We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of House at the Big Boot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #1 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a wonderful time here. It's in a great part of town -- on the left river bank near the castle and many good restaurants, cafes and bars, but also just far enough away from the busy roads to be very quiet and peaceful. The building is beautiful and the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and entertaining. Their recommendations were excellent and many of the best places we found to eat and drink came from their list.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas_H186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    23
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
238
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early June. As other reviews have mentioned, the B&B definitely is in a central, quiet, safe, quaint and historically interesting part of Prague. We stayed in a nicely furnished and fairly large room on the third floor with a nice view of the castle. While we didn't mind the stairs ourselves, we can see how this might bother someone. If so request a first or, at most, 2nd floor room. The breakfast was ok. Perhaps a bit more variety would have been nice (same things each day) although it is not a restaurant so I can see how this might be difficult as the kitchen alcove they used was very tiny. Staff was great. Pleasant, accomodating, available and truly interested in seeing that their guest enjoy themselves. We highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My family spent 5 days at this wonderful hotel - great central but quiet location, but still within 5 minutes walk of Charles Bridge & 10 minutes from Prague Castle. Jan Rippl and his family opened this hotel 20 some years ago, right after the fall of communism. They are friendly, very helpful, speak excellent English, and make you feel right at home. Hotel is a beautifully restored old burgher's house Rooms are comfortable, lots of Czech art on the walls, nice shower & bath facilities, good breakfast. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to this fascinating city.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the first floor - 2 rooms, sitting room, separate bathroom, and shower in master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
199 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The owner went out of his way to pick us up at the airport (I would definately recommend you do this) and brought us to the train station upon our departure. He also gave us a tour of the area on the way to the B&B with lots of helpful information that gave us our bearings in a new country. The location was central to everything- walk to the Charles Bridge, restaurants etc. The room was a nice size, the breakfast excellent and the owner and his son were friendly, helpful and patient with us. As Americans we got a good feel for the people of the Czech Republic by staying here.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front street and there was noise from the German Embassy, which is across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravelCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were slightly unsure that this was going to be suitable for three of us for a long weekend last June. No worries though everything was outstanding, the owner and his family, the accommodation - a suite, breakfast, and the location. Everone spoke good English which was important ot us, and they gave us a great orientation session.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed 4 nights here, as the first stop of a 17 day venture through Czech Rep., Vienna, and Hungary. This is exactly the type of inn we like to stay in - family run, location near main attractions but not in the midst of the crowds and chaos, local charm, friendly hosts and good value. It was very helpful to have arranged (and knew they were waiting for us) transport from the airport. The room we had on the 2nd floor was very clean and quite spacious. Prague was experiencing temperatures quite a bit above the norm, and they do not have air conditioning (as many places don't). A provided electric fan saved us, particularly at night. The breakfasts were plentiful, varied and good. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My friend and I just adored the House at the Big Foot. We stayed there for 4 nights. The rooms are spacious with very cool antiques and the beds are so comfy. Their restaurant recommendations were great. The Boot is in a very safe area and the Prague Castle is just a short walk away.
This was our favorite place we stayed at during our entire trip.
Thanks to Jon, Marta, & Jacob for treating us like family and for being so generous, kind & helpful.
Mychele & Suz

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legalstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Property: House at the Big Boot
Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing