We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scared of heights but well worth it!”

Petrin Tower (Rozhledna)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.49*
and up
Prague Full-Day City Walking Tour and Petrin Tower
Ranked #45 of 951 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lookout tower was built for the General Land Centennial Exhibition in 1891 by the initiative of the founders of Czech Tourist Club: Dr. Vilem Kurz and architect Vratislav Pasovsky. Having been inspired by the Paris lookout tower designed by engineer Eiffel, Petrin Hill which is 318 m high was chosen for the structure. The construction began on March 16, 1891, according to the initial design of architect Vratislav Pasovsky further elaborated by engineers Frantisek Prasil and Julius Soucek from Czech and Moravia Machine Works (Ceskomoravska strojirna). The opening ceremony took place on August 20 of the same year. The foundations were laid 11 meters underground to hold the 63.5-metre tall steel construction that weighed 175 tons. An octagonal tube is the core of the structure with the lift surrounded by two spiral staircases with 299 stairs - one for each direction. The entire structure includes bracing elements in the shape of Saint Andrew's crosses. The tower has two lookout landings; the upper one is 55 metres high. The ground floor and basement are situated in a neo-Renaissance building. At the beginning of July 1938, the top of the tower was damaged by fire, probably caused by a short circuit in the lift cage. The observation tower was a TV transmission tower between 1953 and 1992. Today, it is only used as a lookout tower.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Scared of heights but well worth it!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I suffer from labyrinthitis and am scared of heights but I had to climb the tower to experience the amazing views. I would stringly suggest that, if like me, you are at all nervous of heights that you take the lift to the first level. The journey up the stairs got quite scary because people were coming down the wrong way and pushed passed. The top level is enclosed but the movement of the tower can be quite unnerving if you suffer from any form of travel sickness.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank eveteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,112
    811
    293
    50
    19
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Prague view after 299 stairs!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Walked to the Petrin Tower after visiting Prague Castles. Long walk but well worth it in the end. Cheap entry fee, great hike up the tower! Lots of steps but there are seats every so often for people like me who get tired after like 20 steps! Once you're at the top, you'll be greeted by stunning views. But one thing that was freaking me out was that the tower was moving slightly, quite wobbly!! Walked back down the stairs to find the ice cream bar - perfect after an intense workout up and down those stairs! Worth a visit if you're in Prague!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank yourpandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view from the top”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For a great view of the city and the surrounding area, a visit to the Petrin Tower is most excellent. The Funicular train that goes the hill to the tower is part of public transit, so if you purchase a daily pass the ride is free. There are no sales people so make sure you bring coins to but your train ticket. The Tower is a little costly but worth the price. You can walk the stairs or take the elevator. Many things to do in the area

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bretzacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Prague view”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Petrin Tower is located at the top of the Petrin hill. You can walk to this atraction by walk or you can go by cableway (the ticket costs 25 CZK). The tower itself has no elevator so you have to go by walk. Once you are on top you have a beautiful view. I like this place and recommend. The entrance is aproximatly 100 CZK.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Stunning views of Prague and well worth the effort.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of many highlights during my trip to Prague!
I definitely recommend a visit here but after you've had a chance to look around and get your bearings of the area. It was so rewarding to be able to recognise the sights that you can see from this tower.
There are two methods of going up the tower. Steps or the lift. The lift is quite small and obviously costs more than climbing the steps of which there are many.
There is a level half way up offering some pretty good views. However, if you have a head for heights, the reward for continuing is simply staggering. For one, you can see much more of the river Vlatava as well as making out sport stadiums and the more residential areas of Prague. Be warned that the top is high and when I went, very busy and the tower does move... yes move and sway with the wind. Quite an unsettling experience.
I went for the steps. Something I didn't realise until at the top is there are two staircases with one way traffic on each. This has obvious benefits.
If I ever return to Prague, I will put this on my list of things to do.
Well worth the effort!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petrin Tower (Rozhledna) also viewed

 

Been to Petrin Tower (Rozhledna)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing