We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasic value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #121 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantasic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Barcelo Praha Five late May. We booked our stay as part of a package with Easyjet Holidays as this worked out cheaper than booking the flight and hotel separate.

We chose the Barcelo as a result of previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Check in was speedy and very friendly, our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. We have to note that we had a room on a low floor, overlooking the back of the hotel and although some guests complained about noise we didn't find this an issue - yes some background music was playing but never too late, and also never too loud for our liking anyway.

As previous reviews state the hotel had really easy access to the Metro station which easily took you across various parts of the City (just make sure you have some change for the machines as the ticket shop opening times are ad-hoc). Would definitely recommend this hotel as a high quality, excellent value for money stay.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel not looking over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    552
    94
    27
    16
See reviews for
196
706
40
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel out of tourist area which is good for a peaceful stay and metro was only 5 minute walk away and very cheap. My only gripe is breakfast. On first day (Monday 9am) everything was topped up regularly and we didn't have to wait for anything. On second and third days (same time) we had to ask for the hot items to be replenished which meant a wait of between five and ten minutes. This was a shame because the breakfast, with everything available, was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the road, but noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janicejmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon LeZion
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived at midday, and the reception was very clustered and overwhelmed. It's only after couple of days we come to know that they were building a new reception. The stuff was friendly and helpful and we got our keys after some wait.
The standard rooms are a bit claustrophobic and poorly arranged, with only one night stand and the bed, so if I wanted to read before sleep or use the laptop, I had to put it on the floor.
Also the cleaning was below overage, used tea cups not replaced, and bath not cleaned.
The breakfast is standard and boring, but that I've got used to.
The location is great if you don't party till late, if you do it will be long way to come back via the bus (some hour or so) and expensive if by cab. The metro is close by, but the last train is at around midnight. Also there are lots of essential stores near by, like pharms and markets. It takes some 10-15 minutes to get to the center of Prague, so the location is OK.
All in all, very nice and helpful stuff, good location for those who don't do the nightlife.
Cons are the rooms and the cleanness of them, and a dull breakfast.

For the price they charge, it is not bad at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I travelled with a friend and stayed in a junior suite. The whole stay was very pleasant, the interior is done well, the room was spacious. I liked very much that though the breakfast time finishes at ten a.m. you could still get something to eat at 10.15. The food in the lobby was very tasty. The taxi to the airport arrived very fast. The surroundings are nice and the metro station Andel is close. We used a special offer "Happy days" with 30% off. Wonderful value for that money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in september 2013, very nice interior, modern style, cleaned and spacious rooms. It is located close to the subway/tram/bus station, few minutes to the centre of Prague. Very huge sellection of food for breakfast and delicious pancakes! :)

Room Tip: We had room with windows to the court so I can't judge how noisy is the traffic on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateřina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is a five/ten minute walk from the metro and bus station and an easy commute into the centre of Prague. There are plenty of shops, bars, cafes nearby - all within walking distance. An ideal location for visiting the city. The hotel itself is very stylish, clean and modern and we were delighted with our rooms. Our view was of the back of other buildings but the view from our friends' window was much better. Not a problem or complaint though as we were out most of the time anyway. The room was modern, spacious and the bed was large and comfortable - just what was needed after a day of sightseeing! The bathroom was nice - very nice indeed and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water - just what was need after a day in the unexpected cold and wet! The slippers, fluffy towels and gowns provided were very welcome as was the umbrella! Only grumbles are that although it was cold out the room was very stuffy - even with the window open all night. The AC was on and turned to low but didn't seem to make much difference. Also there was the large bottle of water left on the desk which we assumed was complimentary but it turned out to be chargeable - we generally don't use anything from the minibar because it is usually overpriced, so felt a bit conned. Breakfast was excellent - great variety and regularly replenished. Coffee was nice with the breads and croissants freshly made. Staff were polite and helpful both in the dining room and at reception. The plus points definitely outweigh the small negatives so if we return to Prague we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykat178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice and convenient hotel in Prague, close to the city centre and walking distance to the tram and metro station. Room was really nice and modern, liked it a lot. Toilet and shower are modern and everything was clean and well prepared for a nice stay. Will do it again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sguizzarelli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#234 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#63 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#186 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#73 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#97 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Property: Occidental Praha Five
Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing