We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beetle(s)”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Beetle

B&B Beetle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Beetle
Ranked #230 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beetle(s)”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

As regular traveller, I like to read up on the hotel reviews and get a picture of what I am likely to get for my money. For Pension Beetle, the positives seemed to be location, cleanliness, and the size of the rooms. The negatives were the simplicity, mainly in the interiors and the breakfast. We decided we could live with the "negatives" and that this was to become the base of our 1 week holiday in Prague with our 3yr old daughter.

When we entered the room, it confirmed all that I had read. Very plain & large. The room was not used for a while, and we opened the windows. Quite a few dead flies had accumulated there. Following our afternoon nap, we found a small bug on our pillow, and investigated. There were some more, and the hygiene sheet was...well, not very hygienic. We went to reception, and they offered us a room on the ground floor. The standard was altogether different. Nice shower, well furnished etc. Unfortunately the room was not available, and we had to stay one night in the 3rd floor room.


This was simply the worst night ever. The first couple of hours of sleeping were ok, then bugs made in onto us. When we squased them, they were bloody. We must have killed 20-30, as they kept on crawling out of the woodwork of the bed. Following a night of very little sleep trying to protect our daughter from the bloodsuckers we actually went down to decline the offer of moving to a better room. We just wanted to forget about "Beetle(s)" altogether.

We booked ourselves into a hotel which was just great. Opened just a few months ago, own grounds, free swiming pool, sauna, fantastic rooms, etc. (castle residence hotel) It did cost 25€ a night more, but the difference was like night and day.

On the upside for the management of Pension Beetle:

-They understood our complaints fully
-We were offered another, much better room
-They suggested themselves that maybe they should get a professional in
-We didn't pay for our 1 night stay

I hope that following our negative experience, the room(s) have been fully fumigated, and that it can continue being the little, simple Pension it intends to be.

The restaurant next door zelena-zahrada.eu‎ is very nice, with a lovely garden, all within range of a baby monitor if you like to go for a drink in the evening.

For future holidays, we will consider shortening our stay, and increase our spending on the hotel.

Many thanks to "Castle Residence Hotel" staff for turning our holiday in Prague into a very positive and enjoyable experience. 14.09.2011


PS: I'll spare you the pictures

Room Tip: Stay clear of apartment 8 which is very basic, and is where we had our bad experience. Apartment 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casper v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed the feeling that we had our own little apartment in Prague with having a key to the front door. The room was light and airy with big windows over-looking the street, a massive bed and nice firm mattress, table and chairs and enough space for me to do yoga in the mornings. The furnishings are homely and simple with beautiful old stripped timber. The breakfasts were 'help yourself' to a choice of cereals, fruit, breads, cheeses and meats, juices and teas in a nice light basement room. Plenty of hot water and cosy rooms at night. Only grouse was that the rooms weren't serviced so we had to ask for more toilet paper. Its a half-hour walk into the centre of Prague but there are trams and metro close by and plenty of 'non-touristy' shops to enjoy on your walk anyway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JClare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I have been to Pension Beetle 4 o 5 times already and it never disappoint me.
The rooms are tidy and clean, the breakfast is excellent and the atmosphere is very familiar.
The location is perfect, very quite street in Vinohrady, my favourite quarter of Prague and there is a good quality/price ratio.
I strongly reccomend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The are 2 good things about this pension: location - 10 min to walk to the metro and about 5 to a tram. The second thing is that it's surprisingly quiet there. There is a park with a wonderful view behind the building. I showed up @8:20 p.m. and was told to pay extra 200 krons for being late. Well, my plane was late. There is nobody on the reception after 8p.m. - you'll have your own key to the front door.

The rest is pretty average: the room, the breakfast, the service. Coffee is terrible.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed at this pension for 3 nights and loved it. Our room is big and had an adjoining room (didn't use) next door a large hallway and a great big bathroom. It was like a suite. Its about a 30 minute walk to Prague center, but there is a subway station about 10 min walk away. We always walked to the city center because there are so many restaurants, bars,shops and churches along the way. The area is safe, there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel. The breakfast was great. Lots of different cold cuts and breads to chose from. There is even a a little courtyard in back to sit or eat breakfast outside. I would most certainly stay here again and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bocajr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights for a total cost of 70 euros. Having come from a hostel in London the Pension was a welcomed oasis. The shower was what we liked to call "American sized" (large) with an equally large bed, nice vintage furniture, and quiet. The Pension is located 10 to 15 minutes by public transportation (easy) from the center of Prague. The breakfast wasn't amazing but not bad considering the price and I will say I didn't leave hungry. Would definitely stay here again based on the price, ease of access, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhickscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

A really nice place to stay with good sized rooms and good value. Good breakfasts - basically all you can eat,

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Nix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#13 of 662 in Prague
717 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#241 of 670 in Prague
252 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#121 of 670 in Prague
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#62 of 670 in Prague
1,879 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#19 of 662 in Prague
829 reviews
Hilton Prague Old Town
#132 of 670 in Prague
4,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Beetle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Beetle

Property: B&B Beetle
Address: Smilovskeho 10 | Vinohrady, Prague 2, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing