We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #2 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Good location - we walked everywhere. Our hosts gave us all the best information and tips. Great breakfasts and just an all around lovely B & B.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KdubOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    25
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
133
240
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountains, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My teenager and I loved this hotel and wish we could have stayed more than 3 nights. The hosts were wonderful - everyone spoke great English. Jan, the owner, is funny and a great host. It was calm and quiet in the evenings, and having a good, fast computer to use was very helpful. Great breakfast, too. We got the 'small' room, which was charming and twice the size of our Italian hotel rooms. Their grown sons gave us great inside info on what it was like to grow up in a communist country, and how they experienced the change in their teens. I would stay at Dum u velke boty again in a heartbeat! If you've got older kids, be sure to check out the electric bikes across the street - we rented them for half a day and had a blast! The eBikes were the highlight of our 3 week trip, so getting a great hotel and a fun way to see the city in the same block is especially nice. They even picked us up at 11:30 p.m. at the airport when our flight was late - you just can't do better than that kind of hospitality. Don't wait to book this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneQSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Cloud
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

This "Home" is located in the Little Quarter just 10 minutes walk to the castle and also just a few minutes walk to the Charles Bridge. The German Embassy is directly across the street from it. It's a very welcoming home and we felt very safe there. We stayed in the 3rd floor family suite. There were 2 separate bedrooms and then a shared very large bathroom at the end of the hall. The rooms were nicely decorated in older (antique like) furniture and the beds/linens were great. Our room looked out onto the cobblestones and Embassy. It's a great view but can be a little noisy. Breakfasts were served in 2 adjoining dining rooms. Every a.m. we were made 'eggs to order' plus there were so many food/beverage choices. They were delicious. The employees spoke good English and were very helpful.
The owner drove us to the aiport the a.m. of our departure for a fee. I think it was less than a cab fare, It was reassuring to know we had a ride ahead of time. He even served us breakfast 1/2 hr. early because of our flight.

Room Tip: Embassy side (street) could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank St_CloudTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Perfect location for those who love to stay near the quiet, green areas of Prague, yet who have quick and easy walking access to the hustle & bustle of the city. Jan, Jakub, and Simone are helpful, kind and love good discussion. We were a family of four, 2 adult children and sleeping accommodations were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eros2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Jakob & Jan did everything they could to make our, and the other guests, stays memorable, comfortable and safe. The house is like many we have stayed at in the Loire Valley of France and in the UK. 500 years old, large rooms with appropriate furnishings, and our top floor suite had a wonderful view of the streets and the German Embassy, right across the street, adding to the feeling of safety in the neighborhood and the lack of traffic. My daughter cancelled other plans for later in the month so that she could return to the Dum u Velke Boty. Our breakfast was exceptional. Jan does the best eggs & bacon. We will always remember our stay.
Many thanks to the Rippl's.
Bret M.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbretm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
413 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday. Our stay was wonderful and memorable. The room was spacious, clean and warm. Breakfasts were filling. The best part was our interaction with Jan and Jakub. We were made to feel like one of the family. We'd pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The House at the Big Boot is as wonderful as it is promoted to be. The hospitality and generosity of the Ripple family who own and run the facility was above and beyond anything we expected. This facility ranks 5 stars + for comfort, aesthetics, location, food, service, consideration, help in making arrangements to see and do things in Praha, and most of all for hospitality. You will feel welcome and catered to from the moment you walk through the door until the time you must depart. For those who have difficulty walking, this hotel is located half way up the hill from the Charles Bridge to the Prague Castle but there is regular bus service right to the door. This wonderful small hotel totally deserves 5 out of 5 stars. I hope our travels bring us back to the House at the Big Boot. MDD Florida

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstuteTraveler33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Property: House at the Big Boot
Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing