We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price/location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Garland Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Green Garland Pension
Ranked #21 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good price/location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked last minute but the staff was very accommodating. Room was large/spacious with a separate room for the bathroom and another for the shower. Clean room. Large comfortable double bed. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Great location, you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marqgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    81
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
131
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at the Green Garland for 4 nights in mid-May. The location is excellent - right in the heart of Old Town. Our room was very quiet with the windows closed at night. The hotel staff is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast is quite good with plenty of variety. There is no air conditioning - only a fan - so plan accordingly. I would definitely go back to the Green Garland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very decent pension, big room with a generous bathroom. There is a kitchen to use for tourists fully equipped with every thing you need. Breakfast is ok, but don’t expect too much. Location is more than perfect, very close to Charles Bridge and center on a street with one entry

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Very great place to stay :
- The location of this hotel is perfect : in the middle of the old town
- The building is charming and the rooms are clean and confortable. (space enough)
- The breakfeast is correct and the service is very nice.
The main problem of this hotel is the noise : The street is very noisy until 3 in the morning.
To conclude very nice place to stay if your room is not on the street side

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Three of us stayed five nights at The Green Garland and loved it. When we made our reservations, the Pension provided information about directions to the hotel and offered to send a taxi if requested. Instead, we took the tram from the train station to a stop that was a short walk to the pension.

At check-in, the staff person was pleasant and helpful with information about Prague. He also offered to carry our luggage to the room. Note: The Pension does not have an elevator and its bedrooms are on the second and third level of the building. The owner of the Pension and the cleaning staff also are quite pleasant.

We had a room at the top of the house with nice light from the windows and charming beams. The beds were comfortable and the heating in the room, which we could control, was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and contained the usual toiletries. We heard no disturbing noises at night or in the early morning.

The Pension has a sitting room on the second level with cold and hot drinks. It is not large, however,the pension only has five rooms. We met other guests there and received friends. So, it served our needs.

The breakfast was adequate: cereals, yogurt, fruit, cold cuts of meats and cheeses, breads, cake or cookies, and the usual morning drinks. The breakfast room is on the ground level floor; it is spacious and filled with light.

The location of the Pension is fantastic. It is at the end of a short street with no exit for automobiles... there is a walking alley at the end that goes through to another street. The Pension is about three blocks from the Charles Bridge and about four blocks from the Old Town Square. There are numerous restaurants in the area of the Pension.

If you are able to climb steps, I would highly recommend this Pension. I have stayed in two other hotels in Prague and I believe the value I received in this Pension for the cost charged exceeds the other places I have stayed in the old city. I will return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruppbenn_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celakovice
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed in Green Garland in April 2013. The location is just about 5 minutes from Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, just in middle of Old Town area. Pretty easy to get arround just by walking. This Pension is located in qiuet street in historical building. The service provided was great. Thank Martina and Alice for their help with arrangin our trips out of Prague, nothing seems to be a problem for them :-). The place was clean, room large, delicious breakfast, free WI-FI. We just love this place and will stay there on our next trip to Prague!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCelakovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Can't say enough nice things about this gem. Location was minutes from the Charles Bridge and Old Town Square. Pavel was extremely helpful with getting the train schedule for a day trip (Kunta Hara) and in everything else we needed. All service was fantastic. We had a large room with three double beds and old beams that ran across the middle of the room - just added some ambiance. Very clean with an adequate b-fast. Again, first class service and everything you come to expect from a small B&B.

Room Tip: Corner room, #6 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodbybronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#96 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#194 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Dolce Vita Suites
Dolce Vita Suites
#5 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Red Chair Hotel
Red Chair Hotel
#10 of 368 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Garland Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Garland Pension

Property: The Green Garland Pension
Address: Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Green Garland Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Green Garland Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) Hotel Prague
Bed And Breakfast u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing