We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sternberg Palace

Sternberg Palace
Ranked #135 of 929 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not up to my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I don't know why this museum is so well rated. I read about it in my guidebook, which raved about it, went to see it and was pretty much let down. The advertised Chinese cabinet is actually smaller than my kitchen and so modest that it's impossible to tell why its Chinese. Yes, there are one or two nice paintings, Rubens is Rubens, but if you want my advice- visit the nearby Loreta instead or just sit down in a nearby cafe with panorama to the city. If you have been to Louvre or British Museum or anywhere in Italy, you have seen it all, save your 150 crowns.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank EleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    15
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice exhibits in an interesting building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time. Interesting art and some nice painted ceilings. As many have commented the staff are unique. One man in particular had us really smiling as he literally marched from corner to corner of each room like some frustrated palace guard. They really should lighten up. The art is no more valuable than in other galleries where they left you in peace.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Peaceful - pleasant - friendly - with many interesting things”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We found this the perfect antidote to the frantic crowds in the Castle and on the Charles Bridge. The ticket gets one access to 5 places as well as Sternberg.- Veletrzni Palace ( The new gallery of modern art ) Schwarzenberg Palace, Convent of St Agnes, Kinsky Palace and Salm Palace. We did Sternberg first and loved it. Coats and backpacks must be left in the cloakroom. You can take photos and we did. We finished with excellent coffee and cake in their good value cafe. We then went over the road to the Shwarzenberg. The building is amazing inside and out - but the collection not quite so interesting. I wanted to see Czech Art from about 1800 to 1940 but could not find it. We suspected that the new massive gallery of modern art which is miles out if town is all too modern for my taste and we were too tired to go all that way
.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great European art museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed the top floor of the exhibit on European art. It was a little difficult to locate the entrance because it is through a passageway from the building next to the main gate to enter Prague castle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nemo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice paintings, distracting guards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice collection of painting from different periods. It was very quiet while we visited the museum, but there were a lot of guards walking around. One of them followed us through each room, not standing still for more then one second, which was very uncomfortable and distracting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sternberg Palace also viewed

 

Been to Sternberg Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing