We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Michal

Restaurant Michal
Ranked #426 of 5,365 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Czech, Central European, European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Restaurant Michal is situated in one of the oldest parts of historical Prague on the right bank of Vltava river in Naprstkova Street, only a few steps from the stone archways of Charles Bridge. Our restaurant offers an extraordinary experience in Prague. In the evening , we hold live folklore shows. Our menu features traditional Czech meals as well as international cuisine.
Long Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and ambiance!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We ate here on Thursday, May 8, as our farewell dinner for our group of 44. We were all tired from our 10 days of touring, but the meal and the service and the entertainment kept us all going with energy through the evening. The food was tasty and fresh, the service was efficient and pleasant, and the entertainment provided was enthusiastic. We could not have had a better evening and last dinner in Europe; we left on a very high point!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjtakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Restaurant Michal, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest pjtakk,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that your visit in Michal was a positive experience. We could not have received better feedback than that. I will have the pleasure to tell everybody in the restaurant of your kind words and I hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

With compliments,
Michal Kačírek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    55
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I went with my Contiki group and we had an excellent experience! The food was great but even more so was the entertainment! I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant and felt like I got to really experience traditional Czech food, music, and dance. A traditional Czech band played for most of the time we were there and a couple did some traditional dancing. At the end of our meal, some of our group even got to try it out for themselves!

Great time, highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Restaurant Michal, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Madamme,

Thank you very for much for your kind words and time to share your experience! We are so excited to receive another wonderful feedback from our guests in such a short time. It encourages us to do our best to make the show as authentic as possible.

I would like to take this opportunity to say that I am very proud of our chief cook and all staff that is working hard to make all visitors satisfied. We will be more than pleased if you will have the opportunity to visit us next time. Thank you again!

With compliments,
Michal Kačírek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will definitely visit again!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went to Michal Restaurant on our last night in Prague; if we stayed longer, we would have definitey visited it again!
A beautiful place, delicious food, a romantic ambiance, folkloric show and very nice hospitality. We had the privilidge to meet the owners Michal and Božena and their sweet family.

They were all very nice, very warm and very friendly.

We hope to see you again soon.
Aida
Morocco

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoMorocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Restaurant Michal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Aida,

Thank you so much for your kind words and time to share your experience! We are more than pleased to hear that you have spent nice time in the restaurant.

It has been truly very enjoyable moment for us as well. You were perfect guests and we are very glad that we had the opportunity to spend the time with you. Please visit us anytime you have a chance to come to Prague again!

Many greetings to Morocco!
Sincerely, Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment !”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a superb night. We were given a table right at the front, so we had a great view of the musicians and dancers. The starter included some beautiful tasting ham, and the soup was mouth-watering. The main course included a range of succulent meats (part of the set menu we chose), and we finished with a plate of desserts which were to die for! All this was accompanied by carafes of red and whit wines.
The musicians were brilliant, as were the dancers. For the money, even the meal would be a bargain, but with the entertainment on top it is a steal !
If you are in Prague this is a restaurant you mad to miss.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank porcelpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Restaurant Michal, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear porcelpot,
Wow, this is definitely a dream review!! Thank you so much for your kind support, we could not receive better recommendation than that. I would like to express my warmest regards to you and your friends. I hope that the rest of your visit in Prague was at least as entertaining as in our restaurant, and that you will find a time to visit us on your next trip to Prague. Sincerely, Michal Kačírek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I booked this for My Husbands Birthday with 6 of our friends, the set menu, 4 course traditional meat or fish 4 course meal was very good and there was a large jug of red and white wine on the table with water, all the men had large beers and as soon as they were empty, were filled up, service was excellent the dancers, musicians and singer were all in traditional costume and made the night a authentic evening, was 7 to 10 and cost 750 Czech koruna all n each, well worth it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal K, Manager at Restaurant Michal, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear jac33,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with our restaurant! It was our great pleasure to serve you, your husband and friends. We are very pleased that you have chosen our place for such a significant occasion and that you can recommend us to other visitors. Thank you again!
Michal Kačírek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Michal also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Michal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing