We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Praha Five

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #115 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is a five/ten minute walk from the metro and bus station and an easy commute into the centre of Prague. There are plenty of shops, bars, cafes nearby - all within walking distance. An ideal location for visiting the city. The hotel itself is very stylish, clean and modern and we were delighted with our rooms. Our view was of the back of other buildings but the view from our friends' window was much better. Not a problem or complaint though as we were out most of the time anyway. The room was modern, spacious and the bed was large and comfortable - just what was needed after a day of sightseeing! The bathroom was nice - very nice indeed and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water - just what was need after a day in the unexpected cold and wet! The slippers, fluffy towels and gowns provided were very welcome as was the umbrella! Only grumbles are that although it was cold out the room was very stuffy - even with the window open all night. The AC was on and turned to low but didn't seem to make much difference. Also there was the large bottle of water left on the desk which we assumed was complimentary but it turned out to be chargeable - we generally don't use anything from the minibar because it is usually overpriced, so felt a bit conned. Breakfast was excellent - great variety and regularly replenished. Coffee was nice with the breads and croissants freshly made. Staff were polite and helpful both in the dining room and at reception. The plus points definitely outweigh the small negatives so if we return to Prague we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykat178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    537
    89
    26
    15
See reviews for
188
688
39
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice and convenient hotel in Prague, close to the city centre and walking distance to the tram and metro station. Room was really nice and modern, liked it a lot. Toilet and shower are modern and everything was clean and well prepared for a nice stay. Will do it again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sguizzarelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was my first time in Prague and despite the unseasonal rain, I had a wonderful time. This hotel is clean, stylish, well appointed and in a quieter location - meaning away from the numerous stag tours! Only a short walk from Andel metro stop and the tram stops round the corner, transportation was excellent to all areas. Staff were welcoming, friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Would come back here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Miranda5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The service here was terrible. After waiting an hour for our bags, we finally went downstairs and brought them up ourselves., as did everyone else on out tour. We were given a handicap room and did not request one. Due to no space to put anything there, we requested to move. The waiters in the dining room were rude and could never muster a smile or kind response. They simply grabbed whatever dishes they could from your table, sometimes taking away plates that were not finished. The labels on the breakfast buffet never matched the dishes, but just got shuffled around daily. Our last day, we received the thinnest towels I have ever seen, not the standard Barcelo linens. They also never gave us a wake up call, as requested. No one cares here. They just act like they don't want to be there and could care less about the guests. This is nowhere near a four star hotel and not up to Barcelo service standards. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggyabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I loved this hotel. It wasnt expensive and i got great service, a very complete breakfast and a good room. My only complaint would be that the hot water in the shower takes a bit long to start, but other than that. It was a great stay. Ill be coming back for sure in the future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was very close to the Metro. Very clean and nice staff. I found the room quite hot. Breakfast was really good, Canadian syrup to boot with the best pancakes i'm ever had. Room was quiet. Tv only had news in English but that was ok too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rasmus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I booked this as a surprise break for my hubby and we loved every minute! The hotel is clean, tidy, well equipped for our requirements, the water in the hotel room is chargeable which we didn't use as we bought enough from the Tesco in the shopping centre about 5 min walk away. Although the hotel is a good 20 min walk from the main part of Prague e.g Charles Bridge, Old Town etc we didn't find it a problem and only used the subway once. Its worth buying a pocket guide with a map before you arrive as we found some fantastic places to eat in there! There are many hidden gems away from the main tourist areas, we found one place called uPinkasu, big old wooden door, you open it to see a curtain and behind the curtain was a fab pub/restaurant set over about 4 floors, it was like sitting in a Victorian dining room! Best Goulash ever! Prague is a great place and worth a visit! Hotel is great and we would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thehappycouple2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#235 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#70 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#61 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#97 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#67 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#188 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Property: Occidental Praha Five
Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Barcelo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing