We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hardly a hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Santini Prague

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Santini Prague
Ranked #42 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hardly a hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hostel was the best value for money out of all the hostels we stayed at in Europe. Travelling for two weeks, we only had one night in Prague and after great reviews we chose Hostel Santini. For a start, this was hardly a hostel, the stunning building felt like a luxurious hotel and we almost felt dirty walking into this immaculately clean and beautiful building. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly receptionist who told us where to go and what to do in the short amount of time we had in Prague. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm and couldn't have wished for a nicer room. The beds were extremely comfy, sheets immaculate and bathroom was modern with a shower better than mine at home! (As the only female in our group of travellers I appreciated these amenities.) The overall feel of the place was expensive yet the price wasn't. The hostel was right in the centre of Prague and even provided a simple continental breakfast. There is a comfy lounge area next to the reception which has a lovely traditional feel and you can sit and use free Internet access. It was no trouble to leave our bags at the hostel on check out morning so we could spend the day in Prague. I would definitely come back here and would recommend the hostel for travellers, couples even families because of how welcoming and safe it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMills11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    67
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
18
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Would recommend this one million per cent! The building was beautiful, and in a prime location! Would definitely go back again! The staff are extremely friendly and the building is spectacularly clean

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 53Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We travelled around Europe for 3 weeks and went to 8 different cities this was without a shadow of a doubt the best hostel we stayed in. For 17 euros a night 7 of us stayed in a shared 12 bed dorm and were all very happy with it. We were meant to stay there 2 nights however we missed the first a the train we had planned to get from Berlin was full. The room was spotless. The interior I would have been happy to have had in hotel and the bathrooms were pristine (breakfast was also included in the price). Overall definitely worth the money, the staff were very friendly and the rooms more that satisfactory, would highly recommend to anybody stopping in Prague on travels around Europe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackmurgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel in July for 3 nights. It's about a 10 minute walk from Charles bridge, so I never paid for transport while in Prague. It was cheap, clean and the staff were friendly. Free breakfast and sandwiches included in the price as well which was brilliant for me and my friends as we were backpacking. Comfy sitting area downstairs and the decor of the hostel in nice, not what you would expect of a hostel.

I would recommend staying here if backpacking or looking for a cheap city break!

Room Tip: The mixed 10 bed dorm was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emmalouiselaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Even though the hostel is far (but still walking distance) from the train station, the hostel is very nice and clean. The prices are great for what you get. I totally recomend walking those extra steps!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hostel Santini is located in a relatively quiet neighborhood - the Lesser Quarter of Prague. There are only a limited number of restaurants and groceries nearby. A word of caution by the way: there is a mini-market at Nerudova 15/204 which is a total rip-off for tourists; one apple would cost you 50 kc. Apparently this mini-market and the one up above the same street on Nerudova are also owned by the same people.

Luckily tram stations are close by. These trams can take you almost anything in Prague. They are very convenient and easy to use. A 32 kc ticket allows you to use Metro, trams and buses for 90 minutes. You can do grocery shopping using trams.

The hostel itself is nice as it is newly renovated in 2013. Even its WC is beautifully done with marble. Its 17 century ceiling is another attraction.

Most of the staff at the reception are very friendly and helpful. I find the lady from Jersey, US very helpful. The Asian receptionist is not that willing to help out customers though. The hostel should spend some money modifying its guest's door locks so that they would be too noisy when they are locked or unlocked. Some guests find them very annoying. It should also improve its air conditioning system.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms were very clean, wifi worked amazing throughout the property. Every morning they give you a free sandwich and there is coffee, tea, juice and cereal available as well. Location is amazing as it is very close to the Charles bridge but still away from all the noise from the thousands of tourists. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anewleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Tyn
Prague Tyn
#67 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#28 of 661 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#25 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#26 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel One Home
Hostel One Home
#12 of 661 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#68 of 661 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Santini Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Santini Prague

Property: Hostel Santini Prague
Address: Nerudova 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 661 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostel Santini Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in very historical center of Prague, between the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle, in the baroque palace from the 17th century, the former residence of baroque architect Jan Blazej Santini. In 1705, he bought Valkounský house (no. 211) in Nerudova street for 3000 gold coins in cash and rebuilt it. 300 years later you have the opportunity to stay in the same palace...Entire palace was expertly renovated so you can still admire painted ceilings or original arches. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and moreEnsuite roomsNon-stop reception, non-smoking hostelLocation2 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge5 minutes walk from the Lennon´s Wall or the Prague Castle 10 minutes walk from the Old Town Square10 minutes walk from the Jewish Quarter 1 minute walk from the Malostranske namesti/square, tram stop/metro stop line A MalostranskaFor free - no hidden fees:internet access + WiFibreakfastbedlinen, towels, iron, hair dryer, shower gelbaggage room and safety deposit boxeslockers in each dormitorymap of PraguetoursFunThe pubcrawl...every night pick up at our hostel!SecurityThe entire hostel is equipped with a modern fire alarm system with smoke detectors and fire extinguishers on every floor, as well as a video monitoring system in the entrance area. Own lockers for your belongings in each dormitory. Entire hostel is non-smoking. 24 hours reception. Keycard room access.We offerfully equipped kitchen with dining halllounge-TV/sat, music, dvdiron and ironing board at the reception deskstorage lockers in dormsbaggage roomsafe deposit boxes...all for free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Santini Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing