We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hotel than a hostel”
Review of Hostel Florenc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Florenc
Ranked #62 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More like a hotel than a hostel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was the nicest hostel I stayed in during a 2 month trip through Europe. It's only a 10-15 min walk from the train station and about 20-25 min away from the old town area. I found the hostel very easily despite what other reviewers have said - Google Maps worked well. The hostel is near the bus station, which I suppose could be dodgy late at night, but I never had any issues or felt unsafe as a solo female traveler. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, and were able to answer all of my questions.

I splurged on a private room with ensuite bathroom, and it only cost $150 for 4 nights in October. The room was huge and the bathroom was equipped with a hair dryer, heated rack for drying clothes (very helpful), and large shower. The room also came with a large private balcony. The included breakfast was bland but free, and I saw lots of people eating there every morning.

This place is definitely more like a hotel than a hostel, and most of the people I saw there were older couples or families. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone looking for a hostel, party atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    71
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
57
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I suspect this hostel is new because everything was in perfect condition. It's next to the bus station so very easy to find. The breakfast is included and they have wifi. It's reasonably central so it doesn't take too long to get the tram into the main tourist areas.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevenlogiacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We checked in around 11pm and the lady at reception was lovely and was helpful with any questions we asked. We only stayed for one evening and left in the morning, had a nice stay. The room was basic but clean and nice to be in. It was quite hot when we go in but we kept the window open and the noise from the bus station was fine and we had no problems.
Location is pretty central, it's only a five/ten minute walk to the centre and everywhere in Prague is within walking distance. Overall it was a good experience, there was no noise from other guests and we slept well ahead of a long bus journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Really a great place to stay! especially for a solo traveler not really wanting to sleep in a room with a bunch of people in it. It's really clean, convenient, and the staff are very helpful and nice (especially Eva (I hope I'm remembering her name right :))..... it's a short walk from the center and has everything you need there. It's not a crazy party place, but it's a nice, comfortable, clean place to come back to after you've done whatever you came to Prague to do!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are more expensive, but are quieter and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just to follow up on a couple of points that my travel partner posted about below, first regarding the rain storm that soaked her belongings, electronics and travel mementos. The window's were indeed shut. There is a double window in the rooms (inner and outer) and both were closed and locked tightly. We made sure that windows were closed each day with the shades drawn because the room was basically an oven and keeping the shades drawn seemed to keep the room at least marginally less hot (I'll get back to that in a moment). If the hostel has video of our windows being open during the storm, I have to say I would absolutely LOVE to see that. Perhaps they could post it to youtube or something and share the link here? That would be truly enlightening. Maybe we were foolish for leaving a bag under the window, but I guess our foolishness was to assume that two windows, closed and locked, would protect us during a storm. The hostel's response also claimed that the cleaning staff was always closing windows and blinds, and it's not their fault if they are opened again. That would be fine if the staff cleaned the rooms on a regular basis, but our room was cleaned once, after we asked for the second time (as it was not cleaned the first time we asked). And it was not cleaned the day of the storm, we closed the windows ourselves. Furthermore we were out of the room the entire day. If the staff closed the windows, as the reply asserts, they would have remained closed all day, because we left the room in the morning and did not return until the evening. As for the bathrooms, ours was cleaned once in the 8 days we stayed in our second room, and that only happened after we asked about the sink being clogged up. When there are ensuite bathrooms, that's one thing. But in any situation where there is a sharing of bathrooms, not cleaning the rooms on a daily basis, or at least every other day, is just plain gross.

To be honest prior to reading the hostel's response to my partner's review, I was just going to let it go, and let bygones be bygones. During our stay the pleasantness of the desk staff was really the only thing that kept us staying there. They really did their best to accommodate us through all of our problems. After switching rooms after the first night because of excessive noise from the construction outside, we arrived in our new room and quickly found out that it was basically an externally heated oven. Every day the rooms were at least 5 degrees hotter than the weather outside, and probably 8 degrees hotter than the hallway, which had no external windows. Up and down the corridor, guests were propping open the two doors (room door and room block door) which separated their rooms from the hallway, in the hopes of getting even a little cooler air to come into their room. When we asked the desk attendant on our second night if there were any fans available, she seemed a little flustered but politely offered us one of the two fans they had available in the reception area, which, again, was very kind of her. Having said that, we've been traveling for 11 months now through southeast and central Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Europe. In that time we've often ended up staying in the cheapest accommodation available because of our budget. In that time this was exactly the second instance where at the very least a fan (and often even AC) was not made available to the guest in each and every room. Of course we don't expect AC in every place we stay. But I feel like a fan is basic minimum provision. I also understand that Prague is not your typical warm weather destination, but it has summer like anywhere else, and in my personal opinion during this particular time the heat made these rooms dangerously overheated. I have no idea how any of the other guests managed without fans.

Moving back to our particular situation, the staff was again very helpful about the lost camera. They helped me look for it when I realized that it was missing a day later, and they helped me by printing up a statement on their letterhead that I had lost my camera there, to aid in my insurance claim. Although they claim in their reply below that the only people in the room were the cleaners, they told me at the time that someone had stayed in the room and had since checked out...I don't know what the changing story is about. Regardless, I'm an idiot. I left my camera in the room. I accept that. I don't blame Hostel Florenc for my own stupidity. But assuming their original statement is true, it leaves two possibilities. Either one of their cleaning staff did indeed find the camera and decided to keep it, or they simply didn't clean the room well, and whoever stayed in the room after us found the camera that had been missed during the insufficient cleaning job. Either way, it doesn't lend itself to a particularly professional image of the cleaning staff. But, as I said, the whole thing is my fault and I in no way hold them responsible for it.

Once again, I do want to commend the desk staff on their helpfulness (with one exception, the woman with the red-dyed hair, she was extremely rude, and basically accused us of lying about the windows as soon as we came downstairs to inquire about talking to the manager the next morning). When we met the manager he seemed extremely understanding as well (although it was a little disturbing to find out that, 7 days later he had not even heard about the missing camera). Anyway, we don't go around looking for handouts from places we stay, and although the hostel ended up refunding us about 85% of a night's stay, I really would have been happy with nothing, if the desk staff had been more apologetic, and exhibited more professional customer service. But, as I noted before, the woman with the red-dyed hair instead accused us of leaving our windows open several times, and even as we were leaving and they were refunding us the partial night's stay, she was muttering under her breath about it. That, paired with the extremely uncomfortable condition of the room, and the hostel's attitude and baseless (I can assure you) accusations in their response, led me to write this review.

The staff may have overall been very understanding and helpful, but at the end, this comes down to whether or not I would stay there again, or recommend a friend to stay there, and the answer to that is an unequivocal "NO". After 11 months, I feel like we have gotten a pretty good feel for what makes the difference between a good place and a bad place. We've stayed in quite a few good places. This one has about 10% right. The other 90% fails miserably.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights in a private room which was okey, very basic but you can't really expect more for the money we have paid. The room was very hot and when we opened the door needed to turn off the lights as million bugs were coming in the room, they were everywhere. It was too hot so we had to open the windows. Also there is a constructions going on just outside of the hostel. Definitely not the place for a relaxed sleep. It was a bit dirty also...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fszucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hostel Florenc for 2 nights in July and would definately recommend it. The rooms were clean, it's basically on top of the metro station as well as the main bus terminal. Old town is a short stroll away and there's a small convenience store next door.
The rooms are very hot though as there is no air con so if this is important to you maybe look at other places.
The free breakfast was possibly the best I've seen at a hostel in Europe but there's no kitchen to save cash with self catering.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#178 of 649 in Prague
186 reviews
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#249 of 649 in Prague
232 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#354 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Hotel Florenc
Hotel Florenc
#285 of 649 in Prague
62 reviews
Praha 5
Prague Holiday Apartments
Prague Holiday Apartments
#47 of 656 in Prague
122 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mojo Inn
Mojo Inn
#43 of 656 in Prague
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Florenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Florenc

Property: Hostel Florenc
Address: Pod Vytopnou 367/2 | Karlin, Prague 186 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 656 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Florenc 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre, with free buffet breakfast and emphasis on cleanliness & security, our fusion of hostel/hostel offers a warm and hospitable stay with neighbourly atmosphere and free Wi-Fi in all the premises. Meet your fellow-travellers in our spacious common room, PC and TV lounge, or summer garden and challenge them to a ping pong / table football game. Enjoy the strong pressured, all day and night long hot water in our showers equipped with hairdryers, do your laundry for only 2 EUR, or buy a beer and other treats right at the hostel's 24/7 reception. Fancy going out? Explore the engaging and charismatic immediate surroundings of the hostel with super cheap prices and pubs and cafes on every corner, or join the rush of the city centre, 15 min walkable distance. Our extensive warm and cold breakfast buffet offers quality and freshness, and indulges you with everything that makes a new day perfect. Our staff knows the city and the surroundings like the back of their hands and will be therefore pleased to help you with your leisure time activities. Board games, darts, cards, and other games, book swap, summer grill, ice-slash, organised pub crawls and other fun activities, all available for you, makes our hostel a hostel with life and social vibe, suitable for singles, groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Florenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing