We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Czech food in a modern clean environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potrefena Husa Albertov

Potrefena Husa Albertov
Ranked #406 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European, Brew Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Potrefena husa Albertov is close to Karlovo namesti, a few metres from the Botanic Gardens and right beside a tram stop. The restaurant serves traditional Czech and international dishes influenced by modern culinary trends. You can even watch meals being prepared for you in our open kitchen. Our head chef buys choice ingredients from only the best local suppliers, his specialties including superb grilled steaks and burgers using meat from best local farms. We also serve eight types of well-cared-for draught beer from the Staropramen portfolio, select wines and spirits and a range of well-prepared cocktails.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Czech food in a modern clean environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Eat here regularly and is one of my favorite places in Prague. The staff are always very friendly, food is great and the selection of beers and wines is awesome. Can't rate this place high enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whi5tler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Albertov, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks Brien,
its always great pleasure to see you come.
Whole Team of Potrefená husa Albertov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    59
    39
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our downstairs Gastropub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This review might be a little biased since the restaurant is located directly below our apartment and we visit it quite often. But if you believe us the food is great and the service is quite impeccable. Try it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Albertov, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear customer,
thank you very much for your response.We will always be there for you when you get hungry, appetite for good beer or just come for a chat. Always happy to see you.
Team of Potrefená husa Albertov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

long time to get your meal, waiter gave me bill with one more drink and was very miffed when a told him about it. sorry, never more.....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JiriBily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Albertov, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear customer,
I'm very sorry for your experience. There could be many reasons why you waited so long for food, fkitchen utilization, food type or unprofessional kitchen stuff. I believe that we have many things already optimized.
For sure there could not be obtained when the waiter charged extra drinks and the only reason it is unprofessionalizm and there i am very sorry and if I knew precisely who he was , I solved in effect. I believe that the rigorous training and the presence of manager on duty is hereby avoid inconveniences in the future.
Thank you for your post.
Manager Potrefená goose Albertov.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
125 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“New pub/brasserie with a garden sitting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The restaurant is part of the Potrefena Husa chain (several restaurants in Prague, Brno, Zlín, Bratislava...). The concept is everywere similar - pub/brasserie style restaurant with revisited traditional czech cuisine and all kinds of Staropramen beer.

The restaurant is easy to find - situated in Albertov (tram 7,18,24) in the same complex as Lidl supermarket. You can use Lidl´s underground parking ;-) if you arrive by car .
It is divided in 3 parts - smaller room upstairs, huge dining room downstairs with a big wood grill and a very nice and cosy outside terrace/garden with a children playground.

Waiters are bit to familliar and seem to need further training, but overall OK.

The food is based on traditional czech dishes with a modern touch. Since we dined there several times and tried most of dishes on offer, I would recommend: as a STARTER fried goat cheese with figue chutney, veal tartar - my favourite! or even "Davelské párečky" - traditional czech frankfurter style sausages from one of the best butcheries in CZ - "U Dolejších" in Davle (20km from Prague center). They are very tasty and made from min 90% of meat. Beware of the duck confit - it is served cold, with its grease, in a jar.
As a MAIN: pork cheeks on wine and root vegetables, duck confit with potato dumplings and red cabbage, gulash or svickova and the steaks are not bad as well - not top top quality meat but well prepared on wood fire. Do not recommend pasta (it is not an Italian restaurant...) and salads are average as well (usually not very fresh).

One slight minus is the location of bathrooms. If you sit outside or on the first floor, you have to go 2 stories down. Quite a lot of steps to get there...

Pitty that the quality and freshness of the food served is not constant. That is the reason why I gave only 3*. On a "good" day I would definetly give 4*. I recommend this restaurant if you are staying around, since there is not so many good places to go in the area, but it does not worth a trip especially for it..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rudvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBGROUP, Manager at Potrefena Husa Albertov, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Dear guest,
first of all i want to thank you for your response and i am very sorry for your experience. I appreciate your words and i can see that you are knowledgeable of gastronomy. And therefore from your words we learned to no longer repeat our mistakes.We getting better and we want to achieve the best.
Best regards
Manager of Potrefená Husa Albertov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potrefena Husa Albertov also viewed

 

Been to Potrefena Husa Albertov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing