We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photo Club Trip to Prague”
Review of Hotel Roma Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roma Prague
Ranked #146 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Photo Club Trip to Prague”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I was faced with the daunting task of finding a hotel in Prague for 31 people! From the first communication, the My Prague Hotels team were excellent. Every little query they dealt with by return of email.
When we arrived I was amazed how efficiently such a large group was dealt with. The Hotel Roma is in an ideal spot. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and very quiet for a central location. Nearby there are three or four good restaurants.
We all had a great time, even though it rained on some of the days. Now we have to see if our photographs give a good impression of such a beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWdswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for your stay in our hotel and for a such nice review.
It is my pleasure to read that all members of your group had wonderfull stay with us.

We hope, that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

With Best Regards
Markéta Fialová
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    845
    169
    49
    26
See reviews for
341
958
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The location of this hotel is good and the breakfast is okay but nothing like the other breakfasts we experienced in Budapest, Warsaw, Krakow or Lake Bled. But, we don't go on vacation to eat breakfast so that did not upset us. After we had checked in, staff informed us we would have intermittent or interrupted water service between 8am and 6pm the next day and therefore breakfast would be earlier than normal. Additionally, we were charged a 3% fee for USD. We requested to be charged in Czech currency to avoid the fee but were still overcharged. Upon entering our rooms, the safe in one room did not work and the lock in another room was not working properly. Calls to the front desk said the situation would be taken care of in the morning as would the overcharges. Since coffee service was cut off early (due to no water) and we absolutely could not flush the toilet after 8am, we asked for a small discount for this inconvenience. In the morning, the safe was fixed. However, the morning staff told us that we would have to wait until later in the day for their boss to take care of the overcharges and they could not fix the lock. Later that day, the "boss" ran the credit for the entire amount we were initially charged and then for the corrected amount (but only reversing the 3% fee). However, upon checking our credit card statements (three of them) none of the credits went through and one in our party was charged twice. Upon returning after 6pm, the water in the bidet (cleaning staff?) had been left on and overflowed so that our bathroom floor was flooded. A call down to the front desk only produced a new set of towels to clean the floor and we were left on our own to clean up the mess. Truly cannot recommend staying here - too many hassles while on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaas48134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Mr. Andrusiak,
thank you for your stay in our hotel Roma and you comment on Tripadvisor.com, we very appreciate it.
I deeply checked all your comments and please let me clarify all the points below:

1) There was interruption of water supply by the provider (Prague 1 not the hotel) for maintenance reasons in Prague 1 between 8.45 am-14.30 pm, all operations was under control and was provided standard service to all our guest
2) We are offering to our clients benefit of dynamic currency conversion by credit card payments, clients can choose if the payment will be done in CZK or their currency, the 3% fee you mentioned is already included in the final amount as we tried to explain you and the amount is final. It is only the client's decision whether to choose the amount of CZK or in another currency.
We anyway next day on your request immediately refunded amount in USD to your account and charged the amount in CZK
3) the safe in the room was not broken and my colleague from reception was personaly with you in the room to show you, how the safe work
4) We have housekeeping service in our hotel till 7 PM every day

We are very sorry for all inkonveniences caused. I truly regret that you were disappointed at your experience but you never reported to me any other complaint, only the safe and payment in USD currency, which was solved immediately. I was at the hotel every day between 8.30 am and 5.30 pm and we met many times and spoked to each other. We are always ready solve all on the spot and do our best for all our clients.

We wish you all the best.
With Regards
Markéta Fialová
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First of all, we were supposed to be at Hotel Galileo. There was a mistake in our reservation at Galileo but before we got to the Galileo, they had already fixed the problem and gave us an even better hotel. One of their four hotels which is this one, Roma. Galileo even paid for our Cab. The Roma had a pretty good sized room. Even though it was only my brother and I, we had 3 beds. The food was decent in the morning. Nothing special, except for the nutella packs. (I took like 20 back to the room to take home haha) The location is not that bad either. It is in front of Petrin Hill, which is an awesome view btw, and is not far from Charles Bridge. It is just a teeny bit of a walk but you won't be near the bunches of tourists. And there is a small convenient store at the corner. The bed wasn't too bad, the staff was nice and the hotel was clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Traveler
we would like to thank you for your visit at our hotel. Also many thanks for sharing all your experiences . We very appreciate it. We look forvard to your next visit.
With best wishes
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is situated opposite entrance to Petrin Hill's funicular railway (for beautiful views across Prague). Comfortable and welcoming. Only serve breakfast but many bars and restaurants within very shot walking distance that are a lot cheaper as off the tourist trail. Trams run from outside hotel for very cheap and quick travel to centre of Prague. Have now used this hotel twice and would have no doubts about booking again and recommending to others. Very lucky find.

Room Tip: Advise asking for quiet room as these are at back of hotel and would not be disturbed by trams (alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris503869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice comment. I am happy that you met a good service by our friendly staff and found the location excellent.. I am gladly looking forward to your next visit in hotel Roma.

Warm Regards from Prague
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this hotel mainly because of it's central location and we were not disappointed. We spent 5 nights here. We walked everywhere, though you are also right by the tram line. The staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants and local sights. Our room was large and quiet, even though you were in the city. The breakfast buffet had freshly baked rolls and pastries, which changed daily. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Traveler,
thank you for placing your review. I am happy to see that you were satisfied throughout your stay in our hotel. It makes me feel proud to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly which added to your comfort . Looking forward to welcome you again in our beautiful city.

Warm Regards from Prague.
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband & I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Roma in April, and had a very enjoyable break. Our room was in the attic and was huge, with a double and a single bed, and an adjoining dressing room. Breakfast was good, plenty of meats, cheeses, pastries, bread etc. Try and get a table in the conservatory area, as the tables are quite close together in the dining room and it can feel cramped. The bar is very good, there is a happy hour each evening, although the bar prices are very reasonable (£3.00 for a glass of prosecco outside happy hour, it would be double that in the UK). All staff members were very friendly, and spoke perfect English.

The hotel is in a perfect spot, and we walked everywhere during our 3 day stay. We spent nearly a full day at the castle on top of the hill as there are lots of different buildings to visit there. We also went to the old Town Square and saw the famous clock, Wenceslas square and the Jewish cemetery. The cemetery is very atmospheric, but you do feel that you have to keep moving as there is a long procession of visitors and very limited space to walk. No comparison to the cemetery of Montmartre in Paris, where you can spend hours just wandering amongst the headstones, but I digress..

Prague is a beautiful city, and it is very cheap!!! We were having a 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine for about £30.00 all in. Drink is very reasonably priced, and there is a lovely traditional bar right next to the hotel, with friendly staff and refreshing beer! We found some lovely restaurants during our stay, as you leave the hotel turn right and there is a fantastic Mexican restaurant that I would highly recommend. Keep going right, there's a couple of Czech bar/restaurants set back from the road on the left hand side, we ate at the far right one and it was very good. A bit further up there are some arches, again we ate in a Czech restaurant and the food was lovely.

The most expensive food was in the old Town Square but that's to be expected. The good thing about the location of the Hotel Roma is it's not so touristy, so you can eat and drink very reasonably.

One tip re: taxis - the yellow cabs (think they're AAA) are regulated so can't rip you off. If you hire one of their cabs at the airport, you will be given a discount voucher for your return journey (I think it was 50% off, but can't remember exactly). The hotel kindly phoned and booked one for our return trip to the airport.

In summary, I would highly recommend the Hotel Roma, and would also recommend Prague as a perfect destination for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Traveler,
thank you for placing your review. I am happy to see that you were satisfied throughout your stay in our hotel and enjoyed happy hours in our lobby bar.

We do hope, that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Wish you all the best.
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Fantastic location, not too close to the busy city centre but close enough to walk to all the main attractions! Big clean rooms, we paid for a double standard and staid in a room that looked more like an apartment to me! Not much of a view, but I don't normally spend my holiday in the room admiring the city from the window! ;-) Staff was polite and helpful, however, smiling hasn't killed anyone so far! Breakfast was great, excellent coffee, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma Prague, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for staying with us and writing your comment. I am happy that you met a good service by our polite staff and found the location excellent.. I am gladly looking forward to your next visit in hotel Roma.

Warm regards from beautiful Prague.

Markéta Fialová
RoomDivision Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#178 of 649 in Prague
1,299 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#111 of 649 in Prague
962 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#214 of 649 in Prague
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Praga 1
Hotel Praga 1
#244 of 649 in Prague
577 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#212 of 649 in Prague
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Prague

Property: Hotel Roma Prague
Address: Ujezd 425/24 | Mala Strana, Praha 1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Prague
#123 Business Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#124 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel RomaThe 4 star Hotel ROMA is situated in the very historical centre of Prague in Mala Strana (Lesser Town). The hotel has benefited from a demanding reconstruction. It is ready to comply with all comfort requirements, providing you with an unforgettable atmosphere when visiting Prague.The hotel is situated right under one of Prague's dominant points - under the famous Petrin look-out tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing