We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Town: 20th Century with WWII and Communism (Tip based tour)
60

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Man Hanging Out
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
142
171
76
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
171
76
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sigmund freud husova street old town charles bridge statue pole suspended interpretation death intellectual artwork role
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

In Stare Mesto ( Old Town of Prague, near Bethehem Chaple), do not just look down at your phone, look up for more surprises on jilska atreet.

It's a unique and unusual street art, you definitely have heard of the figure too. It's seven foot tall sculpture of the world famous psycho-analyst Sigmund Freud hanging from a metal beam above the cobbled streets. It's not suicide attempt though.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank lian1983phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2017

A random, dangling Sigmund Freud. OK, neat I suppose, but not really an attraction of any kind unless you're a fan of the artist.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank xcheck28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2017

One of the more unusual sculptures by local artist David Cerný, this one is located at the intersection of Husova and Skorepka streets in Old Town. You need to look up to see it.

The sculpture, formally called 'Man Hanging Out' depicts the psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud hanging by his hand, wondering whether to hold on or to let go. Apparently the sight has caused several people to call the local fire and police as they had mistaken the sculpture for a real suicide attempt! It's worth looking out (and up) for if exploring some of the narrow Old Town streets...I wasn't aware of its existence when I discovered it quite by accident and had to look up the details on my return home.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I really searched and searched for this statue .. almost got lost too. Everyone sent me in the wrong direction. Until victory I saw it hanging there.. Freud statue!!. i stood on the sidewalk and looked up and stare at this thing..thinking who came up with such an idea to hang this there or suppose one day it fell.

Really still in amazement by this idea of an overhead statue...looks very much like a real man hanging there though!!!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Coryy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This street art can be easily missed if you don't look up as there are no signs letting you know it is here. It is one of several pieces of art in Prague by renowned artist David Cerny. The difference with this piece is that is hangs from the top of a building rather than on street level.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Fellowtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews