We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem”
Review of Cafe Ermitage

Cafe Ermitage
Ranked #2,533 of 5,543 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Cafe Ermitage is a friendly restaurant inspired by the idea of the St. Petersburg gallery of Catherine the Great where in the salon "hermitage" art lovers admire the beauty and contemplate. Our goal is to provide great food using fresh and seasonal ingredients, served professionally in a relaxing ambience of our restaurant.Our current food menu includes authentic and regional specialties from France and Italy. Lapin a la moutarde, Boeuf Bourguignon, Beef Tagliata and fresh fish(according to availability) are just a sample of this month's offer. Our wines have been selected carefully to match our cuisine by our external sommelier, winner of national and international wine competitions, Jakub Kral.After our regular customer's request, we have added Czech cuisine specialties to our menu. The current offer includes Svickova , Beef Goulash and Slowly roasted pork belly.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“a gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was one of the highlights of Prague! Wonderful food and very friendly service. I usually hate live music but somehow even the piano playing was simply mellow... There were four of us and we had two courses. Every dish was excellent - from the vegetarian wild mushroom risotto to the beef goulash. The waiter also gave me some good advice on the delicious Czech wine to go with the risotto. We returned a few evenings later - different dishes, different staff but still completely wonderful food and service. the return trip did not disappoint. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maki S, Manager at Cafe Ermitage, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear guest, Our Team would like to thank you for your comments. Hope you had a great time in our city as well, and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Cafe Ermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covilha, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and very nice rstaurant”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The restaurant has a simple but comfortable decoration, the waiter are very nice and speak good English.
The food is very tasty and well presented
My wife and I enjoyed so much the experience that we returned the following day
The price was reasonable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maki S, Manager at Cafe Ermitage, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear guest, we are very happy that you had a great time and you returned to our restaurant. Returned customers is one of our goals.Thank you for your positive review.
Best Regards,
Cafe Ermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

6 of us went for dinner with no reservation 9pm on a Friday. The waiter who greeted us spoke excellent English and happily put two tables together. The restaurant is cosy (albeit with some odd art on the walls) and menu reasonably varied, enough for two vegetarians at least. Between us we had the roasted sea bass (two fish shared by four), a pasta dish and a duck dish and everyone enjoyed, it was all very tasty! Supplemented by free bread while we waited. We sampled some cocktails and even got one free of charge as apparently they had used the wrong liquor in it (still nice though), also had prosecco. For dessert, panna cotta and chocolate cake, again delicious. Service was excellent and food very good, would defintely recommend!

Helpful?
Thank bearclawss
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maki S, Manager at Cafe Ermitage, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant.
Our guests' opinions are very important to us. We are happy that you had a great time at our place. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Best wishes,
Cafe Ermitage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best breakfast and dinner of this holiday.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stumbled across this charming restaurant just across from the Ibis hotel, Katerina Strasse. What a find! Charming staff, excellent food and service. Breakfast was so delightful that it was a MUST for dinner. The beetroot carpaccio with goats cheese filling and fig chutney was stunning. Followed by fillet and rump steak cooked to perfection. Superb food with a gentle piano playing in the background. Very reasonably priced food and excellent wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vauxhall91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant and good food - but be careful about the bill”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

My family and I was having breakfast in this restaurant. The food was well prepared and delightful. The surroundings was cosy and nice. The young girl who was serving us was extremely nice and helpful. But as another one has written about this restaurant you have to be careful about the bill because she adds food you haven't got.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ondrejkobza, Owner at Cafe Ermitage, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Hallo, very thanks for your rewiev. I totally belive, that waitress did it by mistake. She is totally great and good. I hope it will never repeat. Thanks. I have 6 cafes and this is my fist restaurant, since february, very new and very hard. But we try to be better and better. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Ermitage also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Cafe Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing