We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect mix of party and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The MadHouse Prague
Ranked #1 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The perfect mix of party and comfort”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This was seriously the best hostel I've stayed at! The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly from the minute you arrive. We arrived at around 10pm ish and straight away we were involved in the hostel night out which made us feel really comfortable and welcome. Also, we booked an 8 bed mixed room but our area was like sectioned off so it was more like a 4 bed private which was perfect, such a bonus that we were so happy with! One of the nights we got pretty drunk and had the workers up all night causing hassle and they were so understanding and lovely about it. Even the manager was great when we apologised. Our train was at 4am when we left and they let us stay in the hostel until 1am without paying for an extra night which was so nice of them and made our lives so much easier! Also there's an amazing movie room which is perfect when you have a hangover or if the weather is rainy and drab, stay at this hostel!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
155
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am a well experienced traveller and have found no better hostel than MadHouse. Yes it is a party hostel but the party is only as big as you want it to be. Somehow they manage to make everyone who stays there feel like part of their fun little family. They are so well organized that you are never bored and small enough that you never feel lost in the crowd. If he Czech Republic isn't on your to do list, add it just so you can stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

a first time hostel stay for me and my wife as we wanted to experience the experience of staying in one. it turned out be more memorable than all the more expensive hotels we have stayed in on all our travels. we made more friends for life than in any of our excursions. thank you rod and thank you craig and natalia for all your efforts and your charm in making sure that we had a great time. you guys are brilliant and wish you the best. we thoroughly enjoyed the night crawls you guys escorted us on. yours tips on prague were wonderful. it was a pleasure being at madhouse-a house run by the most level headed and fun loving people we have met. hope to see u again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great place to meet people, make friends and make memories. The staff is very helpful in suggesting places to go and coordinating activities during the day and at night. Was the best hostel I stayed at during my travels in Europe and South America.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best hostel experiences I have had. The staff are very friendly, hardworking and helpful. This place is big for partying so if your not into that, I would recommend going somewhere else.

The facilities are clean, work really well and new. The kitchen is perfect for what ever you need. People usually go ou together as you quickly make friends with everyone here. The staff take you to a good number of bars which are usually pretty awesome.

Prague is a crazy city and this hostel is well suited to make sure you take advantage for the city properly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bigmdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

was here in early may 14, There's a trendy vibe to this place, and the staff here are really friendly, and helpful. With nights out around Prague every day, though the weekends seem to be the nights to be be at. The hostel is pretty conductive to a good social atmosphere, and made it easy to meet people.

Even if you're abit of an introvert the staff will help you enjoy your time here! The hostel itself was clean, and had good facilities. A bonus was the cool artwork that's spray painted in every room, and the free beer in hand as a welcome.

The hostel itself is quite close to the 9 tram and the metro station is about 150 meters away from it, 10 minute walk.

There's also a 24 hour pizza place just next door to the place that's open on the weekends, as well as a burrito place just around the corner who offer you a discount if you show your Hostel band, its pretty much a godsend after a night out, get the XL, you won't regret it.

If you're not much of a party person and more of a hermit, this place might not be for you, but there are good times to be had here :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerwyn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hostel is great- the staff are wonderful and friendly and helpful. They do extremely cheap group dinners. The dorms even though are large are partitioned off I.e. I stayed one night in 8 bed called aquarium which was a front room of 2 sets of bunks and a door at back to separate room 2 sets of bunks and then a night in 12 bed dorm called the jungle but I got another separate room within the dorm which had a set of bunks and a single and I nabbed the single.

Negatives- I wasn't in much of a party mood and if you stay home, be prepared for every other person to be out and coming in late. Bunks little rickety and squeak. You have to sleep with windows open cos it's warm in rooms but the noise off alley below is surprisingly loud. Also was construction on street which can't be helped but starts early. Think it's almost finished. Bathrooms ok- not as good as I have had.

Fun hostel if you want to party. If you want to go to bed before 11 and sleep the night- look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The jungle (12 bed) is broken off into lots of parts- stay here as long as your not by the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,667 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,566 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 649 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MadHouse Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MadHouse Prague

Property: The MadHouse Prague
Address: Spalena 102/39, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 650 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idea is simple - at The MadHouse we will give you much more than just a bed to sleep in, we will give you an unforgettable experience and memories to last a lifetime!What makes us different to other hostels? At The MadHouse, we work hard to create an environment that gives backpackers a sense of home and family. Our bright and sunny kitchen provides the perfect setting for meeting fellow travelers over afternoon beer-pong sessions or hostel family dinners. Daily activities led by our staff include anything from trips to the beer gardens, to ice hockey games, to mad nights out.Set up like a big house shared with 40 of your newest best friends, highlights include a comfy TV lounge full of bean bags and sofas where laziness is encouraged and free use of computers and WIFI throughout all rooms. The entire hostel was custom painted by two renowned graffiti artists from Montreal, Pito and Guko, meaning that you could lose yourself in one of our unique and spacious dorm rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing