We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #117 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice short stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a short trip here in September. This was booked through jet2.com holidays on a half board basis for 3 days. Everything about the hotel was great, such as location, cleanliness etc. For us the only disappointment was the cooked breakfast and evening meal, while the food was of decent quality, it wasn’t warm enough. As my wife works in a hospital she was only too aware of what food can do to you if not kept at the correct temperature. The first day we thought it would have been a “one off” but sadly this was the same all three days, wish I had said something really. As I say, can’t fault anything else, and was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky_7623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    559
    94
    27
    16
See reviews for
200
711
40
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

After 2 weeks of business trekking around Europe I had a very pleasant holiday in Prague at this hotel. This hotel is away from the old town and castle district but served as a good base to take the trams or subway for sightseeing. Near the Andel stop, it was cheap and easy (with coins) to buy all day subway passes and ride the B metro line. There are 2 big grocery stores within walking distance to stock up on food as there are limited restaurants on the same block a the hotel.
The service was very friendly and help. The room was MUCH larger than I was accustomed to in Europe. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimicry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presov, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have stayed in Barcelo Praha Five for two nights during my bussiness trip in Prague.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and decently modern. It is not directly in the city center however public transport is just on your doorstop. restaurants, shops, pharmacy all is in walking distance.

Biggest surprise was the staff. Check in, check out, info about restaurants, shops, pubs etc. everything was perfect. Big thanks belongs to Marek, Robert, Adela and Martin. All of them were very nice polite ( not very common in Prague) and smiling all the time. If you are planning to stay here the staff will make your time here very pleasant.

I definitelly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a 3 night city break in October 2013. The hotel is modern, light and spacious; our room was big and had a large bathroom. Everywhere was spotless and staff were always helpful. We had an inclusive breakfast that pretty much catered for all tastes from fat-boy full English cooked to fresh fruit and juice and everything in between. Its a buffet and I had a different selection each day. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Andel metro and bus station so very easy to get to from the airport on Metro route B.
What I really liked about the hotel was the location. Its a 40 min walk or a 10 min metro ride to the main touristy areas but the hotel is very much in a "local" area. There are a whole range of bars, restaurants and shops right on your doorstep that are used by Czechs, not tourists, and thus, to my mind, are far more interesting. We ate out each night and seemed to be the only non-Czechs around. That's why we came here!
The Barcelo Praha 5 gets top marks from me. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a double room or you may end up with a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Although not located bang in the centre, it was only a couple of stops on the tram. It was a very nice, clean and well run hotel. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Nice decor and absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blademan1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a 3 night city break in October! It's a beautiful hotel with all the amenities we required at a low price. We are fans of using the public transport so the location for us was not a problem! We bought a 3 day travel pass at the airport and this suited us as we definitely got our monies worth! Prague isn't a city we would like to go back to but for a first time this hotel is excellent!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela_williams19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I've spent 4 nights with my husband in Superior Room (bed&breakfast).
Room was big enough for two of us and very clean.I can say that room was spotless and furniture was very bright and modern.We had all features that we needed (TV,air-con,a lot of pillows,kettler,instant coffee,tea,mini-bar...) All staff are really pleasent and very helpful.We had breakfast,which was nice continental buffet,warm and tasty.
Everything was perfect but I just had a small problem with distance between the hotel and nerby atractions,shopps and other things.For me was a bit far away comparing other nerby hotels in Praha Five.In the quiet area but the surrounding is not very pleasent because it's too dark,especially if you are coming back in late hours.I didn't feel very safe.I like to walk and not to use public transport so for me that was the one and only reason why I didn't like the location of the hotel.
I am going to come back here for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Dacha76
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#237 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#61 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#89 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Property: Occidental Praha Five
Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing