We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vila Amerika: beautiful summer home dedicated to the life & works of Antonin Dvorak.”
Review of Dvorak Museum

Dvorak Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.89*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #179 of 962 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
1,264 reviews
759 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,409 helpful votes
“Vila Amerika: beautiful summer home dedicated to the life & works of Antonin Dvorak.”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Since I am a Dvorak fan, scheduling a visit to this museum was a must. I was not disappointed. With Dvorak’s music softly playing as we toured the museum, we loved our visit to vila Amerika. I highly recommend this venue if you are interested in the life and music of this great composer.

Prague born Antonin Dvorak, composer of the New World Symphony written while he lived in America for 3 years, was one of the Czech Republic's greatest composers.

The building itself, Vila Amerika, is a beautiful early 18th century baroque summer palace that was designed by Kilian Ignaz Dientzenhofer, the same architect responsible for the design of the gorgeous baroque St Nicholas church in Malá strana, and was originally the summer palace of Vaclav Michna. As you tour Vila Amerika, will get a good idea of how the Prague aristocracy lived during the 1700’s.
The recital hall on the first floor is stunning, decorated with a beautiful fresco, Apollo, Pegasus and the Arts, by Johan Ferdinand Schor.

Although he did not live in here during his lifetime, Vila Amerika today is home to the museum dedicated to the life and works of Antonín Dvorak. It houses a unique collection of Dvorak’s music manuscripts, music programs, personal correspondence, posters, period photographs and many of Dvorak’s personal items.

TIPS:
Location: Ke Karlovu 20 (we took the metro, Line C, to I.P. Pavlova & then walked the short distance to the museum)
Admission: Adults - 50 Kc, Seniors – 25 Kc.
Open: Tuesday through Sunday (Closed Mondays) – 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Note: You can also attend concerts in the small concert hall located in beautifuthe villa. If you are interested in a concert here, you can check-out the concert schedule at the Prague Ticket Center at Via Musica, located in Old Town Square or online at:
http://www.pragueticketoffice.com/events/

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but lots of interest”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Beautiful house, nobody there, lots to read about and be fascinated by. Read the newspaper cutting about Dvorak's trip to the USA and the furore over his ideas for a national musical identity for the USA based on ethnic music. It's the basis of European national styles, but seemed to offend American sensitivities at the time. His 'New World Symphony' was a demonstration of what he meant - and nobody now questions it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Needs perking up”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It's a small museum with a modest number of memorabilia. For me, little attempt has been taken to bring the exhibits to life. The best parts were the music of Dvorak in the background (but I can get that at home) and the pleasant garden. The person on duty during our visit seemed "soviet" in his silent, smile-free persona.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank I-am-not-Robin-Hood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“His desk and piano are here”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The great man himself never lived here - the house where he lived is not far away in Zitna in Nove Mesto (a block from the Sheraton hotel) and has a plaque and a bust on the wall. The museum is in a very pretty baroque pavilion and holds a small collection of photographs, furniture and other mementos of his life and his colleagues and friends. It only takes about half an hour to go round but is very charming and of interest to all music lovers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank galloping_grannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not much to learn”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is a villa -museum where you can learn Dvorak's biography. You can learn it on line, too, but somehow learning it in Prague, in the neighborhood where Dvorak actually lived, makes it more special. It has three rooms in total, exhibits consist of letters, some personal items, such as a wallet that belonged to Dvorak, photographs. The visit perhaps adds to a musician's fund of knowledge, (helps understand Dvorak's music better?) Otherwise, don't go unless you have plenty of free time on your hands in Prague. We went because my son plays Dvorak's piano pieces, AND because we could spare an hour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellaepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dvorak Museum also viewed

 

Been to Dvorak Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing