We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel with super transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #113 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very easy to get to from the airport (No.100 bus then the metro to Andel) and into town for the day. Breakfast was a plenty and a good buffet served till ten then we had dinner included which was also very nice. The hotel is clean and smart, the staff all speak excellent English. An excellent place to stay for a good night sleep just outside the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were on tour with a group and this was among the best of the hotels in which we stayed. Its main drawback is that it is some distance from the center of Prague. However this is reflected in its pricing: in addition it is located only 300 yards or so from a Metro station which given the discounts available for 'senior' citizens made it a cheap and efficient option. We also made use of the taxi services which were relatively modestly priced - on this it is well worth haggling. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the food at breakfast and in the evening was varied and of good quality. On the whole we found the staff pleasant and helpful. When we arrived rather hot and tired we found the key that we had been given to our room did not work - however on request this was immediately replaced - indeed my wife and I were given a key each. We will certainly wish to return to Prague - which is a candidate for the most beautiful city I have ever visited - we would consider staying again at this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms seem much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seeker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Enjoyed the stay at Barceló Praha Five and would stay there again. Unlike the hotels in old town, Barceló Praha Five has large rooms -- uncommon for hotels in Europe in this price class. The large washroom is outfitted with a modern vanity, large bathtub with strong pressure showerhead, and attractive porcelain tiles. Lighting throughout the room is modern. A safe is included as is a bar fridge. The rooms are impeccably clean. Bedding is very clean.

The hotel is close to Anděl metro station, one of the busiest on line B of Prague's metro system. Anděl is two stops from the Můstek in central Prague (a transfer station to the A line).

The beds are comfortable and the hotel provides the option of queen beds instead of the ubiquitous (two) single bed rooms in Prague. Windows are large and open wide. The room had a view of a quiet inner courtyard. Air conditioning worked well and was thoroughly modern.

The optional breakfast at 12 Euro per person is worth it if someone is a big breakfast person (like me). Eggs and bacon are provided every day. Also included: large selection of breads, cheeses, cold meats, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh vegetables, milk, and juices.

Also uncommon and appreciated was a small hotel gym in the basement with two elliptical machines, one treadmill, a cable machine, and light weights. I did two days of cardio over the four nights at the hotel.

Front desk service is efficient, if not entirely friendly. I found the front desk staff to be formal and helpful but not overly warm.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Barceló Praha Five again. The hotel is not far from the old city on the Metro, the rooms are large, and the hotel is clean and modern.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice, clean hotel in good quite location, good for business or family stay in Prague. Good value for money. Expensive parking on the premisses 25 Euro/night., There is a cheaper open air parking close by and free parking on the street if you can fine a spot. Good communication to the city center, large shoping center and many restaurants close by.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were traveling with a tour group. Compared to other cities we visited the location of this hotel was not as good as I had hoped for. It is close to the Metro but I would have preferred something closer to the square. I did not like having to take the Metro all the time. Other than that the hotel is very clean, new, the buffet was ok. I had better in other cities. The staff is friendly. I would suggest staying closer to the Plaza. The bathroom did not have even one hook in order to hang up clothes. The counter space is virtually non existent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent location - close to metro station Andel - and a 20 minute walk from the Old Town Square. It is a very quiet neighborhood. Staff is very friendly and helpful, hotel is clean and quite fancy. Breakfast buffets are amazing. Excellent value for the money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank geosochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have tried as a business traveller already all hotels in the area of Praha 5 and this one is the best there. It belongs to an international hotel group, which is privatly owned and you see the different approach to the guests. The staff is taking care of you, is helpfull, smiling and trying to make your stay comfortable. During the summer even the terrace to the park is open,so you can enjoy your breakfast there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miroszlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#178 of 646 in Prague
500 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#151 of 646 in Prague
3,114 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#48 of 646 in Prague
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#96 of 646 in Prague
925 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#75 of 646 in Prague
2,455 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#138 of 646 in Prague
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £40 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing