We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Praha Five
Ranked #116 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Barcelo Praha Five hotel for a week and found it hard to find one bad thing about it. Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable (and had free wifi with a great connection!). The buffet breakfast had lots to choose from and the menu changed frequently. The hotel is right near the Andel metro stop which makes it really easy to get to the city centre (5 minutes). Lastly, the staff did everything they could do to make our stay at Barcelo Praha Five the best it could possibly be. I would highly recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled with a friend to Prague for the first time.
Great hotel and staff and not too far away from the city centre - a 10minute subway ride.
Easy enough to get from the Airport to the hotel by public transport (will save you a small fortune).
Pavel the receptionist could not do more than enough to help us with any questions or queries we had - an excellent, cheery guy!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Green D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place was excellent. It is a five minute walk from the subway, but far enough away from the city that everything is quiet. We got to the hotel right at check in, and were tired and a little hungover from the night before in Nurnberg. We were so happy with our accommodations. The room was amazing, especially for the price. The bathroom was super large and very clean. I would stay at this hotel again, and will continue to stay at this chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cutepixie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed for a week, we had a room on the 6 th floor over looking courtyard, and a mass of trees.This is a nice hotel, clean,value for money and local to all public transport even the airport combination of metro and bus 100 few minute walk and at the hotel, where a welcome drink is awaiting! We even checked in at 11 with no bother or fuss.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice, not so much choice for dinner, but we always found something to eat. Julius in the restaurant is brilliant. He will do anything to ensure that your evening goes as well as can be expected. On the reception desk Natalie can not do enough to make your stay as eventful as possible.
Prague was stunning and with the ease of the local transport tram 12 7 9 and 22 all taking you into the town it was so simple.
Really chuffed with our hotel booked via secret escapes amazing half board deal we had a super week thank you .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane22025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff was friendly, the breakfast buffet was nice and the hotel was in general very nice to stay at. Also, the location of the hotel is not very central but it is very close to the Metro/Bus/Tram station. It takes 30-45 min. to walk to the Charle's Bridge along the river, which is a nice walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights after finding a good deal on booking.com and reading the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We weren't disappointed! Hotel is brilliant- clean, rooms were a good size, beds extremely comfy, tasty breakfast, friendly staff.

I was initially worried the hotel was a little far from the city centre, in fact it is a five minute metro ride to the centre of the old town and it is possible to walk (approx 1hr of slow walking).

I will definitely use the Barcelo group again- hotel was great! However do remember it is a chain hotel - it doesn't have local charm/ character.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RVB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We returned to the barcelo after visiting a number of other hotels in Prague more recently (we are regulars to Prague).

What keeps us coming back is great, modern rooms, friendly staff, efficient air conditioning, and the best hotel breakfast Prague has to offer. We also love the location, being just far enough away from the main tourist area.

My only slight criticism this time is that housekeeping isn't up to scratch. I'm not sure if it's a hotel policy or sheer laziness but toiletries aren't replenished daily and other than making up the beds, I can't see what else they offer. On our third morning we asked for stocks to be replenished, and you'd have thought we'd have asked the maid to go to tesco and get it herself!!

We will be back, but improvement is needed in this area please.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JollyHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#173 of 646 in Prague
523 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#147 of 646 in Prague
3,138 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#50 of 646 in Prague
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#99 of 646 in Prague
934 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#73 of 646 in Prague
2,491 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#150 of 646 in Prague
5,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Praha Five

Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £42 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Occidental Praha Five is ideally located in the business area of Prague five district an extension of the city centre in the commercial Smichov quarter. Located 200 metres from the Andel metro station, Hotel Occidental Praha Five combines modern comfort and convenience with easy access to the historical centre of Prague and all major sightseeing attractions such as Old Town, Wenceslas Square, Lesser town or Prague Castle which makes it an ideal choice whether visiting Prague for business or leisure. You are within a walking distance from your meetings at offices of Google, L’Oreal, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson, Cyrrus and many others Smaller meetings can be organized directly at the hotel in one of our fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can choose from 134 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony, all equipped with air-conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV with international channels, heating, hair dryer, safe box and free Wi-Fi which will keep you in touch either with your business or family. Before heading out, guests can stop by the hotel's restaurant , open for buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Drinks and light meals are served in the bar, which opens to a summer terrace. Hotel guests can also take advantage of the complimentary fitness area with sauna and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing