We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel for fair price in a good location - just don't expect luxury or a peaceful night sleep!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Tri Bubnu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Ranked #336 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Average hotel for fair price in a good location - just don't expect luxury or a peaceful night sleep!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good points - location, price, breakfast
Bad points - basic room, bathroom, staff unfriendly, noise disturbance.

This hotel was in a great location for what we wanted, right behind old town square. We were able to walk to all the sites we wanted to. A 1 min walk into old town square, a 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge.

The price was great (we paid £193 for 3 nights for 3 people sharing 1 room), but I think this was reflected in the quality of the hotel. Everything that we needed was there, but guess it was all quite basic. I felt the room we were given did not quite reflect what I was expecting from the photos and hotel website, but I think there is quite a mixture of rooms inside - some which have been renovated, and others (like ours) which are still very basic so it may depend which room you end up with. The room just could have done with a few nice finishing touches - things like plants, or pictures on the walls, just some very basic additional touches would have helped to made it feel a little more luxurious.

The bathroom was tiny - and very unlike the photos of some of the new rooms. The bath was half the size of a normal one, with a low shower and no shower screen or curtain which ended up soaking the entire bathroom - not ideal when several of you are sharing.

The main issue with this hotel is noise. You can hear everything through the hotel doors, and we were woken up on 2 out of 3 of our nights by other residents coming in late or cleaners early in the morning. I believe there is an attic room at the top which sleeps several which is probably often let out to groups - if they come back late they have to walk past every other room in the hotel up the stairs to get there and will therefore most probably cause disturbance.

Breakfast consists of a simple but pleasant buffet. Cereal, breads, hot dogs, pastries, yoghurts, cheese and cold meats, and some fruit is available in a small dining room.

Staff are not very friendly - a smile wouldn't have taken much!

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere cheap and in a good location, but aren't overly fussed about spending much time in your room or it being basic. I visited with 2 other friends and it suited us fine, but a slightly nicer room would have been good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    169
    68
    24
    21
See reviews for
93
133
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights recently and have compared the pros and coins and don't think it was the greatest hotel.
It was definitely in a good location, walking distance to everything.
The rooms had DVD players, and reception gadgets a DVD library that guests can use for free.
There was WiFi, one computer at reception or laptops that could be taken to rooms, as WiFi didn't work on all levels of the hotel.
Rooms and bathroom were large.
But on the down side,
Our room smelt bad, and it had one of those automatic air fresheners to combat the smell, which was equally unpleasant. Our room didn't have a window to get fresh air either.
We had requested a double room, but had two single beds, an d nit the sort that can be pushed together (bed frames were separate)
There are 3 levels up very steep narrow stairs, with low roof spots, and we aren't even tall and we still had to duck.
We were in their second building and had one key for the building and one key for the room. the room doors also had to be locked manually from the outside, which meant if someone wants to stay in the room, the other person has to take the key to get back in the building, but then they can't leave the room, because they would need to have been locked in, or wouldnt be able to lock the door behind them.
You hear so much movement noise in the hotel, the floors creak if someone in a room above takes one step. Noise from the stairs was also bad.
We had a shower over a bath, but no curtain or screen, so had to be really careful not to get water everywhere.
Breakfast was pretty average, the bare minimum and bad coffee.
Staff weren't as friendly as they could have been, one women in particular who seemed to always be there.
I probably would have given 2.5 stars, but based on my personal experience, it's the lower rating.
I'd look for a different hotel if I return to Prague.

Helpful?
Thank OliviaB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel room in the centre of the old town that has some character and historical features than this is the one for you. The room we stayed in was positively massive with a large double bed and all the usual appointments. It's key distinguishing feature was the patterned ceiling beams which looked like original features. The bathroom is large and modern. The included breakfast is simple but adequate with a good selection of beverages. Location is definitely a plus being right next to the main square and the astrological clock.

The only drawbacks are that in the room we were staying you would occasionally get the smell of cigarettes or food drifting up to the room from the restaurant below.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent! It is just a 3 minute walk from the city center and about 10 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge and other main attractions. It can't be beat on location. With three people total in our party we stayed in the apartment/attic room and it was quite charming and overall very clean. The beds were not particularly comfortable as the 3rd bed (a single) was essentially just a cot. However, after a long day of travel and walking we were able to tolerate the beds no problem. The breakfast is included and although not amazing, was decent for the price. The hotel staff were not overly friendly, but were generally helpful and assisted us as needed and provided some tips as well. The only other challenge we had was that all doors/walls into and in the bathroom are transparent, which meant that since we were co-ed friends traveling we had to coordinate shower and bathroom schedules a bit. Not ideal, but doable. All in all a good experience and I would definitely stay there again if price remained competitive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

My daughters and I spent a week in Prague this summer. We stayed at a hotel outside town but needed a central location for the week end. We booked the U tri bubnu on line and paid the full fee. What can I say? Location is great. Pictures on line are nice. The stay was a disaster. The check in clerk was neither nice or helpful. The room was filthy. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. The shower did not function properly.
We did not have an internet connection in the room. Mainly… there is no isolation from sounds within the room. We could hear the next door neighbors and there was traffic in the stairs all night. Downstairs there is a pub. Drunk people fought till early hours of the morning and ended up fighting with glass bottles. In the morning, we were exhausted and kids were scared to stay. We packed up and left. A very poor experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I loved its prime location, a block from the historic Old Town Square. The hotel is located in a building erected in 1407, traditionally called "The Green Frog" and right next to the place where Frank Kafka was born. We would go to the plaza even at midnight and always had a strong sense of security. The bathroom is modern, the bed comfortable, and the heating system in perfect working condition!

The creaky floor in our room, more than a point of dislike, was a gentle reminder that we were staying in a 700-year old place... I certainly would stay there again.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZulayDominguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We traveled to Prague for my husbands 60th birthday, I told them in advance it was for a birthday treat and we were upgraded to a superior newly refurbished room. It was lovely and spacious in fact I think we were the first to use it.
The staff were very helpful . Breakfast was continental with a choice of breads, cheese, meats, yogurt and fruit and endless tea and coffee.
The Babnu is literally yards from the old Town Square and within walking distance of all the main attractions.
Had a fantastic time would recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: Room 20 was excellent. The new part (14th century) has bigger rooms . The old part has very steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#282 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#213 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#307 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Tri Bubnu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Tri Bubnu

Property: Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Address: U radnice 13/8-10 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel U Tri Bubnu 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house of the hotel was built in the 15th century. It consists of two adjoining buildings. The complete renovation to a small comfortable hotel was finished in May 2002 (the left building) and in April 2003 (the right building). The house is located in the historical centre of Prague in the street U Radnice, only 100 metres from the Old Town Square, opposite to the house where once lived the writer Franz Kafka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel U Tri Bubnu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House At The 3 Drums Hotel (u Tri Bubnu)
Hotel Reseidence u Tri Bubnu
Reseidence u Tri Bubnu Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing