We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice museum dedicated to a master.”

Bedrich Smetana Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.31*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Pohorelice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice museum dedicated to a master.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I went to this museum with my son and was really surprised. There is an interactive sound system that will play some of Smetana's classics that can interest children. On display are artifacts from his life, like his glasses and the jewelry his wife wore at their wedding. I never knew that Smetana loved to draw until visiting this museum and opened up a new world about him to me. This museum is definitely for those who love such masters of music, but also who have a passing knowledge of Smetana too. I think anyone visiting this museum will learn something new him, that they didn't know before. The cost isn't too bad and I would go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank czgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    12
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smetana and his music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

It is centrally located, access is easy, go if you are in the center anyway. The entrance fee is a little high, in my opinion for what you get. Learn about Smetana's life and can hear his music, about 10 pieces to choose from. The only thing we have learned that we did not know before is that how small were the glasses that Smetana was wearing. The museum would be a god place to visit for someone who is interested in Smetana's music, familiar with the composer and wants to "validate" the knowledge with the visit. There is a grand piano there but you can't play it, of course. You have to pay extra to be allowed to take photos, not that it was tempting to take pictures there. Went because we love Smetana's operas..

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Smetana Museum a must for music lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you know and enjoy Smetana's music (or if you are curious about his work) this is a great experience. I found the staff very helpful. The exhibition is extremely well done and much nicer than I expected. Plus it is located on his beloved Vlatva River, just south of Charles Bridge. Very reasonable entry fee.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank jwishz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting for the specialist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was the only visitor so could wander around undisturbed. Small museum with a low entry free of 50 ck. Photos are extra! You need to be interested in local Czeck classical music to really appreciate this, but it was nicely put together and the chance to hear his music was a nice touch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Infodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Focused with everything you could possibly want to know re: Smetana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Love Smetana's music so decided to visit this museum. Lots of info about Smetana both written and aural. In particular there was a very nice room where you could listen to specific compositions using a laser pointer to activate the music on each of a dozen or so music stands. This was fairly complicated and our Czech hostesses while willing, spoke as little English as we did Czech. So t took us a long time to figure things out. The building is located right on the Vitava river (the Moldau to Smetana fans). The building is beautiful and has a nicely situated cafe next to it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LCP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedrich Smetana Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bedrich Smetana Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing