We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Pizza Canzone

Pizza Canzone
Ranked #1,209 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Pizza
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We arrived late on a Sunday night and the meal we had here was very good, as was the draught beer. The service was friendly and efficient and the menu had a good range of Italian and local Czech dishes at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    75
    24
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
619 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Charged for ketchup!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were passing here at lunchtime and called in as I had been here a few years ago. The food was very average and the prices were not that cheap for the quality. I asked for some ketchup with my main and this came in a bottle, nothing unusual about that.
I was stunned to see that I had been charged for this on the bill as Extre Kecup - 20KC. I have never known any restaurant to charge for condiments. This is ridiculous!! I asked the waitress who said that they charge for everything and then she shrugged her shoulders and walked away. Great customer service! Found this kind of attitude and service in other Prague restaurants were the staff were moody. In the end she did not charge us for the ketchup.
Will not be returning to this restaurant.
Its a shame the restaurant manger cannot look at some of these reviews and make some changes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Maybe it depends on the time of day....”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This restaurant certainly seems to polarize reviews as excellent or terrible. I can only go by my own experience which was very good. We ate in the early evening after the mad throng of tourists had departed the castle area for the opposite bank of the river. On arrival we were the only 2 customers (although a few more did arrive whilst we were eating). The pizzas were large, hot and very good - having come straight from the wood-fired pizza over. The cost of my Napoletana pizza was CZK170 (about £5.10p) and was far superior to England's Pizza Express ones and half the cost. Someone has said in a review to beware the 10% charge which is automatically added to the bill. This was certainly not the case with us. I have the bill in front of me as I type (I'm claiming it back in expenses). It does not have any service charge added and even says in capital letters 'TIP IS NOT INCLUDED, THANK YOU'.
Maybe the place isn't so good at lunchtime when everywhere in the area is heaving with tourists.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grahambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service - less than average food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Oh dear. Our last night in Prague & we ended up in here. Their motto- "we know you are tourists & wont come back". Menu's virtually thrown at us,(as was the food). Not even offered a drink. Pizza was supermarket quality. The Risotto - well not sure what it was. It also came out at least 5 minutes before the pizza so was going cold by the time we both had our main course. Waitress totally uninterested. Very disapointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ollieollieollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stumbled upon this fabulous restaurant on our last day in Prague. Tried the 3 course lunch deal, very well priced. Both hubby and me had the beef soup with a chunk of bread to start, then I had the port with salad and roast potatoes, while hubby had a marguarita pizza, full size straight out of their pizza oven, and them I finished with honey and walnut cake, whilst hubby had chocolate mousse cake,we had half of carafe of prosecco and coffee's and the bill was round about £18. What a bargain, and what a find. The service was great and the restaurant itself was really welcoming and cosy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Canzone also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Canzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing