We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST B&B we've ever stayed at”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #2 of 364 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This very positive experience all started at the greeting. We have never received such a thorough and detailed explanation of the town (including locals' restaurants), the building, and the spacious room. We learned how to avoid tourist traps. The transportation was arranged and fairly priced. The room accommodation were jaw dropping -- comfortable and generous beds and large feather pillows (which we still miss!), large rooms that were tastefully decorated with little chandalires and antiques, and modern and updated bathrooms. A good balance between modern and traditional. The service from the start to finish was outstanding, and was friendly and sincere. We sometimes rent apartments when we travel, but based on experience like we received here, we will look at B&Bs first. By far, the best lodging experience we have ever known.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here June 11-13, 2014, What a lovely hotel. Small and family run. One of the best parts was talking with the young men who served breakfast (one is the son of the owner.) The home's history is awesome and very interesting. The variety of types of rooms is great and they really have something to suit everyone. We took advantage of the airport pickup service from the owner who is obviously very proud of his city as he took us on an impromptu tour upon arrival. We just can't say enough good things about this property. It is very well located near the Charles Bridge and the Castle. The owners recommend restaurants that "they" patronize, not the touristy ones, which we greatly appreciated. If we visit Prague again we will stay with them again, no question.

Room Tip: Even the rooms that are on the front of the property on the main street are completely silent at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flmof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

4 years ago the Iceland volcano forced us to cancel our visit. We were so glad we finally made it to Prague and the house at the big boot. What a lovely b & b. Super quiet spot( tough to find in the tourist zoo that is Prague) but also extremely close to the castle and Charles Bridge and the centre of town.

Lots of very useful advice and loved their recommended restaurants . Loved the little information sit down when you first arrive .

Really appreciated the pick up at the railway station and run out to the airport.

They go the extra mile for sure

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Really friendly hosts in a great part of the city near the castle. We had the top floor suite which was easily big enough for 5 people, recently redecorated to a good standard. The hosts couldn't have done more for us, recommending local restaurants and a little place that serves the best ice cream in Prague. They accommodated our dietary requirements with no problems and arranged pick up and drop off at the train station for us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were arriving early on the train from Krakow so Jakub suggested we come straight to the B&B and have breakfast before our guide for the day was to pick us up. The taxi that Jakub arranged to get us from the railway station was right where he said he would be. Breakfast was cereal and breads with ham and cheese and a different sweet pastry each day. They also prepared eggs any way that you like. We like early morning coffee but getting it was not always perfect. We asked one evening if we could get it early the next morning and so the nice young lady made it for us that night and left it in a carafe. The morning we were leaving we needed to leave before the normal breakfast time of 8 and so Jakub had breakfast for us at 7:30. The house is slightly up the hill from the Charles Bridge, but actually convenient for getting around. We stayed in a ground floor room, which was very comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applebyutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Enjoyed Prague & this B & B so much stayed a few extra days! With Jakub's & the entire staff's generous knowledge & advice visited the best at the best times. We saw the castle at sunset at a delicious restaurant on the river. Thank you. We really appreciate the great breakfast & security of your B & B & for assisting us to plan transportation & lodging-entertainment- historical places.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms & all were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at Dum u Velke Boty in late April. We could not have hoped for a friendlier place run in a spirit of fun, yet always efficient and ready to pass on gems of local knowledge. Jakub generously gave of his time to steer us to interesting historical places sometimes off the tourist trail and recommended excellent restaurants. Thanks also to Jan and Tomas and to the breakfast girls (Litka and ?) who were so helpful and cheerful. We loved Prague and would highly recommended this ideally located B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,803 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 647 in Prague
1,788 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 647 in Prague
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing