms well furnished, dont be put off on first impressions of area, nice bar\restrant down road try beer garden at rear. we will be going back

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LiverpoolBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2006

We had great time at City Crown hotel and a good week in Prague. Booked directly with hotel to get best deal.

A nice welcome from staff that always gave us good service with a smile.

Room was very nice and clean with everything you need, a plus for welcomebasket with nuts, chips, chocolate and a bottle of sekt! Our bathroom was lovely with a spa bath.

Breakfest was very good with a big choice even if we arrived late after 10. We had good luck with weather so we could enjoy the breakfest at hotels court yard.
Other things we appreciated were free internet and telephone calls.

We tried some restaurants around Old Square and Mala Strana like Kampa Park that we found expensive and food so-so. As recommended by other tripadvisor members there are some good restaurants nearby hotel, tried a greek(Olympus only 150 m. from hotel) restaurant with good food for moderate prices and nice green outdoor taverna.

We preferred walking from hotel to the centre and took the tram back home. Then walking we recommend to take a break in Riegerovy Sadu, a nice park, for great photos and a large beer garden. Another good photo place are Petrin Hill with the small Eiffel tower.

Would recommend City Crown to anyone going to Prague as a clean, cheap and comfy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank olatorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#339 of 649 in Prague
105 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#359 of 649 in Prague
188 reviews
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#250 of 649 in Prague
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Columbo
Columbo
#369 of 649 in Prague
95 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Residence Tabor
Hotel Residence Tabor
#293 of 649 in Prague
221 reviews
Praha 3
Euro Wings Hotel
Euro Wings Hotel
#399 of 649 in Prague
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Crown Hotel

Property: City Crown Hotel
Address: Borivojova 755/94, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swedish owned, family run hotel that provides great service and helpful staff. Hotel is centrally located 10 minutes walking to old town. All rooms are equipped with refrigerator, SAT-TV, telephone, safe deposit /free/ and free WI-FI internet access with W-LAN for laptops. All bathrooms have bathtubs. Hotel has its own garage. Internet free in recepcion as well as coffee, tea and biscuits. WIFI and 10 minutes of telephone calls are also free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Crown Prague
Hotel City Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing