We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel”
Review of Hostel Mango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Mango
Ranked #36 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hostel”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The best hostel I've ever stayed! Everything was perfect! I would definetely recommend it! Very Clean, helpful stuff, free apples on the desk! The beds are really comfortable. The bedrooms and the bathrooms ARE very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    121
    34
    15
    4
See reviews for
4
30
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

When I arrived they placed me in an 8 bed even though I paid for a 4 bed. I complained and they said that they are fully booked and placed me in a 6 bed with a 2€ discount. I booked weeks in advance and even made a full payment in advance.

In the room It looked like a tornado went through the place! VERY messy! Clothes everywhere. Not all the lockers in the room work, some of the doors are falling off when you open them. I asked for my money back so I can look for another place but they said because i took the key I accepted the room so they will not refund.

The place is VERY noisy! Doors slamming and people drinking & shouting in courtyard till the morning hours. Struggled to sleep all night.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very nice place in a very strategic location.
I experienced amazing hospitality.
The people who work at the hostel are super friendly and always have a great smile :) They are also very helpful when you have any questions.
The beds are really comfortable. The bedrooms and the bathrooms ARE very clean.
Fresh towels are provided.
Thank you for the great hospitality. Can't wait to go again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riad-Rifky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was my second stay at Hostel Mango and I was even more impressed than the first. A former hotel, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The price cannot be beat. I even paid for a bunk in a 6 this time and had the whole room to myself. I'm guessing this might be because Mango is a little bit off the beaten path but the Charles Bridge is literally a half a block away, you are right there at the foot of the hill up to the castle and old town is still less than a 15 minute walk (even less if you want to take a tram). I walked to and from the main train station without a problem. A quieter street but there is a great locals bar on the corner and a grocery a block away on the main drag (that has a great selection of Bio products as well as pastries) to stock the kitchen should you like (coffee and tea available anytime). The (free) WiFi is a little spotty in the rooms unfortunately but is solid in the courtyard and reception area. Staff was helpful and quick to offer advice should it be needed. I appreciate too that they take Czech Koruna or Euros. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Prague.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great place and great and friendly people.The dorm rooms are definitely the best room i have ever been in in an hostel.
The hostel has free fruit every day and good wifi in reception area and inside the rooms, although the connection is not so strong for smartphones or tablets.
It is THE cleanest hostel room i have ever been in with very comfortable beds and a nice large bathroom.
The social room has comfortable couches and a tv to chill out and the breakfast can be eaten there too.

For the price value ratio i would say this exceeds any I have ever been in and therefore is worth to spend the time and write this review, which I never actually do.

Definitely recommended for either a group of friends or couples or even if ur flying solo in the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobeisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed here for only one evening, but nonetheless it was a wonderful experience. It was a bit of a confusing walk to the hostel from the Metro station, but once you find the hostel, you won't forget where it is. The location is wonderful; the hostel is tucked away in a nice, quiet area, about a 5 minute walk to the Charles Bridge. There are a couple of charming, small business around that I also checked out (cafes, bookstores, souvenir shops). The staff is very friendly and available 24/7. The hostel is very clean. The sheets were fresh, the bathroom was well-maintained. Each bed has a storage unit (about 4.5 feet high by 2 feet wide and about 2.5 feet deep) that is very convenient for storing your belongings. If you have any valuables, they have lockers to use, free of charge. There is also free WiFi.

My only dissatisfactions were that the WiFi was very slow and kept disconnecting, and that there was only one bathroom per dorm room (which was up to 14 people). Because of this, there's always a wait for the shower or toilet, which can be a bit inconvenient.

Overall, I think this hostel is a very good place to stay and very affordable for those travelling on budget.

Room Tip: Any room is good, really. There's no noise from outside and the temperatures in the room are wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonysheu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

By far and away the best thing about it was the location, walking back over the Charles bridge each night was incredible. Didn't spend much time in the hostel (why would you when you're so close to town?), was clean, cheap enough felt safe.
Lockers available if you want them.
Staff were pretty bad tempered though

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexC802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#67 of 656 in Prague
216 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Little Quarter
Little Quarter
#21 of 656 in Prague
329 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#23 of 656 in Prague
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#22 of 656 in Prague
319 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#4 of 656 in Prague
1,201 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Rosemary Hostel
Rosemary Hostel
#80 of 656 in Prague
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mango

Property: Hostel Mango
Address: Mishenska 68/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mango 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from Charles Bridge, right in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, you will find Hostel "Mango", a combination of modern services, fantastic location and relaxed comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing