We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly family-run, a home in Prague”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Ranked #2 of 364 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at the House at the Big Boot for three nights. I absolutely loved it. It is truly family-run and incredibly friendly, with nice, clean rooms, heaps of charm, and an incredible location. The Little Quarter is close enough to walk to all the main tourist sights but also far enough away that you feel the peace and quiet of the neighborhood. The best part of this house is the people who work there. We met several of them throughout the trip, and they were friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and smooth. I highly recommend this house for your stay in Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lucie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for House at the Big Boot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend the end of July. We had reserved a ground floor suite but they upgraded us to a larger family suite free of charge. Our family suite was large, clean and we'll furnished. The shower was large and wonderful! It was hot as it was on the third floor in July. No a/c. Beds were VERY comfortable! Breakfast is humble but offers fresh made eggs with choice of cheese, ham or bacon. The location is quiet and less than 1 km from the Charles Bridge. The hotel is across the street Across from the German Embassy. Owner and staff is friendly, attentive, and professional.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank RJR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had the good fortune to stay here for 6 nights in June. We arranged for them to pick us up from the bus station which was very convenient.
The house is located on the castle side of the river in a very old, quiet and safe area. It is right across the street from the German Embassy and up the street from the American Embassy. Because of the American Embassy being there, all cars coming up the road are stopped and inspected...a bit unnerving, but also reassuring with a strong police presence in the neighbourhood.
It is but a short walk from here to the castle and about 30 minutes across the Charles Bridge to the main square where the astronomical clock is. This location could not be beat...you are in a very historical area and yet far from all the crowds.
While public transportation was nearby, we never had to use it as all the places we wanted to see were easily got to on foot.
Our room (28 I believe) was very spacious, had a large entry and then double doors that opened into the main bedroom. The furniture was a very beautiful antique suite. The bed was very comfortable and we slept extremely well. It was unusually warm when we were there and with the windows open it was not too bad. In the room was the original ceramic stove/heater. It was very lovely with all the old tiles, and apparently still works (not that we needed it!).
The bathroom was very modern...huge shower, vessel sink, and yet was in one of the original kitchen areas of the house. The old hotplate/oven was still there.
We were on the first floor of the house, but with high ceilings, was about 30 steps up, so if one had mobility issues, this could present problems, and of course the higher up rooms mean more steps.
On arrival at the house we were met by Laura who gave us an 'orientation' to Prague and marked on the tourist map where the main attractions were, how to get there, good local restaurants, etc. That was very helpful.
Breakfast in the dining room was sort of buffet style...you could help yourself to toast/bread/juice/whole fruit but they served to you ham/cheese/tea/coffee. Eggs were made on request and I must say the scrambled eggs/ham/cheese that I had every morning were perfectly done (and done by several 'chefs' during our stay). What we ate filled us well until early/mid afternoon.
Staff at the B&B were readily available to ask questions of, arrange taxis or help in any other way that their guests may have needed. We also arranged for them to drive us to the bus on our departure.
There is no doubt that this bed and breakfast is fantastic and if a bed and breakfast is where you enjoy to stay (as we do), look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Best bed-and-breakfast experience we've ever had and we've stayed in more than 100. When we arrived, we welcomed with tea, cold water and cake. They were especially attentive to our 12-year-old daughter who was uneasy about staying at someone's homes (her first B&B). The owner carried our heavy bags to our room, provided us with a map and marked points of interest and restaurant recommendations after visiting with us about our preferences. The researched train schedules, provide subway directions, arranged for early am cab, and inquired at every turn about our day and our stay. The absolute best part was hearing the owner describe living under communism for our daughter. He asked her if she had ever lived without oxygen, and then told her that was what it was like to live without freedom. We may not return to Prague, but I would recommend everyone who visits stay at the BiG BOOT. BTW, a great location close to embassies on a very safe street that is convenient to the Charles Bridge and the Castle.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SherriToddStatler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our summer vacation. Our friends suggested the Mala Strana neighborhood for its quietness. Consulting the section in my guide book for the neighborhood, it listed Dum U Velke Boty among other suggestions but I tried first for a room here. I could not have made a better choice! Jakob runs the house exactly like I would if I were an inn keeper. Using the car service they offer made our arrival from the train station easy. Upon check-in we were presented with a map of the city that showed several restaurant suggestions and key locations to visit. Our hosts were also quite willing to give us personal suggestions based on our short stay in Prague, and our particular interests. They helped us make several calls to check on concerts and tours. They genuinely wanted us to have a great time in their city. We were the last ones to come down for breakfast the next day and yet I am sure they presented us with just as many food choices as had been given to those who arrived first. The wireless internet worked very well for us, and the room was comfortable for our needs even though we chose the lesser of the offerings. If we should visit Prague again, this is the only inn I will call!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently had the privilege of staying four wonderful nights at the House at the Big Boot (Dum u velke boty). It's blessed with an idyllic and quiet location on a square across from the German Embassy, far from the throngs of tourists. Situated at the base of Prague Castle, it's a very short pleasant walk to the Charles Bridge and even closer to the tram station. Housed in a historical building and furnished in comfortable period style, it also provides the basic modern comforts a traveler would require. During our stay, the entire staff we met were always personable and helpful, but more importantly, caring. The breakfast was plentiful, offering yogurt, breads, pastries, fruits, ham, cheese, eggs, juices, coffee and tea. If you left the breakfast room hungry it was your own fault! This property is an excellent choice for a visit to Prague.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank whirlwindnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We would have never found this place if not for the great TripAdvisor reviews. This place was incredible as it was like stepping back into time. Don't get me wrong, they had all the modern conveniences, but the rooms also had some antique furnishings that just added to the ambiance. In fact, make sure to visit the basement, as you can see the original walls that made up old Prague. The landscape of Old Town is deceiving. The buildings are actually hiding the original Prague. The Vltava River has changed the landscape because of the flooding. Over the years, Prague has been raised up two to three times. Because of this, many of the old buildings are hidden. Underneath many buildings are numerous stone-walled buildings that once sat at street level. However, during the 13th century, authorities believed the only way to prevent future flooding was to raise the city up). The location is great as it is near the embassies so it is very safe and quiet. Also you are very close to the Prague Castle and the Monastery (both are must visits). Since you are in the old town, you are away from all the tourists and noise, yet it is about a 20 minute walk to old town square. The owners/staff are wonderful. From Laura who met with us when we checked in and went over the layout of the town and suggestions all the way to Jan making us fresh breakfast every morning. They also had a fully stocked refrigerator for drinks in the lobby (it was cheaper than purchasing items in the min marts). I can't wait to go back to Prague and I will only stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Nez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,738 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 648 in Prague
1,776 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing