We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stop for anyone interested in music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedrich Smetana Museum

Bedrich Smetana Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.97*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good stop for anyone interested in music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Regardless of how much (or how little) you know of Smetana, I enjoyed this small, yet well arranged collection. You walk away with a very in depth understanding of this man's life, from birth to death, and how he made the most of his time in between. I liked being able to physically handle and look through the copies of his composed work, as well as recline on these comfy stools while listening to the music. The conductor's stand and laser baton was broken for me, but it looked like it would have been fun :(

I wrote up a blog review on this museum, and other National Museum locations in Prague, so please check it out! http://praguetravelers.wordpress.com/2014/07/14/bedrich-smetana-museum-muzeum-bedricha-smetany/

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    12
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Total ripped off!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Three little rooms with photocopies of title pages of Smetana's works and photocopies of paintings!!! Huh???? NOTHING ORIGINAL! Only artefacts: a baton that was a present to the composer, and the piano which they claim is Smetana's...huh??? 50 Kč! Come on!!! Extra charge for taking a photograph of the piano...huh?? THE OLD LADIES CAN'T SPEAK ENGLISH IN THE MIDDLE OF TOURISTY PRAGUE. ..HUH??? NEVER AGAIN! TOTAL RIP OFF!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Willem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A little hard to find but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

You have to walk through what appears to be an outside restaurant to get to the front door of the museum. The museum itself is not large but it is well laid out and very informative. When we inquired about the grand piano in the center of the museum we were told it belonged to Smetana's teacher. The doscent asked if we wanted to play it and since my wife was at one time a concert pianist she jumped at the chance. She was in seventh heaven. Unfortunately she played a Chopan étude. Sorry Mr. Smetana.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Intimate and informative museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loved this small museum about the life of and works by Czech composer Bedrich Smetana. Although the descriptions of the exhibits are in Czech, the friendly and enthusiastic staff provided an English guide which was informative. I was keenly fascinated by the facsimiles of autograph letters, documents and music scores. Some of his most notable compositions (e.g, his symphonic poem "Ma Vlast" and his opera "Libuse") were presented in facsimile and laid out on lecterns and podiums where one could turn the pages. Many personal items, including his Petrof grand piano, are in this museum. The exhibit provides an excellent overview of Smetana's life -- from birth to death.

The museum is located at the foot of the Charles Bridge in Old Town. Look for the massive bronze statue which is outside the museum. The location is also an ideal site for photo opportunities.

After we finished the museum, the staff person suggested that we visit the National Museum of Music -- another excellent and interactive museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jdc8mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Secca, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Smetana museum is located in the centre of old Prague, close to the Charles Bridge. His house used to be Smetana's home. It is wonderful to be inside the intimate and tranquil museum and watch the madding crowd of tourists on the famous bridge nearby.
Here you learn about an under estimated composer, about his music and his life. Smetana was "father" of the unique Czech tradition in music.
Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa1811670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedrich Smetana Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bedrich Smetana Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing