We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Roma
Nearby Hotels
Palac U Kocku(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$372
US$327
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$557
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$399
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
US$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savic Hotel(Prague)
US$359
US$312
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$337
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,952)
Filter reviews
1,952 results
Traveller rating
792
891
187
51
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
891
187
51
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetrin hilltram stopcharles bridgeold townmala stranalesser townshort walkwithin walking distancethin wallsexcellent locationprague castlelovely hotelbeautiful citykampa islandtea bagsshower headclose to the hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,952 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This was our first visit to Prague and we were celebrating a Birthday. On arrival quite late in the evening, we took a taxi from a group recommended in a previous review. It was snowing and we were happy to pay the 600 Crowns for the trip. The service at the Roma on arrival was excellent . We had a massive room on the second floor. It was clean and well decorated. We could hardly believe our luck. The bed was firm and comfortable and although the room overlooked the main street, it was quiet at night. The breakfast always had a very good selection for most tastes. A big positive was the bar. We like to read there in the evening and the lighting (and bar service) was excellent.

The restaurants nearby the Carmelita and the Cantina were as good as reviews said.

The Roma is in a great position. On the main tram route and nestling beneath the Petrin Hills. It was very cold but the city does snow clearance really well so roads and pavements were always safe. It is so close to the Legi Bridge one way and the Charles Bridge the other, that it was very easy to get to the old town and Wenceslas Square. We took in the main Castle on the hills behind the hotel. There is a great view from on top.. The National Art Gallery was beyond the castle but well worth a visit. The churches were also vey nice. We attended a 12 noon Mass in English in the church nearest the Roma towards Charles Bridge on the Sunday. The Jewish museum is also a must.


The only negative was the lack of variety in the beer! Pilsner Urquell was the only draft available everywhere even though Budvar and Budweiser were supposed to be on the menu. We also felt sorry for the small shark in the Aquarium in the lobby. A beautiful fish but must get so bored going up and down the tank all day every day!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186338TimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs.,
Thank you very much for your stay and review on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate it very much. We are glad you enjoyed the good location of the hotel. We hope that in future you use our services again. We are looking forward to your next visit in Prague.
Best Regards,
Raissa Gbaguidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Hotel Roma is in a really fantastic location- sufficiently far enough away from the more touristy area but with plenty of much more reasonably priced restaurants and bars around the immediate area. We stayed there for two nights on a weekend earlier this month (Jan 2011) and on the whole enjoyed our stay. The first night we ate in the main square of this beautiful city and had a typical Czech meal of beef goulash, complete with strong beef/garlic gravy, a spiced sausage, two enormous BACON dumplings, and garnished with two big green chilis! The second evening we ate closer to home at the very popular Mexican restaurant 100 yds away from the hotel. This was very full of locals and tourists alike, very good value and very tasty. I cannot remember the name of this establisment, but its in the direction of Charles bridge from the hotel and on the right.

On the plus side the bedrooms of the Roma (and comunal areas) are clean, a good size, and with bizarrely a mini-shark in a tank in the lobby in reception! On the negative side, the welcome could have been a little more "welcoming", with the night duty receptionist (we came in shortly after 10pm) weirily looking up from his computer game (Sims?) when we walked in and sounding somewhat bored with life as he gave us our key etc. No smiles or saying anything to make us feel that we had made the right choice in hotel in Prague! Not a great start, especially when we went up to the room to find that our double bed we had stipulated as a requirement was two singles pushed together (from reading other reviews it would seem that this is quite common and other guests have been disappointed with this). Annoying, but not the end of the world.

Breakfast was OK, but only just. I admit that we did leave it till 0930 both mornings (breakfast was 0700-1000) and the self service arrangement consisting of the usual fare looked somewhat tired and depleted in stock. My fiancee found that the toast was OK, although something that looked like marmalade on the lid of the small pot was in fact a meat paste! The meal was however saved by arguably the best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted! The other hot container was filled with either rather dodgy looking small sausages or mixed veg- not my idea of fun, but obviously to someones taste.

I would recommend this hotel, but don't expect the same 4 star standard you would get in the UK.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-the-Stokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2011

Dear Mr./Mrs,
I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Roma and also for sharing your experiencies on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the behavior of our night receptionist and we will investigate to make sure that such a recurrence of this situation.
Our hot and cold buffet breakfast offers variety of sweet and salty food, there is plenty of choices. We try to satisfy all tastes of our guests, but of course it does not always succeed.
We are glad you enjoyed the good location of the hotel. We hope that in future you use our services again. We are looking forward to your next visit.
With Best Regards,
Raissa Gbaguidi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We have recently returned from a midweek break to Prague and we found the Roma Hotel to be exceptional value for money. Having read previous reviews we decided to book a superior room and were delighted when we checked in to find we had been given a suite with a separate sitting area and large bathroom. Our bedroom was tastefully furnished and had three large windows overlooking Petrin Hill. Apart from the occasional tram stopping outside, our room was blissfully quiet. The buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate for our needs and was constantly being replenished. Situated across the Charles Bridge in the Lesser town the hotel is ideally placed for those who prefer a quieter place to stay but is in easy walking distance to the castle and St. Wenceslas' Cathedral and the Charles Bridge into the Old Town.
We can recommend La Bastille the restaurant next door to the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Roma and will definitely return again (but only if we can have Room 103 again!)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazzykYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRomaPrague, Front Office Manager at Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dears,
thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and also your comment on Tripadvisor. We very appreciate it. I am happy that you enjoyed the perfect location and all our services.
I hope we will have a chance to serve you again and of course we will reserve room 103 for you!! We wish you all the best.
With Best Regards,
Elisa Brera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We stayed at this hotel from 22nd December to 27th and it was fantasticand the staff were very pleasant. Breakfast consisted of Yoghurts, Danish Pastries, Cake, Toast and jams, cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages and sweetcorn!!!!! and there were some cold meats too. It is in Mala Strana opposite Petrin Park. Wehad a huge bedroom with a double bed (I have seen a lot of reviews where they only had singles pushed together). We were on the third floor and it was very quiet. There was a free safety deposit box and a kettle and two mugs with 2 teabags which you had to pay for. We just went to Tesco round the corner and got some sachets of coffee. There was also a mini bar which we didn't use as drinks in reception were not too expensive (approximately £9 for a bottle of wine).

There was also free internet access in reception with two computers.

There are a good selection of restaurants very close to the hotel. We went to La Bastille on our first night which adjoins the hotel on the left as you look at the hotel from the front. We had a fantastic meal in Artisan which is over the road and to the left of the hotel. It is a little tucked away but well worth finding. We had lunch at Cafe Savoy which is also round the corner from the hotel and on our final evening we went to Olympia Restaurant which we booked the day before as it gets very busy.

There is a tram stop directly in front of the hotel but everything is within walking distance. It takes about 20 minutes to get to Old Town Square and about the same to get up to the castle area. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRomaPrague, Front Office Manager at Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and also your comment on Tripadvisor. We very appreciate it. Your comment is very inspiring for us. I am happy that you enjoyed the perfect location and friendly staff, our breakfast and all our services.
I hope we will have a chance to serve you again and till this time we wish you all the best.
With Best Regards,
Elisa Brera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed as a group of 7 visiting the Christmas markets from 10-12 December 2010. Hotel Roma is a lovely hotel in an ideal location; away from all the hustle and bustle but only a 10 minute walk to the main tourist areas. We couldn't really fault anything about the hotel; the rooms were very clean and comfy, the buffet breakfast was more than sufficient and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The bars and restaurants near to the hotel were very good value for money with a main course, side order and drinks costing around £7.50 per person. Food and drink around the main tourist areas (Old Town and Wenceslas Squares) was quite expensive but as with all major cities, if you venture down the side streets you can usually find decent food at a reasonable price. The Christmas markets aren't as vast as those found in Germany but the pictureque settings and snowcapped rooftoops more than made up for this. Prague is a very beautiful city and somewhere we would like to visit again. We look forward to returning to the Hotel Roma very soon and will be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huggy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRomaPrague, Front Office Manager at Hotel Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,
thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and also your comment on Tripadvisor. We very appreciate it.
We are very happy that you enjoyed everything about our hotel and city.
We suggest you to visit us in summer as well, so we hope we will have a chance to serve you again and till this time we wish you all the best.
With Best Regards,
Elisa Brera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews