We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location, clean and comfy room”
Review of Pension U Svejku

Pension U Svejku
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension U Svejku
Ranked #69 of 370 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here with family of 4 (including 2 older teens) for two nights in late June. We had a family room ("apartment") that had a big bedroom with 4 twin beds, and a smaller room with another twin bed. The bathroom was spacious and extremely clean. Kitchenette was fine for us as we only needed the fridge and hot water kettle for tea. Interior courtyard with tables for getting fresh air was another perk. Very easy location for walking to Charles Bridge area with restaurants and shops and sights. Across from park. Only downside was noise during the day from the traffic and trams. The food here was fantastic (plus you get all of those wonderful home cooking scents during the day up in your room!). Breakfast was plentiful with breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, hard boiled eggs, and crepes. We had dinner here twice too, it was so good! Pork knuckle and duck our favorites. And pilsner on tap, of course! Very hospitable, friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Loved the cool paintings, too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and highly recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of our favorite restaurant in Prague. It is very difficult at this time to find a restaurant with live music on the accordion, with good food and friendly service. We had a classic Czech food and who has a small stomach, may have a problem. We were at this restaurant for the second time, and in our next vacation in Prague, we will certainly visit it again. I can only recommend to all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Cozy pansion with old history. I liked the size of the room, view from the window, sometimes action outside the window was much more interesting than news on TV.
I didn't understand the purpose of small kitchen, because just electric kettle is working. Refrigerator is off, no plates or cups. But if you want just ask
Staff was very friendly and helpful, they all speak english. Breakfasts are ok, especially pancakes were nice. Wi-fi is free and good speed. As a guest you have 10% discount in the restaurant.
So in conclusion it is very nice place for stay in the centre of lovely Prague

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I visited this place for the fourth time and I must say that I don't understand everyone's negative reviews here. My experience is just the best. Excellent food, friendly staff and accommodation absolutely perfect. I can only recommend this place to everyone and if someone says to avoid this place, they don't know what they're talking about and even if the waiters ask for the tip, it's fine by me because many people don't know that, but in this country, the tips are actually not counted in the bill's so if the waiter is friendly and everything is alright, I certainly don't see anything wrong with that. I will visit this place for 100% again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Staff absolutely horrible and abusive 35%+ of the bill was told to us was inclusive and after we said we didn't want bread we wear told it was included in the meal. Then the bill come out with the bread included . In talking 5 cm roll for 100 .ck we even said we didn't want it when he told us about it and the waiter told us it was included in our meal till the bill came out with the bread. Seriously if you think about this place turn around mcdonalds is about it100 times better value than this place
Please for your own sake steam clear of this so called restaurant

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank liam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found the place by accident but was really impressed We shared a venison platter which was delicious. I had a couple of beers as well , and could not possibly have eaten or drank anything else because I was nicely full

The lady who served us was quietly efficient and was on hand to help us choose when we wanted and was not intrusive whilst we were eating

Choice of eating houses in Prague meant we only went the once, but I would not hesitate in recommending a meal here

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank heller_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It was our favourite restaurant during weekend trip to Prague as our hostel was nearby. Waiters are very nice, speak english. Great beer - Kozel, good food. We liked it a lot and came there three times during two days. They close early - 10:30 - 11.00 pm, but all other restaurants close the same.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ania Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#149 of 646 in Prague
5,204 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#94 of 646 in Prague
3,386 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#115 of 646 in Prague
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#535 of 646 in Prague
190 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#174 of 646 in Prague
526 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension U Svejku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension U Svejku

Address: Ujezd 424/22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 370 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension U Svejku 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Pension U Svejku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing