We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for hostel standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Santini Prague
Ranked #40 of 686 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at Hostel Santini (Nov 2013) as a group of over 40 as part of a university trip. It was by far one of the best hostels I have stayed at as it looks more like a hotel with its' painted ceilings, wide staircase, etc. I was in the 12 bedroom hostel and the room was warm and clean, the only issue we had was that there is only one toilet/shower for a room of 12 which can get quite frustrating. Rooms had lockers and an extra sink and was quite spacious.
Quite a few restaurants, shops and money exchange places around although it is in a quieter part of town so you have to venture a bit outside of the area if you want to be out late night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RheaR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Wonderful beds, bathrooms and super-friendly staff!
It was a little bit cold in the kitchen, but it's not a real problem if you have warm and nice people around.
HSP staff, thank you for your hospitabilty!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olyakurashkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The people that work at the front desk are awesome! They don't laugh when you ask stupid questions and are really accommodating! Our room was nice, clean, and everyone was really nice! Breakfast was really basic, but the hostel was in a good location for tourists! Phil/Liam works during the day, is seriously the best and Chris at night was really cool too! Gave us a really good restaurant advice!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I booked this place after friend's recommendation. The prices for a bed in a 12 people dorm were slightly higher than your usual hostel but then it was a last-minute booking, still did not make a hole in my pocket. The place is quite easy to find: if you travel from main train station, Prague Hlavni nadrazi, you need to take red metro line and get off at the Muzeum stop (literally 1 stop) and then change to green line and get off at Malostranska). Later you can either walk or take tram number 22 (way quicker) and get off at Malostranska Namesti (1 stop, just outside Starbucks). Nerudova street runs perpendicular to the square with St. Nicholas Cathedral.

The location is pefect- the hostel is settled in a very old building with gorgeous architecture. The entrance is secured by wooden and glass doors- you need to be 'buzzed' in by one of the staff (desk is open 24/7). There was an incident reported at the time (I wasn't sure I should mention this but guess it's only for you to be super careful)- someone left their luggage at the Hostel for keeping and the luggage was stolen. The person was reporting it at the time of my arrival, and staff assured the room was monitored so they will find the culprits. Just be double careful!

I stayed in a 12-beds dorm and I have to say it did not feel bad at all! The beds were split between 2 rooms (4 beds in one and 6 in another room). We were provided with cupboards and keys to lock our valuables away- the cupboards were in the room with 6 beds so I tried not to disturb other guests too much. I was absolutely smitten by how glam the bathroom was (see my picture). They alos provided hair dryers which was awesome! One of my friends mentioned that when her parents stayed at this place a while ago it was a hotel. So, no wonder the high standards. They also have free wifi (will give you password at the check-in).

Hostel Santini also have a cafe where you can get your meals, however I was hardly there so can't vouch for it. Overall though, great place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aneta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hostel, neat, tidy, helpful staff. Beautiful building and cosy rooms. The self service kitchen came in handy at times. Definatly the best hostel in Prague. Great location only 2 minutes walk from the Charles bridge. 1st choice for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeztrelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hostel is amazing . I just stayed here for four nights, and I enjoyed my stay very much. The location is unbeatable. The hostel is right under the palace, maybe 3-4 min away waking. It is also 5-6 min away from the Charles Bridge and the Kafka Museum. The Shakespeare and Brothers (no relation to the Shakespeare and Company store in Paris) is also minutes away. The facilities are amazing. The place was a palace back in the old days. It's extremely clean, and the rooms feel like hotel rooms. Breakfast is alright. You get cereal, juice, and a sandwich (ham or egg), so you can't complain.

It's not exactly a party hostel. So for someone like me who was mostly interested in sightseeing, eating out at great restaurants, et cetera, it was perfect.

Last of all, the people who work here are awesome. Special thanks to Trent and Jill at the reception for making my stay at Santini so enjoyable.

I wouldn't go anywhere else in Prague when I visit from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randers1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have been staying at Hostel Santini for 5 nights recently and it really has been enjoyable. The location is great and in my opinion it is actually better that it's not located right in the Old Town of Prague but in the charming and atmospheric 'Lesser District'. It also gave you a good reason to walk the Charles Bridge a couple of times a day. It is clean, tidy, very nicely decorated and all the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I cannot give the sleep quality and rooms a 5 out of 5 score simply because I staid in a 8 bed dorm. It's just what you expect when you go hostelling and it can be a hell of a lot worse. The price is quite okay. You definately get what you pay for and maybe even a bit more. The only thing for improvement in my opinion would be some more variety in breakfast options. Not all people like to eat cereals for breakfast. Though you always can get a sandwich every morning. Anyway, regardless of this minor thing it was a great time staying in Hostel Santini and if I ever go to Prague solo again and I'm feeling young enough then I will pay another visit to Santini.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Safestay Prague Hostel
Safestay Prague Hostel
#15 of 686 in Prague
592 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#17 of 686 in Prague
387 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#24 of 686 in Prague
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#28 of 686 in Prague
328 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#36 of 686 in Prague
190 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 686 in Prague
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Santini Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Santini Prague

Address: Nerudova 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 686 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £8 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostel Santini Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in very historical center of Prague, between the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle, in the baroque palace from the 17th century, the former residence of baroque architect Jan Blazej Santini. In 1705, he bought Valkounský house (no. 211) in Nerudova street for 3000 gold coins in cash and rebuilt it. 300 years later you have the opportunity to stay in the same palace...Entire palace was expertly renovated so you can still admire painted ceilings or original arches. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and moreEnsuite roomsNon-stop reception, non-smoking hostelLocation2 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge5 minutes walk from the Lennon´s Wall or the Prague Castle 10 minutes walk from the Old Town Square10 minutes walk from the Jewish Quarter 1 minute walk from the Malostranske namesti/square, tram stop/metro stop line A MalostranskaFor free - no hidden fees:internet access + WiFibreakfastbedlinen, towels, iron, hair dryer, shower gelbaggage room and safety deposit boxeslockers in each dormitorymap of PraguetoursFunThe pubcrawl...every night pick up at our hostel!SecurityThe entire hostel is equipped with a modern fire alarm system with smoke detectors and fire extinguishers on every floor, as well as a video monitoring system in the entrance area. Own lockers for your belongings in each dormitory. Entire hostel is non-smoking. 24 hours reception. Keycard room access.We offerfully equipped kitchen with dining halllounge-TV/sat, music, dvdiron and ironing board at the reception deskstorage lockers in dormsbaggage roomsafe deposit boxes...all for free ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Santini Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing