We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable hotel with a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #120 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very comfortable hotel with a great location!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Best hotel I've ever stayed at! Bed couldn't have been more comfortable. Room and hotel heating well (very grateful as it was -13 degrees C outside!). Sound proofed rooms. Extremely clean and room attendants were fantastic! 3 minute walk to nearest Metro station (Andel) and 5 minute walk to shopping centre and other amenities. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    559
    94
    27
    16
See reviews for
200
710
40
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend. The hotel is slightly out of town but the tram/metro station is less than five minutes away.
After reading reviews here, my wife asked for a room high up at the back with a double bed. When we arrived we had a room on the sixth floor at the back with a double bed. Excellent service.
The room was slightly warm for me as I prefer cooler rooms. We turned the heating down and that solved it.
The room had a bath with shower over. The water could have been slightly warmer but this seemed better on our last night (A Sunday)
Breakfast was plentiful and small changes were noticed every day, different fruit, different cake etc.
WiFi was free and we had no problems with it.
A very good hotel.

Room Tip: Like other reviews, ask for a high up room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ_Hore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
339 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is a good choice for a city break to Prague. It's situated a little out of the centre, but it's easily reached by metro or tram, and the tram in particular is all part of the Prague experience. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the area so if you want to stay close to the hotel you can - which we did on the first night just for ease.

The hotel itself is modern, and I imagine well used by Prague's business fraternity - which I mean as a compliment! The rooms are large and well appointed. Our room was a little warm, even when we turned the heating down as much as possible, but more of a problem for my husband than for me! My only quibble was that once or twice I felt the shower / bath water was not warm enough.

The service was professional and friendly, and little things like asking the desk to book a restaurant for us, or print something off we needed, was no problem for them.

We didn't eat in for dinner, but breakfast was fine. Exactly the type of European buffet breakfast you expect in a large hotel, but done well and it was nice to see them ringing the changes each morning with a few of the choices.

All in all we would recommend the Barcelo Praha Five, and would certainly use it again if ever back in Prague.

Room Tip: We requested a double room / back of hotel / high floor at the time of booking, and got it! So we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I've spent 3 nights with a friend and everything was perfect, we had twin-bed which is very appreciable when you aren't with your other half!
We had access to a fitness room.
Breakfast was really rich but "only" from 7 to 10... 11 would've been good when your come in Prague to enjoy nightlife!
The only negative point is the room temperature which was to high and that was impossible to get the room colder even putting the AC on max or leaving the window open (and yet we were in January...!!)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank discovertheworld777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is awesome. Susana and Robert at the front desk were extremely helpful. It was our base for Prague and getting to the city center was so easy since it is a 5 min. walk to the Andel Station. The breakfast was delicious and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ludmirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights over New Year's Eve. The hotel is clean and very comfortable and free wifi is included.The beds are great. We opted not to have the hotel's breakfast and instead ate at cafes (can highly recommend Cafe Savoy). The location is a bit away from the centre, but the hotel is just a few minutes from the metro and tram stop which will easily take you to all the popular sites. The tram system is surprisingly easy to take, runs frequently and takes you to many more places than just the metro. Free city maps are provided at reception.

The biggest thing that annoyed us about this hotel was the temperature - during winter it is completely overheated. The first night we slept with the heating off but still slept on top of our covers because it was so hot. On the second and third nights the only way we could fall asleep was to keep the window open, even though it was -4 C outside. It is a colossal waste of energy to be heating the building to such an extent that we had to open the windows in order to regulate the temperature.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberec, Liberecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was surprised by this nice hotel. Quite new, nice and clean rooms with gently design. Good breakfast. Location not so far from the center, you can use the public traffic (Subway B). I can highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaclav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#232 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#73 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#87 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Property: Occidental Praha Five
Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing